We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gold Standard!”
Review of A Schooner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Schooner Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holyrood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This B&B has it all! Ambiance, fabulous waterfront view, comfortable accommodations, great food and "the Hostess with the Mostest." Colette is knowledgeable about the area and generous with travel advice. We spent a month in B&Bs 'On the Rock' and A Schooner Inn was the highlight accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette K, Owner at A Schooner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I can still imagine
You both sitting out on our seaside veranda enjoying the view.
You were both a pleasure to have as our guests.i m glad you
Enjoyed our breakfasts. I try to cook something a little different
Each morning in our 7 day menu that will give visitors a taste
Of our customs and heritage.
I hope one day you will return once again to beautiful NL and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at Colette's Schooner Inn and we couldn't have been more pleased.  It is a perfect location for visiting St. John's - it is a short drive out of the city, and its beautiful location in Holyrood is a lovely place to relax after exploring the city sights. It's also an ideal spot for those exploring the Avalon Peninsula.  Beyond the great setting and lovely view, is the hostess and the house.  We arrived to find fresh baked treats awaiting us in the foyer. The house often is filled with the aromas of Colette's baking (yum!). Her breakfasts are a work of art. Colette loves to cook, and the longer you stay, the more you get to taste the wonderful variety of breakfast offerings. The house is quaint, comfortable, lovingly decorated and extremely clean.  For those of you who might be hesitant about the B and B experience (as we sometimes are), this is a great place to try. Colette is so personable and gregarious, you will be glad you availed yourself of this newfoundland experience. Stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette K, Owner at A Schooner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our heritage Inn as well as the elegant
Writing of your thoughts. I m delighted you both enjoyed your stay as well as
our breakfasts. I sincerely believe that guests should be given a memorable eating
Experience at our Inn. Taste trends have changed. Guests enjoy a healthy start to
Their day and enjoy the fruit, yogurt, local berries and samples of Nl cuisine
Such as Atlantic smoked salmon cooked in eggs. I m glad you enjoyed them too.

I hope one day you will return to our beautiful coastal NL and our heritage Inn.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast with an absolutely lovely ambiance and Colette is so accommodating! She should teach how to be a b n b owner lessons. It is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was superb. Definitely well worth a visit with restaurants nearby and a great boardwalk to walk on at the end of the bay too!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank madronatrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette K, Owner at A Schooner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay of our heritage Inn.
I m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You were both warm and easy going as guests so it was
Easy to do the little extra for you both. Our travellers' comfort is most important here at the Inn
So we go up and beyond expectations. Things like a change of towels are done daily to ensure
Your comfort. We serve gourmet, healthy breakfasts and take guest likes and dislikes as well as food allergies into account. We care about our guests and it shows.

We loved having you stay at the Inn and hope one day you ll visit once again
If you come yo NL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wow! What an oasis we discovered during our stay in early August, 2014. The attention to detail Colette has put into her B&B is nothing short of amazing. I can highly recommend this as a place to stay. This beautiful old home is so comfortable and tastefully decorated we only wish we had more time to stay there. The area is lovely and there is so much to see and do in the vicinity. Be sure to walk along the beach and drive the short distances to all the close little towns. This area, while such a short distance from the main highway, truly is a little slice of the rural Newfoundland we loved so much across the island. And you wake up only 45 minutes from the St. Johns airport.
Colette is a dream inn-keeper. You can tell she put years of thought into what she has created. Everywhere you look in the inn there is a personal touch. Colette herself is perhaps the best asset of the inn. She is so friendly and fun to talk with and is full of stories and facts about her beloved home and province. We only had the chance to have one amazing breakfast but even the next morning when we had to leave very early for the airport she had prepared us a pack of treats to take with us. We stayed in the Captains Suite and loved it. Incredible bed, bathroom and personal touches. Extremely clean and tidy. Not a single concern. Thanks, Colette, and we sure hope we see you and your inn again!
Brian and Christi - Calgary

Room Tip: Stayed in Captain's suite and was adorable - but all the rooms were as nice from what we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette K, Owner at A Schooner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you Brian for such a complementary review. Some guests come as strangers but leave as our friends. You and your little family are definitely one of those. I couldn't t believe that your stay is pne of your first B and B experiences! You felt like extended family from the beginning..

I m so glad you enjoyed your guest room and our breakfasts. You were all so easy to please.
I hope one day you will all come back and stay at our little seaside Inn once again. Until then, "LNG May yer big drib draw" to your good health my friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Colette was very welcoming. The house is lovely and well maintained. The view from our room was fantastic and her breakfasts were something to look forward to!
I felt more like a guest in her home than a patron of a B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette K, Owner at A Schooner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our little heritage B and B.
I m so glad you enjoyed your stay and I sincerely hope that one day you ll come
And stay at our Inn once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We finished off our NL vacation staying for one night at this spectacular Inn. Our only disappointment was that we had not booked for a longer stay. Colette is an amazing hostess and this is by far the best B&B that we have visited. The Inn itself is beautifully decorated - so quaint and inviting. We enjoyed our evening walk along the Boardwalk and a drive to nearby Brigus - again wishing we had more time to explore. We had the most delicious breakfast - gourmet for sure! - and a great visit with fellow guests and Colette. We highly recommend A Schooner Inn and are looking forward to a return visit!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JPB442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette K, Owner at A Schooner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. I m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that
You enjoyed our breakfasts. We try to offer a little taste oh our NL culture as well as
A healthy start to your day of travel.

The boardwalk in front of the Inn that takes you to around the beach is indeed lovely.
I m glad you enjoyed taking the stroll of where once Schooner vessels fished for their bait.
It is now a popular place for tourists and NL people alike.

We are very central to touring the Avalon Pinn. You can go whale watching or to historic sites of The picturesque towns of Nrigus and Cupids within 30 min. We are quite close to the major TCH which makes us a popular central base for many visitors such as yourself.

I hope you visit us again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Colette, thank you very much for your hospitality and amazing breakfast!!!
We spent 3 nights at Schooner Inn and I would highly recommend anyone to experience excellence of Colette's B&B. every room has so much details to the marine theme... Location is great and you can explore CBS, Cupids, Brigus and other beautiful spots from Shooner Inn. There is a very nice swimming river 2 minutes away.
I cannot say enough - you absolutely must stay at this place.

Room Tip: Book accommodations and car rent in NL WAY IN ADVANCE :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Evgeny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette K, Owner at A Schooner Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for such lovely comments about our seaside Inn.
I m delighted you both enjoyed your stay here in our guest room.
On this beautiful NL coast.

I m delighted you enjoyed the breakfasts
Provided. I try to have a little taste of NL at each breakfast for people to enjoy.
Each morning meal starts off with yogurt, homemade granola and fresh fruit and one of
The Inn s berry syrups. Guests enjoy the variety offered and the fact
That everything is freshly prepared when they come downstairs to the bkfst table
I m glad you did too.

It was a real pleasure having you as guests. I hope our paths cross again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyrood
23.2 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Comerfords Suites
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
29 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carrolls Green
Carrolls Green
#1 of 3 in Holyrood
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to A Schooner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Schooner Inn

Address: 5 Northside Road, Holyrood, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Holyrood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holyrood
Price Range: £104 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, restored, 4 1/2 star, Victorian seaside Inn, 1884 (circa) nestled in the bay of Holyrood's harbour. Only 30 min drive from historic St. John's and centrally located to seabird, iceberg and whale watching tours. All three rooms, 1 king and 2 queens, have an en suite bathroom. Parking is complementary and included also is a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A Schooner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing