We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sophia's Heritage Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Carbonear B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Merchant House for three nights in June and quite enjoyed ourselves. The room was very nice and Ida was most informative and helpful. Breakfasts are bacon, eggs, toast with French toast one morning and they were very good. Certainly a nice change from the normal Continental breakfasts. Our only issue was that upon arrival, we were told that they no longer serve dinners. Unfortunately no one advised us of that fact as we had booked on line and the owners did not think to advise the on-line bookings. Fortunately the Baccalieu B & B down the street served an excellent dinner which we highly recommend.
Overall I would recommend Sophia's.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at Merchant's Manor (adjacent B&B on the same property; same owner). Management is really lacking! We booked the biggest room with the jacuzzi a week before we went there, and they failed to mention to us that when we arrive, there will be plenty of people (who were not guests) hanging around in the house the entire evening to set up for a wedding the night after. If you are going to pay over $200 for a mediocre room at a mediocre B&B, then you are not expecting for the features and service to be even less than what they are suppose to be! They did not even offer us a special rate for the inconvenience either, and they were more concerned with making the $$$. Luckily my husband and I were in such a need of a getaway that we still had a good time hanging around in our room, but did not feel comfortable hanging around the house at all. The dining room was closed for supper which we were aware, so we had taken something with us to have for supper since it was Good Friday and we were expecting most places to be closed. The breakfast was nothing special (eggs, bacon and toast), the coffee was terrible, and while we were having our breakfast the wedding organizers were buzzing around us ensuring the last touches of their setup. And the property interior decor and exterior needs some serious sprucing up! The bed was comfortable, the jacuzzi was pleasant and hot water was plenty, which were the only good thing about this B&B!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amitisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent a night at this beautiful inn in August. The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. We ate at the intimate onsite restaurant and the food was absolutely delicious. The size of the room is conducive to striking up conversation with fellow travellers which made for a very enjoyable time! The included breakfast was wonderful. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Tara Jean's suite is quite large and has a whirlpool tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rchafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed in the Kali Justine Suite, and it had air conditioning and a fan, which we were very grateful for - we don't usually get really high temperatures in Newfoundland, but it was really hot the day/night we stayed. The young lady who checked us in and also served supper was very pleasant, and professional.

The supper was delicious, and great value. We had the pork tenderloin with rhubarb chutney, and the beef with partridgeberry sauce, mmm! Good wine selection and reasonable prices there too.

The room was great, comfortable bed, nice linens, a jacuzzi and an ensuite bathroom with shower too. There were a couple of things that could be a bit better in the bathroom, the hair dryer wasn't very good (2 settings, extremely hot or extremely slow), the individual toiletries (shampoo and the shower gel) were partially used, and the rug had some bleach spots.Small things, but in a luxury room like these, they stand out. Lots of nice touches in the room though, including wine glasses and bucket, lots of good quality towels, and a little sitting area and table.

We enjoyed the breakfast as well, there was only one option but it was good.

Room Tip: The Kali Justine suite has a king size bed, jacuzzi plus shower in the ensuite bathroom, fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

When we arrived in late June, the owner's youngish daughter was in charge. I'm sure she'll be better trained when the season is over - but not yet - we paid a lot of money only to be treated like we were getting in the way, and probably trying to rip her mother off. I started off feeling quite unwelcome.

At breakfast the next morning some guests grumbled about the price, and the outrageous amount of room the jacuzzi tubs took up leaving very little room otherwise. The following morning there was no one to talk to at breakfast because we were the only guests.

The place has a lot of positives: the king size bed is v. comfortable, and the food is pretty good. Expensive, but pretty good. That's dinner I'm talking about. Breakfast is included. No choices - the first day was sausage & pancakes; second day was ham & eggs. Both were pretty good.

Stay at this place if a hot tub is one of your priorities. Otherwise look for somewhere else.

Room Tip: The 'king suite' is not a suite - just a couple of hard back chairs and miniscule table cram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibbyMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We love staying in older homes that have been made into B&B. The wood work, rooms and history are always an interesting combination. We stayed in Nicole Adrienne's guest room. and were pleased with the furnishings and linens. They also have a cozy resturant in the old dinning room. We splurged and had the pork tenderloin with homemade rubarb chutney. That was a real treat! Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Wanted a short getaway to celebrate a birthday milestone! We had stayed at this B&B a few years ago and really enjoyed the old (but not rundown) house and the meal served at the on site restaurant. So we thought to pay a return visit. We weren't disappointed! We stayed in the Tara Jean room, a large beautiful room with a King size bed and double jacuzzi. The price included breakfast - we opted for the bacon and eggs, orange juice, ww toast and partidgeberry jam. It was an excellent breakfast, nothing fancy, but well prepared. When we initially booked the room we were a little disappointed that their restaurant was closed for the winter (only catering to private parties). There's not much in the area in the way of fine dining (which is a little surprising given the population of the area). However the evening we arrived the owner mentioned that she had some cancellations from the private party they were catering to that evening, so we ended up with an excellent 3 course meal served in our room. I would recommend this inn/B&B to anyone visiting the area, and if you're looking for a superior meal, try their restaurant.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBear50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbonear
0.9 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
39 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's Heritage Inn

Address: 150 Water St, Carbonear, Newfoundland and Labrador A1Y 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Carbonear
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carbonear
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophia's Heritage Inn is a completely restored Newfoundland heritage home. The original character of this 19th century merchant homestead has been maintained while providing all modern amenities for guests. Complete with ocean views, ensuites, whirlpool tubs, down duvets & warm hospitality. Casual fine dining, original artwork & gift shop. Hot breakfast is complimentary.Sophia's Heritage Inn belongs to the Newfoundland Experience collection of Heritage Inns and Dining located in Trinity & Carbonear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sophia's Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing