We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harbour Grace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I echo Glenn R's experience. Such a wonderful mini break at Rothesay House B&B in June, 2014. A great central location from which to explore the area as well. Fantastic food and gracious hosts made for a one of kind experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
183
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed with Lynn and George at Rothesay House B & B in May 2014.
Their house is authentic, brought from Brigus, and is very well kept. The view is amazing.
George was very helpful for history of the town and the life in the past, and Lynn's breakfast was superb!
When we woke up, Lynn made our day by telling us that there is an iceberg just along the road they are living in, which was a great surprise!(see picture)

Room Tip: idefintly recommended if you want to do the north part of the Avalon peninsula. Great location not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0nBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverlodge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed two nights with Lynn and George at Rothesay House B & B and had a wonderful stay. Not only is their home beautiful, but our hosts were so welcoming that we felt right at home. We also dined there for dinner both nights and Lynn's meals were amazing! If you are going to stay with them, we highly recommend you make a reservation for dinner as you will not be disappointed. Breakfast was great as well and her homemade honey was delicious! George's knowledge of the history of the local area and their home, was so interesting to learn about and his recommendations for our travel were appreciated. We had an amazing time and we highly recommend Rothesay House as the place to stay in Harbour Grace. Hopefully we will be back some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDWiedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hosts, George and Lynn, are excellent. You feel you've know them for years right away. They are very knowledgeable about the area. The food is wonderful, with breakfast being a fine dining experience. The house is very comfortable and wonderfully decorated, with a feel of history easily coming out. I've visited twice now and will be sure to return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

George and Lynn were amongst the best hosts I have had at a B&B anywhere and i have travelled the world. George generously shared his passion for history, geography, and ecology made my journey rich. His directions and stories stayed in my head as I travelled north on the pennisula and changed how I saw the people and the land everywhere else I went. I felt welcome like an old friend and stayed on when I was captured by the beauty of the place and the hospitality of he and Lynn. Between Lynn's gourmet meals, comfortable rooms, a wealth of books and artifacts and down home hospitality, this is a place you must stay at if you are in Harbour Grace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Fantastic hosts. Fantastic B & B. The home itself is outstanding and the accommodations are first rate. The gardens are beautiful. Very nice sitting areas outside to enjoy the fresh air and gardens. Very relaxing 2 night visit. Take a stroll along the waterfront. The breakfasts were very enjoyable and it was great to chat with the other guests. George and Lynn are awesome hosts and Lynn is an excellent chef.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffykamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay the B&B is very nice and a great location breakfast was perfect owners are nice to chat with and enjoy telling about the property.The rooms are ok ours was to the small side but ok for our 1 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank compguy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Grace
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport
0.4 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Spaniard's Room
The Spaniard's Room
#2 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
9.6 mi away
Silverwood Inn Hotel
Silverwood Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bay Roberts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 34 Water Street | PO Box 577, Harbour Grace, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Harbour Grace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Grace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star designated provincial heritage structure and nationally registered historic place. 1855 construction and authentic architecture. Excellent oceanfront views, English gardens and fine evening dining. Newfoundland dog (O'malley) on site. Seascape trails close by and personalized mini- touring itinaries provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast Harbour Grace, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing