We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real winner!!!”
Review of Rose Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rose Manor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I are travelling around Newfoundland for a week. After a long day of driving we found Rose Manor thru Google. We called, they had a room, and in we went. Right from the start Kevin and Lucy offered such a welcoming and open feeling. From the first impressions upon driving up the driveway to the good-bye the next morning, it was all 110%.

The setting is beautiful in a wonderfully restored Harbour Grace mansion, all of it the done by Kevin and Lucy. The attention to detail went beyond the main floor to the perfectly equipped rooms. Before we went out to dinner, my wife and I enjoyed a bottle of wine in the parlour looking out at the ocean and reading - the first time I had felt relaxed all week.

After we returned from a dinner out we spent another hour or so reading before retiring for the night. On both occasions we got a visit from Kevin. He wanted to make sure we were comfortable, and as well, he took the opportunity shared his stories of the years he was a child in the town and gave us such insightful information on the history of the area. He was so respectful of our desire to enjoy some quiet time and relax, and he never overstayed his welcome, always allowing us to simply enjoy the warm and inviting setting.

Breakfast the next day was off the charts. From the selection of juices and the home made blueberry muffins to the choice of hot and cold breakfast (we chose the Eggs Benedict), it was the best.

So look them up. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdmanof58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just spent 10 days touring Eastern Newfoundland and stayed only at bed and breakfast properties that were between 4 and 5 stars.
This was the most luxurious .
Stayed for 2 nights.
We were a group of 5 and occupied 3 rooms.
Everyone was amazed by the service provided. Breakfast was fantastic and had a huge assortment of options including vegetarian and gluten free food.Even the coffee was great.
The rooms were cozy and the beds spectacular .
High end bath toiletries and deep bath tubs are in all rooms.
The public spaces were abundant both inside and out.
The beautiful gardens are rare in Newfoundland.
We enjoyed coffee on the ocean front deck in the mornings and fine wine in the evenings.
Highly recommended..

Room Tip: We loved the Amelia room with king bed and ocean view . It was very quiet and had the luxury feel o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runner051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the Rose Manor for 3 nights in early August 2013. We have stayed in many B&B over the years and overall we've enjoyed our stay with Lucy and Kevin the most! The room was beautiful and clean with a great view overlooking the water. The gardens and grounds are amazing with lots of private sitting areas. The food and hospitality were also exceptional. Rose Manor is in a great location for site seeing in the Avalon region. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Immediately when you arrive get a sense for things to come: gorgeous flower beds, circular driveway with clearly marked ample parking. Greeted with handshake from both hosts, how rare nowadays. Hosts: Lucy, a lovely Lady. Kevin, who helps bring luggage upstairs. Spacious room, A/C but also window to open. View to Ocean Inlet. Bottle of Water, little Chocolates, Iron board, plush bathrobes. Lovely, cozy bed with crisp snow white linens and Quilt. Pretty bathroom on the small side but nice layout, very good lighting to apply makeup. Super spacious newer shower stall, tiled all the way up incl the high ceiling; also liked the shower-head. Faucets etc spotless. Beside soaps and shampoos there's also a shower-cap and even body lotion! When you use the fluffy towels, take a deep breathe: they smell of a sommers' flower garden, but not overpowering, just right. Nice common areas, spectacular terrace seating, even benches on the ocean looking out to the Bay. Small flat screen TV. There's also coffee etc available to help yourself. Breakfast very delicious and generously portioned: an Italian egg omelet made with fresh vegetables and ham on the side, plenty of toast, two very fresh homemade scones, juice, jam and coffee or tea.All in all absolutely immaculate, with great sense for details. Will definitely make a point of returning, and book dinner then- Lucy loves to cook, and it shows.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ocea_nixe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Rose Manor for two nights and had a great time. We stayed at Amelia room, which is a beautiful room with king size bed, nice linen, beautiful antique furniture and nice sitting area overlooking the front yard and the harbour. The bathroom was fully equipped and the most important spotless. The rest of the house is beautiful and enchanting. The location is just perfect.The owners, Lucy and Kevin are great hosts. Our overall experience is excellent. We wish we had more time to enjoy this beautiful house and its grounds.
My husband and I would highly recommend Rose Manor to anyone visiting Harbour Grace area.

Lidija & Velce, Toronto_ON

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Velce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We probably weren't there long enough to enjoy it really- we had booked dinner out and went over to the west coast after dinner so really we were only there for breakfast. That said, the room was decent, everything worked and the house had been immaculately restored. Breakfast was good and we had an enthusiastic welcome from Lucy.

We'd be happy to stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Rose Manor 4 times. The Manor is lovely, the rooms comfortable and immaculate and the bathrooms are the cleanest I've ever seen! Lucy and Keven are lovely, kind hosts - down to earth and generous. The location is quiet and there are a number of places to sit in the gardens and read and enjoy a cup of tea. For the past 3 years when my husband was participating in a local sprint triathlon, Lucy has served us early breakfast on the day of the race, making a different breakfast for my husband based on what he needed to prepare for the event. The breakfasts are delicious, with homemade jams, muffins, etc. I would highly recommend the Rose Manor B & B to anyone visiting the Harbour Grace area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Grace
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St. John's Airport
0.4 mi away
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
18.5 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
24.9 mi away
Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments
15.1 mi away
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
The Doctor's House Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Greens Harbour
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Manor Inn

Address: 43 Water Street East | P.0 box 280, Harbour Grace, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Harbour Grace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Grace
Price Range: £140 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rose Manor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 5 beautifully appointed guest rooms, with private en suite bathrooms. Three Oceanview suites with Jacuzzi and Super King Beds. One Queen bedroom garden view with Jacuzzi suite and one Queen ocean view suite. In our private ocean view parlour, guests can relax, read or enjoy hearing the stories of Newfoundland as it was. In our dining room, experience the old world ambiance and view of the ocean, while enjoying exquisite evening fine dining and complimentary gourmet breakfasts. In our beautifully landscaped gardens, enjoy a stroll and smell the flowers while breathing in the sea air and listening to the seabirds or sit by the ocean and enjoy the gentle breeze while watching the waves caress the rocks. We offer traditional Newfoundland Boil-ups, Murder Mysteries, Foraging expeditions, Berry-picking excursions, Pirate stories, Cooking classes and Storytelling at it's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Manor Inn Harbour Grace, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing