We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical but a little disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forteau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grenfell Louie A. Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Forteau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent two nights here on a recent trip. Our room (Mary Taylor) was large with a sofa as well as a double bed in it and still plenty of room to move around. The mattress, however, was rather hard so not particularly comfortable. The bathroom, of which there are two, are shared between the rooms but we did not find that a problem particularly since only three rooms were occupied the first night we were there and we were the only ones there on the second night. Breakfasts were not particularly inspired and we both commented that the table looked like it was set out for high tea rather than breakfast with a lot of cakes and muffins. There were several pots of jam but no labels on any of them (Peggy told us there used to be labels but she didn't know where they were now). Help-yourself-cereal in a line of plastic containers by the sink and a toaster with part of a loaf of bread in a plastic bag, along with yogurt and tea or coffee (Peggy had not got round to replacing some of the alternative teas so empty boxes) completed the selection. The big, noisy fridge in the corner of the room somewhat spoiled any atmostphere of the historic room (the old waiting room).
Notwithstanding the historical interest of the property we found this stay to be slightly disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLAHBB, Owner at Grenfell Louie A. Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank You for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. However, I can't see how you found our new mattresses uncomfortable which was brand new memory foam high quality which you were the first to occupy. As for the breakfast we do not serve cakes but homemade traditional scones/muffins/cinnamon buns/juices/teas/coffee/homemade jams/homemade bread/cereals hot and cold/fruit basket/yogurt(which is an extensive continental breakfast) And the cereals are in glass containers not plastic. Thank you for the input on the noise of the fridge , which I discovered is the ice maker we placed in the room for guest and issue has been taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is an incredible place! It is an old nurses station and a very historic location. It is like spending a night in a fabulous museum rather than just a B and B. having said that it is not at all 'stuffy'. It is beautifully decorated with a really comfortable room and a lovely bathroom and shower. The breakfast is lavish with home baking and a great selection of berry jams. Peggy is an amazing host and made a number of calls to help with our holiday plans and really came through with a lift to help us on our hike along the pioneer trail. I really feel I can not do justice to this very special place in a review. If you are visiting labrador you must experience it for yourself - it's a truly special place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLAHBB, Owner at Grenfell Louie A. Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thanks! So happy to help you out and give you a ride after your hike on the pioneer foot trail. You were lucky and just missed the blackflies. Hope you had a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here this past July, on my way up the Labrador coast. I could not believe how welcoming and warm this place made me feel, it was just like I was at home. I decided to stay again on my way back through, the owner was very helpful in suggesting places to stay and sites to visit on my next during to Lanse au Meadows and St. Anthony.
I recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a welcoming stay at a historical place with lots to do and see in the area!!!! Loved it .

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Fowler room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great b&b. Clean, well-maintained, convenient to ferry. Very good breakfast. Bathrooms were shared, but that was fine, especially since we were the only ones there. Our young kids loved our room. My wife left her glasses there by accident and the proprietor not only emailed us about it, she called other hotels up the coast to try to track us down. Because we hadn't had any internet service, we found out about her lost glasses three days later from the owner of the Whaler in Red Bay when we checked in there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This B&B is located in the former Grenfell nursing station in Forteau Labradour. Rooms are clean, of adaquate size, and quiet at night. Peggy is an excellent host and can recommend a good restaurant (try the carabou rolladen) just up the street where bakeapple jam is produced for the world. A good place to stay on the way to Battle Harbour and Red Bay. Black flies may be a problem outside in the summer so best to bring bug jackets. Bathrooms are shared but this has never been a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

What a charming place!
Do not expect a modern, fully equipped B&B (e.g., two bathrooms are shared among the rooms): but, instead, a living memory of past Labrador, a place full of atmosphere.
We were alone in the house for two nights out of three, and what a lovely experience! Reading old books about the history of the Grenfell mission in the living room, closing our eyes to imagine the nurses doing their hard job in the (almost untouched) rooms of the house...
It's a difficult feeling to share: you have to go, and try.
The landlady is nice, she has collected all the material you see in the house, to preserve the memory of the old nursery. Breakfast was "continental", but rich in fruits and home-made jams.
A unique place, I am glad I didn't miss during our stay in Labrador.

Room Tip: Mary Taylor room seemed to us the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoBe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our adventure to Labrador was quite an experience.
We took the ferry from St. Barbe to Porte de Blanc (which actually arrives in Quebec). That in itself is quite the experience. We then drove along the coast of Labrador in the fog and rain through rugged country of scrub brush and rock, a real sense of Canadian venturing into the life of Viking and Pioneers. Did not know that one does not go to Labrador in July or August. BEWARE BLACK FLIES IN JULY & AUGUST. Not like we have in Ontario. These are everywhere and overbearing at this time of the year. Otherwise a delightful place with kind generous folk that yearn for cooler weather (no Black flies)

The Grenfell Louie A. Hall is a wonderful historic building in Fourteau, built as a nursing station to serve the community. The founder, Dr. Grenfell was a medical doctor from the UK who came to Newfoundland and Labrador and helped the people in the area organise rights for fisherman and workers and establish communities along the coast of Labrador.

The Grenfell A. Louie Hall is owned and operated by the original family that donated the land to Dr. Grenfell to build the out post nursing station. The home was once a nursing station that served the Forteau area. The owner Peggy and her husband Dwight were both born in this nursing station. Peggy’s daughter was also born here.
Grenfell Hall is a superb historic site filled with history and antiques reflected of its time. Peggy has meticulously documented the history with photos and memorabilia throughout her home.

When we arrived Peggy & Dwight were out fishing with her family for salmon…their group was ousted by a black bear. (But not before they caught some fish)

Early morning brought us fishermen tending to their traps and a lovely sunrise over the misty foggy hills and bay

Lovely place to stay. Very rustic, lots of history. Very friendly people.
B&B was very clean. Our room was quite. Shared bathroom .. But no concerns... breakfast was self serve (only because we were up early to and on the road at 6:30 a.m.)

A Must see... check out the "Out Back Lounge" in the local restaurant in town … a definite highlight.. Friendly, rustic, cold beer and darts...Memories of Kenora, Ontario circa 1969

The ferry ride back was awesome … icebergs. Porpoises... Lots of fresh air, sunshine and coffee.. not to mention smooth sailing awesome

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KAP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grenfell Louie A. Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenfell Louie A. Hall

Address: 3 Willow Ave. | P.O. Box 137, Forteau, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > Forteau
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forteau
Price Range: £43 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grenfell Louie A Hall Bed Breakfast has been in operation since 1994. Previously owned by the International Grenfell Association and operated as a Nursing Station in Labrador until 1983 then as a staff residence until 1993. Over 3 generations of people was born at this establishment when it was in operation as a Nursing Station including my husband and myself. While in Labrador come stay with us and read our history of Labrador and the Grenfell Nursing Station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing