We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, A Nice Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Finally, A Nice Place To Stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This area does not have any new(er) hotels other than this hotel opened less than a year ago. Well appointed, well cared for, and top notch staff. We were here for business meetings, held on site. The staff were very accommodating and went above and beyond. The continental breakfast hit the spot and the facilities are excellent. I/we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADBOCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    124
    41
    5
    1
See reviews for
111
96
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

It's so nice to have a new, clean, comfortable and nice hotel option in Deer Lake. The rooms are well maintained and very comfortable. Breakfast is good, though it would be nice if there was a restaurant attached to the place (still, there are several good options around town). Staff seem a little new/green -- front desk wasted a lot of time re-asking questions about reservation already covered when we booked online. Hopefully eventually they'll learn to be a little smoother and ask less on that front. Otherwise, no real complaints. An excellent facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buchans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here just before Christmas. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very large and clean. The bed was great.

There was a pool with large water slide. But we did not try it out.

The hotel is right beside the TransCanada Highway. So it is very conveniently located.

Apparently, they are full every night during the summer months. So be sure to make a reservation in advance.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvmycanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This new hotel is a tribute to the holiday inn express brand. A very clean facility with very friendly staff and all the services. I have stayed in pretty much every hotel in the western Newfoundland area including all of those in Corner Brook and with the exception of the Marble Mountain resort suites this is easily in my opinion the best choice hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_Newfoundland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Very friendly staff. Self serve breakfast....We had prepaid room using Expedi however at check-in
at 1:30 am Holiday Inn still wanted to place a Reservation charge on my C/C of $150...seems a little excessive reservation charge ..in case we trash room I am guessing???

Room Tip: Close to airport....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This area has been in need of a nice hotel for years. While traveling from St. Anthony, I stayed for one night at this hotel. I have no complaints. Clean, comfortable and friendly staff. I look forward to staying there again in the future. Others spoke about noise but I was on the 4th floor in the corner and heard nothing. I will say the price was reasonable compared to some of the places I stayed on the Northern Peninsula.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 835Dolores709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The hotel is clean, has spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. However, it is extremely noisy. It is wood construction with little or no sound proofing in the floors. You can hear the guests in the room above you as if they were stomping around; (I was awakened around 2:30am as the upstairs guest went to the bathroom). Same with people walking in the corridors and stair way. I was on the side facing the highway and starting around 5:00 am the sound of transport trucks woke me up. This hotel is certainly nicer than the Deer Lake Hotel or the Driftwood Inn but if you choose to stay here bring ear plugs and ask for a room on the 4th floor on the side away from the highway.

Room Tip: 4th floor (top floor) rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.9 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
59 reviews
24.1 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
57 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort
1.7 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Address: 38 Bennett's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing