We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed two nights with Lynn and George at Rothesay House B & B and had a wonderful stay. Not only is their home beautiful, but our hosts were so welcoming that we felt right at home. We also dined there for dinner both nights and Lynn's meals were amazing! If you are going to stay with them, we highly recommend you make a reservation for dinner as you will not be disappointed. Breakfast was great as well and her homemade honey was delicious! George's knowledge of the history of the local area and their home, was so interesting to learn about and his recommendations for our travel were appreciated. We had an amazing time and we highly recommend Rothesay House as the place to stay in Harbour Grace. Hopefully we will be back some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDWiedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hosts, George and Lynn, are excellent. You feel you've know them for years right away. They are very knowledgeable about the area. The food is wonderful, with breakfast being a fine dining experience. The house is very comfortable and wonderfully decorated, with a feel of history easily coming out. I've visited twice now and will be sure to return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

George and Lynn were amongst the best hosts I have had at a B&B anywhere and i have travelled the world. George generously shared his passion for history, geography, and ecology made my journey rich. His directions and stories stayed in my head as I travelled north on the pennisula and changed how I saw the people and the land everywhere else I went. I felt welcome like an old friend and stayed on when I was captured by the beauty of the place and the hospitality of he and Lynn. Between Lynn's gourmet meals, comfortable rooms, a wealth of books and artifacts and down home hospitality, this is a place you must stay at if you are in Harbour Grace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Fantastic hosts. Fantastic B & B. The home itself is outstanding and the accommodations are first rate. The gardens are beautiful. Very nice sitting areas outside to enjoy the fresh air and gardens. Very relaxing 2 night visit. Take a stroll along the waterfront. The breakfasts were very enjoyable and it was great to chat with the other guests. George and Lynn are awesome hosts and Lynn is an excellent chef.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fluffykamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay the B&B is very nice and a great location breakfast was perfect owners are nice to chat with and enjoy telling about the property.The rooms are ok ours was to the small side but ok for our 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compguy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Driving up to this B&B will take your breath away with the beauty and charm of this historic
house and the surrounding beautiful gardens! George and Lynn are the best of hosts,
Lynn with her gourmet meals and interior decorating touch, and George is fascinating to
listen to his Newfoundland stories and history. Evenings sitting out on the front veranda
were a highlight for us with our hosts and other guests! Definitely a must go to and stay
place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Absolutely amazing! Those are the best words to describe the Christmas party we had at the Rothesay House. Myself and 8 other staff of The Hair Gallery & Spa De Sante where made feel as if we where at home. Greeted at the gate and led into the sitting room with the fireplace lit and Christmas decor in each room, we had privacy to talk and exchange gifts over glasses of fine wine as we awaited our 3 course meal. The food was out of this world!!! All 9 of us agreed that it was the best meal we had ever had! All made from scratch by Lynn and served by George, my mouth waters just thinking about the salmon and the chocolate hazelnut cheesecake!!!! The price was more then reasonable and we where not rushed out the door, we stayed 3 and half hours and could have stayed longer had we wished. Lynn gave us a tour of the house which is extremely well kept and decorated to perfection! We will be there every year here on for certain! I would also like to add that a couple of years ago I had professional pictures taken on there property,which is as amazing as the inside and Lynn and George themselves!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Grace
0.4 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
169 reviews
18.1 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
8 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sophia's Heritage Inn
Sophia's Heritage Inn
#3 of 3 in Carbonear
26 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
39 reviews
18.1 mi away
Inn By The Bay
Inn By The Bay
#2 of 3 in Dildo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 34 Water Street | PO Box 577, Harbour Grace, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Harbour Grace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Grace
Price Range: £109 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star designated provincial heritage structure and nationally registered historic place. 1855 construction and authentic architecture. Excellent oceanfront views, English gardens and fine evening dining. Newfoundland dog (O'malley) on site. Seascape trails close by and personalized mini- touring itinaries provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast Harbour Grace, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing