We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a new hotel and is very well maintained. From the moment you walked in it smelled fresh and clean. Our room was large, again fresh and clean. The beds were comfortable and the linens soft and clean. You're noticing a tread here. Wifi and the TV both worked well. The laundry facility was very handy and we were happy to have it available. Breakfast was good and kept stocked and any spills cleaned immediately. I especially enjoyed looking at all the original artwork on the walls that was for sale. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    102
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
87
79
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Always a great place to stay; rooms very well appointed; free-wifi, clean and very comfortable. Great pool with water slide. Excellent breakfast included. Ideal location to visit Gros Morne Park, good access to trails; both summer and winter sports.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
179 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is new (opened in 2012), so how anyone can say it is dated is beyond me. It is exactly like every other Holiday Inn Express. The front desk staff are courteous as are the people in the breakfast room. Rooms were clean, but a little tight in a two-bedded room. The guest laundry is a plus (although it is just one washer and dryer).We had no problem with noise - yes, you could hear the people above us walking around, but you will generally hear the floor boards above in every multi-level facility. It is expensive, but there are few choices in Deer Lake.

Room Tip: You will hear the people above you, so I'd recommend the top floor (there is an elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterdown, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Disappointed that the pool wasn't open, but beds were awesome and breakfast was awesome. Great place to stay and very friendly and patient staff!

Tripadvisor says that the review must be 200 characters so.... there we go!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank technokidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseann W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank-you Technokidz for your great review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer lake, I understand your disappointment the pool was down but I'm very pleased to finally announce it has finally re-opened so if you are back this way even if you don't plan on staying please drop in just to enjoy the pool. Apart from that it seems you did get to enjoy some of the other great features of our hotel including the great comfy beds, the free hot breakfast and of course our stellar staff...we love them as much as our guests they are awesome!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed one night after visiting Gros Morne park. The hotel is nice and clean, the service was very friendly, the breakfast pretty good. The pool was closed for renovations, but they gave us free passes to the community pool nearby. Overall very nice stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you Anna290 for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake...We just celebrated our second anniversary and we constantly get great reviews of our new modern spacious rooms with all the great amenities like free hot breakfast, free wi fi, business center and fitness center. Our pool hot tub and water slide should be open any day and will be better than before. We hope to see you again soon when traveling this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel because of the positive reviews. Our room was adequate but was dated, no evidence of recent renovation. Rooms are small. Continental breakfast was good. We payed less for more while holidaying in the Maritimes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello Nancy G
Thank you for taking the time to write a review although I have to question if you reviewed the correct property when you say dated as we are a brand new property and just celebrated our 2nd anniversary. As you can see from previous comments guests rave about our large spacious and modern rooms with our complimentary hot breakfast. Being a new hotel in this market with great amenities including Free Wi Fi, Pool, hot tub, water slide, fitness center, our free hot breakfast and our great IHG Rewards program our guests think we are a great spend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outer Cove
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel a couple of nights ago due to travel with work. The hotel is conveniently located close to Deer Lake's airport as well as other amenities. The staff are always inviting and accommodating. My reservation and check in were smooth. My room was well appointed, modern, clean and very comfortable. I had a great rest and great nights sleep. The breakfast was satisfying. I also attended a meeting at the hotel. The room was well furnished and it surpassed all our needs. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. I will return. This is a very nice hotel, in a very nice location, staffed by very nice people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADBOCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you ADBOCNL for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake I think you've touched on all the great reasons guests enjoy staying with us...rooms well appointed, clean, modern and comfortable the free hot breakfast, free wi fi, pool, hot tub and water slide, fitness center and of course our friendly helpful staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.9 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Address: 38 Bennett's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing