We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Demorestville ont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Recently stayed at the Butlers B and B. had a wonderful time. Herb and Janice great hosts and the room was spectacular .herbmade a wonderful breakfast and provided great conversation and visitor tips for Bonavista. First time bed and breakfast travellers and could not ask for anything better. Will be back. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early August 2012. We had the larger room and it was very comfortable for 3 nights. Janice and Herb were great hosts. Breakfast was wonderful each morning and yes, step outside and you are at sea. Bonavista is a beautiful area and we are glad we stayed 3 nights. This is a wonderful spot and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night the larger room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ottawavisitor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Not to say that any of the other B&Bs were shabby but Butler's had everything a traveler may need. Comfortable beds , quiet, awsome breakfast prepared by Janice and Herb. When we recomended it to other travelers who we met in Tors Cove they immediately called to book there. Have to thank Jason also for a history lesson on the area too. Butlers by the Sea is #1 in my books

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

When i called Janice to book a room for my friend and I, she informed me they did not have any rooms with seperate beds available - however, they did have the family cottage. We jumped at the opportunity to stay in our own two bedroom cottage. The place was lovely. About two hundred years old, very cosy right across from the beach. We were thrilled to have our own cooking facilities. Fraser (Janice's brother) was our landlord. He was fun, friendly and very helpful.
We loved our time in and around Bonavista, made even better by our accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolFromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed in Fisherman Jim's room, which was nicely decorated, comfortable, and cozy. Our hosts were helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday2011taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Herbert and Janice were an amazing couple. We asked for the larger room since that was recommended on Tripadvisor and we thrilled with it. Herbert recommend a great place to eat and where to go to see the Puffins and some great views of the ocean. Breakfast was great - home made buns by Janice and home made jam by Herbert along with fruit and poached egges. We would highly recommend staying with them while in Bonavista. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

This B&B is truly by the sea - walk out the door and you are right there. The owners are very friendly "down to earth" folks who welcomed us into their home as if we were old friends. We had the smaller of the rooms which, although somewhat cramped, was still very comfortable. The bed was extremely cozy. The ample breakfast was served in the family dining/living room so you really felt more like family than guests.
The property is located within minutes of the lighthouse and downtown. The twisting laneways make finding the home a bit difficult but not too bad if you can spot the signs (the Newfoundland government is forcing businesses to remove their signs and pay for government approved signage - same thing Mike Harris did in Ontario).
The Butler's only take cash so be sure to find an ATM before arriving (there is a Scotia Bank in town). If you go there, be sure to say hello to Max the monster-sized cat.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
0.9 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White's Bed & Breakfast
White's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 9 in Bonavista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lancaster Inn
Lancaster Inn
#7 of 9 in Bonavista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bird Island Inn B&B
Bird Island Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

Property: Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Butler Cresent, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler's By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Bonavista, Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing