We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Ritz, not a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz, not a dump”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

it's a Holiday Inn Express, so let's face it, you know what you're getting. Good room, large, king bed, clean. Thin(ish) walls and floors, but luckily for us the hotel wasn't busy at all.

And the property itself is big.

The room we had had a great bathroom... there was a jacuzzi in the bedroom... erm... we didn't use it. That was a bit weird.

Tiny little kitchenette.

Overall, we were using Deer Lake as a HQ for Gros Morne, the room was what we wanted. Nothing special. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear DrCMiller,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    109
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
91
82
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were super impressed with how new the hotel was; the rooms were huge, clean and welcoming. Hot tub/pool areas were fresh, and our room had a mini-bar area complete with fridge and sink. The only major problem was that the walls were supppper thin - we could hear everything going on in the halls, in the parking lot and the people walking and talking in the unit above us. A shame. Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 3 different times as we criss-crossed the province during our 2 week Newfoundland vacation and had a great experience all 3 times. We stayed here our first night after coming into Port aux Basques, on our way back from St. John's for an overnight on our way up to St. Anthony and as a home base at the end of our trip for 3 days to explore Gros Morne. There are hotels in Port aux Basques and hotels closer to Gros Morne but we stayed for free using points all 3 times and are so glad we did because of what a great place this is. (And a very reasonable amount of points for each stay) Everyone at the reception desk is super friendly. They exchanged dollars for loonies to do laundry and even let us know that they had free DVD players behind the desk if we wanted to use one. We stayed in the family suite each time which was perfect for our family of 5. It has a king bed, pull out sofa and bunk beds. The hotel has a large breakfast / lounge area with lots of family board games stored by the big tv that guests are free to use. The breakfast wasn't as good as a Hampton or Fairfield Inn breakfast but you could easily get filled up if you aren't picky. There were a few mornings that the eggs were ruined by covering every square inch of the folded omelets with onions and red peppers but there were lots of other options and a very attentive staff. The pool was closed for repairs during our stays but we were called a month ahead of time to tell us about the closure which we appreciated, and were offered the option of being able to swim at a local pool nearby. One minor negative thing was that the tv by the bunk bed had very limited channels and poor reception. I'm not sure why this is the case when the large tv for the room 2 feet away had great reception and lots of tv channel choices. We used the laundry while there but they only have 1 washer and 1 dryer so come early. The hotel is roughly an hour from Gros Morne - we didn't mind the scenic drive there and back every day so this was a perfect place as a home base. There are fast food restaurants (Tim's, Pizza Delight, Subway, Burger King, KFC) gas stations and a grocery store super close by. And in closing I must say - this hotel had the most comfortable bed out of the numerous hotels that we stayed at during our trip through New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Labrador and St. Pierre & Miquelon! If we ever make it back to beautiful Newfoundland we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelBug05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

New, clean, comfortable. Our son loved the water slide. Close to and easy to get to airport. Good place to start/end your trip to Gros Morne National Park. Stayed 2 separate nights, one planned, other last minute add on. Only criticism is that we were charged the standard $10 extra for a rollaway cot to accommodate our son as the only room we could get for our second night had a king bed only. I thought they would waive this charge since there was a planned power outage for the next morning so we needed to shower by flashlight, son couldn't use the pool, and there were limited breakfast offerings. We would stay there again and do recommend but just thought that was a bit cheap of them considering the bed was simply rolled across the hall to our room and we made it up ourselves and packed it up nicely when we left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_recoskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port aux Basques, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a nice pool. The slide in the pool is something the kids love. The breakfast is awesome as well! It is very close to the insectarium and Rocky Harbour is a great day trip. The Marble Zip tours is close as well.

Room Tip: If you are going to Marble Zip tours, you can get 10% off when you book at this hotel. I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcousins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On a quick pass through Deer Lake on our way from Ottawa to Twillingate we arrived really late (1:20 AM) and left around noon. Our time there was fantastic. The room was large (one Queen-sized and a bunk bed), clean, and well-equipped (fridge, microwave, plates etc.). The free breakfast was varied and all items (bacon, eggs, milk, juice, cereal, pancakes and all kinds of bread) were constantly restocked. The people we interacted with at the desk, during breakfast and those cleaning the rooms were sincerely friendly. Overall, this hotel was great. One thing I would avoid is the rooms close to or over the front entrance. It gets noisy when people start moving on.

Room Tip: Stay away from the centre of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Conklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a new hotel and is very well maintained. From the moment you walked in it smelled fresh and clean. Our room was large, again fresh and clean. The beds were comfortable and the linens soft and clean. You're noticing a tread here. Wifi and the TV both worked well. The laundry facility was very handy and we were happy to have it available. Breakfast was good and kept stocked and any spills cleaned immediately. I especially enjoyed looking at all the original artwork on the walls that was for sale. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.9 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Address: 38 Bennett's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing