We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in Bonavista”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonavista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Herbert and Janice were an amazing couple. We asked for the larger room since that was recommended on Tripadvisor and we thrilled with it. Herbert recommend a great place to eat and where to go to see the Puffins and some great views of the ocean. Breakfast was great - home made buns by Janice and home made jam by Herbert along with fruit and poached egges. We would highly recommend staying with them while in Bonavista. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2009

This B&B is truly by the sea - walk out the door and you are right there. The owners are very friendly "down to earth" folks who welcomed us into their home as if we were old friends. We had the smaller of the rooms which, although somewhat cramped, was still very comfortable. The bed was extremely cozy. The ample breakfast was served in the family dining/living room so you really felt more like family than guests.
The property is located within minutes of the lighthouse and downtown. The twisting laneways make finding the home a bit difficult but not too bad if you can spot the signs (the Newfoundland government is forcing businesses to remove their signs and pay for government approved signage - same thing Mike Harris did in Ontario).
The Butler's only take cash so be sure to find an ATM before arriving (there is a Scotia Bank in town). If you go there, be sure to say hello to Max the monster-sized cat.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2006

I booked Butler's By the Sea from the previous review on this website. Thank you very much. We had the larger room and enjoyed the hospitality of the Butlers very much. Very nice people. The breakfast was excellent. Great view. One of our best B&B's on our 3 week trip to Newfoundland. Recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandraem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2005

I've stayed at Butlers more than once. The larger room is the one to request if you have the choice. It's worth the extra cost. However, if it is booked and the smaller room is available, it's still a good bet since the location of the B&B on the water and the quality of the hosts offset the smaller room size. The parking lot is basically on the edge of the water. Several B&Bs advertise being within walking distance of the water. This one really is. If I'm visiting Bonavista, it's the place I want to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blueridgetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank racheletmiloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotoixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gibi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonavista hotels
0.5 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lancaster Inn
Lancaster Inn
#7 of 9 in Bonavista
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
HI Bonavista Hostel
HI Bonavista Hostel
#6 of 6 in Bonavista
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Butler Cresent, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Butler's By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Bonavista, Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing