We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exploring Newfoundland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exploring Newfoundland”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at Rothesay House based upon a recommendation from another Inn on the Bonavista Peninsula and we were delighted to meet Lynn & George and stay at their lovely and clean heritage home where we enjoyed two good nights sleep, delicious breakfasts and a dinner all prepared by Lynn herself and served to us by George. What extraordinary hosts they are; George suggested a driving itinerary for us which we followed and enjoyed immensely and they joined us with the other guests after dinner one evening for a most enjoyable chat; we could sit and chat with them all day long, they have so much to share. We would return to Harbour Grace again just to stay at Rothesay House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D-Tedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
191
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Heritage home beautifully restored tastefully decorated with period furniture. the hosts George and Lynn were fantastic. This B&B also serves an excellent evening meal. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night. We will be back and stay longer the next time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandCharleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed with George and Lynn for two nights in June 2014. Despite less than ideal weather our hosts made us welcome and comfortable in their beautifully decorated B & B. George was a wealth of local info and Lynn's breakfasts were delightful. Our room was very tastefully decorated with a great bed and nice sitting area. We highly recommend staying at Rothesay House. GS Montreal

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I had the total pleasure of travelling from Vancouver BC and staying at the Rothesay House B & B in Harbour Grace NL for 2 days early June 2014. A relaxing stay in a very-private, quiet and comfortable guest room (with nicely fitted ensuite) in a heritage home, sensitively decorated in a manner reflecting the local area, steeped in a long history. My objective for this first and all too short visit to Harbour Grace was to research my family geneology and fill in a lot of missing names on the family tree. Well-beyond any expectation, George and Lynn set up a meeting with local volunteer church archivists and in a matter of hours all the needed records were accessed to make this a very successful trip. All this plus: great hot gourmet breakfasts and available (on pre-request basis) wonderful evening dinners, and George and Lynn's useful guidance for local touring, and their historical perspectives. A most memorable B & B experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent one night at Rothesay House in early June and wished we could have stayed longer. The house is amazingly maintained and restored with beautiful decor and gardens. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, providing the best sleep I had on our entire vacation. Breakfast was delicious and very enjoyable sharing stories and travel experiences around the table with other guests. A great common area in the evening with George even playing a tune on the piano. Would love to return for a longer stay and next time take part in the evening dinner experience. A great couple in a beautiful spot providing an awesome B&B experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DDMOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Linda.........
Lynn & George Butler are gracious, relaxed hosts. The house and setting are beautiful. The rooms clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious and an interesting experince with all the banter around the table.
The best place to learn the mysteries and fun of the ugly stick with George as an enthusiastic teacher. All good fun.
Harbour Grace is steeped in history with a museum and churches and rusty hulls.
Newfoundland is a Canadian jewel and Rothesay House Inn adds to the sparkle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Amazingly friendly, helpful and full of tips to make holidaying a pleasure. Beautiful home and grounds. Food top notch with hot breakfast, a rare treat in B&Bs. Would return any time to enjoy their hospitality again and certainly give 2 thumbs up to everyone to come too and sample a suburb gourmet dining experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Grace
19.0 mi away
Comerfords Suites
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
150 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
32 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Spaniard's Room
The Spaniard's Room
#1 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 34 Water Street | PO Box 577, Harbour Grace, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Harbour Grace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Grace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star designated provincial heritage structure and nationally registered historic place. 1855 construction and authentic architecture. Excellent oceanfront views, English gardens and fine evening dining. Newfoundland dog (O'malley) on site. Seascape trails close by and personalized mini- touring itinaries provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast Harbour Grace, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing