We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbonear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sophia's Heritage Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Carbonear B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Clean but disappointed”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable. However we had to use the window fan to,get cool as the room was not air conditioned. Our disappointment was with the breakfast. It was very uninteresting based on the other places we have stayed. We were offered the same thing two days in a row. Others were offered the same menu three days. The owner was unavailable and information on the area was not provided. There are limited restaurants in the area and the main dining room of the B&B was not open on the night we wanted to dine. It do not meet our expectations.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLExperience, General Manager at Sophia's Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
I am sorry your experience at our Inn did not meet your expectations. We do strive to provide our guests with the utmost in care and attention and we appreciate your feedback.

To address your concerns: we do not live on this particular property, and in fact, operate 6 Inns in total which are located in two different locations. This prevents us from providing a traditional 'B & B' experience in all of our properties. I do apologize if our advertising for Sophia's Heritage Inn somehow gave you the misinterpretation that we provide this particular type of service.

Our housekeeper, Ida, has been with us for 7 years and who is more than willing to accommodate our guest needs. She recently suffered a close death in the family and, as you can appreciate, was a little preoccupied. She informed me that she mistakenly offered the same breakfast on your second morning but, to my knowledge, was happy to offer you a different option.

We do appreciate your recent patronage and will continue to strive to do our best in serving our guests.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I had the summer love package, Dinner was lovely (salmon for him - beef filet for her). And an extrordinary caramel pudding worth the trip. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at Sophia's for 2 nights and used it as our base for exploring the Baccalieu Trail (Heart's Content, Grate's Cove, Winterton) Beautiful well kept, clean inn. Friendly helpful staff. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Great bed! Breakfasts were filling and delicious. We had our dinner there one of our nights and it was EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This inn was a great find in the town of Carbonear. The beautiful historic house had all of the comforts of home. Jennifer was very friendly and provided us with information about the area. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. In the morning we were treated with the most delicious berry pancakes I have ever tasted! Thanks for the great stay :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The room was small but nice. We needed the window fan to cool off. The owner was around only when checking in or out and at breakfast time. We were hoping to get some area history and lore from the owner. The breakfast was very tasty, what there was of it. I can usually eat more than two pancakes. A dinner was offered, but it was out of our budget. (we are seniors).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark_Kent_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The warm reception upon arrival set the stage for a pleasant stay. The heritage inn designation is appropriate as the common areas and rooms are period themed,spotless and comfortable. The staff are very knowledgeable regarding local attractions and hiking trails in the general area. The breakfasts provided are well balanced and evening meals when available are superior.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melville20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This B and B was the best B n B I have stayed in. Both the food and the room were first class. Highly recommend. Please note that the restaurant has a first class chef at the helm. Our server, Heather, was above average and worth noting in this review. EWe booked the romance package and this was worth every dollar.
Patrick St. John's

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelover62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbonear
22.1 mi away
Comerfords Suites
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
27 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
11.4 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
20.3 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's Heritage Inn

Property: Sophia's Heritage Inn
Address: 150 Water St, Carbonear, Newfoundland and Labrador A1Y 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Carbonear
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carbonear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophia's Heritage Inn is a completely restored Newfoundland heritage home. The original character of this 19th century merchant homestead has been maintained while providing all modern amenities for guests. Complete with ocean views, ensuites, whirlpool tubs, down duvets & warm hospitality. Casual fine dining, original artwork & gift shop. Hot breakfast is complimentary.Sophia's Heritage Inn belongs to the Newfoundland Experience collection of Heritage Inns and Dining located in Trinity & Carbonear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing