We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real taste of Newfoundland hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonavista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbourview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real taste of Newfoundland hospitality”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a great experience. The welcome was warm and genuine. Albert and Florence run a simple but pleasant b+b in the heart of Bonavista and they offer a real down home experience. From the late night snacks (baked by Florence) to the wild berry jams (made from the fresh berries that Albert gathers whenever he can), you will eat well. However, it's the time spent talking with Albert and Florence that make this a real treat.
Worth the stay and definitely a place we would not hesitate to return to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
96
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Don't think about it...just call them and book!!!!

THIS is the sort of place I always want in a B&B. It's the reason I want to stay in B&Bs and not hotels. We spent hours talking to other guests (almost ALL from Newfoundland when we were there). The first night Albert and Florence, and some other guests over 70, reminisced about the old days. I've learned from reading other reviews that the food options are probably always different, but when we were there Albert was picking raspberries and blueberries every single day, Florence made us bread (best homemade bread we had on the trip!!!!) and amazing baked goods. If you're on a budget, you can literally stay here and just pay for an afternoon meal and between breakfast and their night snack you'd be set.

Oh and for breakfast we had a random visitor from the neighborhood who decided to take a break from work, and for a night snack his granddaughter and friend came to hang out too. Talk about local.

There are so many other little things I could say that made the stay amazing. The value is AMAZING and they really should be charging way more, or accepting tips! Bonavista and the area in general were fine, but I think if we hadn't stayed with them we wouldn't have loved that part of our trip quite as much.

The only thing I would mention, if I had to mention something, is that the bed could be a bit more comfortable :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shubha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

One of the best B&B's we stayed at in Newfoundland. Albert & Florence are so personable and fun to be around. Albert got such a kick out of Rick's hat with fake grey hair that Bill gave him his and it looked great on him. Our rooms were huge and cozy; our 9:30pm 'crab lunch' was a super fun experience and breakfast was delicious. Florence's deserts were melt-in-your-mouth good. We'd love to stay there again on our third visit to 'the rock'

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjkjkjkjkjkjkjkjkjkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, VT
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Now, here's a fun place. Albert and Flo are great hosts, our room was comfortable and breakfast left nothing to be desired. Others have written about Albert's "lunch" as he calls it so I'll skip the details, but all eight of us staying at the B&B had a great time eating and visiting from 9:00 p.m. until around 11:00 p.m. Super good time and quite the show! We never would have gone out to supper if we knew what the late "lunch" was all about. Put this one on your "must" list of places to stay if you visit Bonavista.

Room Tip: Don't eat supper on your own if you stay at the Harbourview. Grab a supper snack and save your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted_in_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Albert and Florence are a treat! They welcomed us, fed us, and entertained us from the moment we arrived until we left. Breakfast was plentiful. The unexpected and much appreciated 9:30 pm "snack" consisted of fresh baked goods, homemade jams, crab legs, sandwiched and more. It was fascinating and hilariously fun, every evening, to hear Albert and Florence sharing their stories and experiences. We couldn't have felt more at home. The house and bedrooms are modest, but comfortable. To be right in the heart of the cod fisherman's community was a great experience. We will definitely return the next time we're on the rock.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olds, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We will consider our time there as one of the premiere events of our time in Nfld. Albert and Florence don't put on airs but are sincere hosts and love to laugh. The native jams and pies were exceptional...no other B&B's provided the evening table (about 9:30) and I can't imagine it being surpassed. Be prepared...beds are firm. Coming to see Al and Florence will be an automatic if we have a chance to get back to NFLD.
Stirling & Donna McLeod

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stirling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Harbourview is a historic house in Bonavista from the 1860's or so, and built by Albert's great grandfather -- a picture of whom you will find in the kitchen. For the time it must have been a huge house, and originally had 4 fireplaces. The rooms are very large for a B&B and very comfortable. Albert and Florence work as a team, and although they may not agree on who is the boss, they do a fantastic job of hosting. However, from the outside one might see it as Florence taking the lead on cooking, and Albert with the story telling...

One of the first guests at Harbourview was Gordon Pinsent, when Queen Elizabeth was in Bonavista to celebrate the replica of John Cabot's ship Matthew's arrival for the 500th anniversary. Ask Albert to tell you the story of how Pinsent got a reservation...

If your plans are to stay in the Trinity-Bonavista area, I can highly recommend this B&B. It is the quickest way to take a full immersion course in the culture of NL.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
0.4 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Lancaster Inn
Lancaster Inn
#8 of 9 in Bonavista
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Bird Island Inn B&B
Bird Island Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Elliston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harbourview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 21 Ryans Hill, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Harbourview Bed And Breakfast
Harbourview Hotel Bonavista
Harbourview Bed & Breakfast Bonavista, Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing