We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Utility Hotel In A Region With Few Options”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Anse au Clair
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Good Utility Hotel In A Region With Few Options”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Northern Lights Inn is, from what I’m told by locals and fellow travelers the best of the available options in the L’Anse au Clair/Forteau/L’Anse au Loup area.

The hotel is about 20 minutes from the ferry located in L’Anse au Clair on the main thoroughfare in the community and offers a restaurant and bar as well as a gift shop with local souvenirs. The room itself was clean but not terribly spacious – great for an individual or a couple. It had all the standards so overall a good utility hotel.

Constructive criticism would be that the restaurant which offered a nice evening meal wasn’t open for a hot breakfast which would have been a nice way to start the day on a cold Labrador morning. However, the price of the room did include a complimentary continental breakfast.
Highlight would definitely be the staff, who were genuinely friendly and all smiles at the desk and in the restaurant and once you’ve got the basics covered, that counts for a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    37
    29
    14
    4
See reviews for
24
42
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Everything is old. Walls have mis-matched paint touch ups, chipped paint here and there. Old scuzzy tile. Restaurant crazy over priced (boiled frozen carrots and scallop dinner (x2) + wine = $60. Breakfast for $10 was a good buffet with delicious potato fish cakes.

Oh and it's a good thing we called to check if we could drink the swampy smelling water: NO. However they still serve it to you in the restaurant. We did not get sick though.

We had a so so view of the ocean and icebergs. There is a Home Hardware in front of the ocean but second story has a view.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_in_Whitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these L'Anse au Clair hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel and it was fine. These kind of places are always slightly functional but well suited to those needing a comfortable night while passing through. The inn is a little dated but I suspect we had one of the renovated rooms which was comfortable, spacious and clean with a view over the harbour (it was nicer than the picture on the brochure!).The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the resturant was pretty good. On the whole a good stay.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

we were traveling the long way home from Labrador city back to Saskatchewan. we were on my way home from Cain's Qwest and mist the fairy so we stay over night there
it was in the off season so it was quiet and they were renovating and we got a newly renovated room that was modern and clean. the staff was excellent and the food was good to.
i definitely recommend it
this sight needs new photos the rooms are way nicer now

Room Tip: stay here new rooms are really good you won't be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmora, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We were part of a tour group and we stayed for one night. On arrival we were greeted with a fruit punch reception which was very nice! Our room was in the new wing and it was very spacious, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a general store nearby (which carries a great variety of products. We would recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMC002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pearl, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2012

To Whom It May Concern;


My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Northern Light Inn on Saturday (08 September) and Sunday (09 September). Our stay was made very pleasurable by your staff, especially the desk clerk Celina. She was friendly, curious, professional and very knowledgeable of the town and surrounding area. She made our stay very enjoyable.

We will highly recommend the Northern Light Inn and we defiantly will stay at the Inn the next time we are in Labrador.

Please pass our thanks and gratitude to Celina.


Sincerely

Vera and John Churchill

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Far and away the best food and lodging in the area. Turn north at the ferry landing and go 5 km. In the big city, this fairly basic hotel would rate only average, but in Labrador, it is a jewel. Clean, comfortable, good internet service and a fine restaurant make this one of the better choices. We took the ferry Apollo from St Barbe to Blanc Sablon and spent one day in Labrador and were pleased that we did.

Room Tip: Suites in the new end of the building are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse au Clair
17.5 mi away
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
#1 of 2 in Blanc-Sablon
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: 58 Main St, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > L'Anse au Clair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Anse au Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn is the largest hotel in southern Labrador with 70 rooms, 5 housekeeping units, and an RV site to cater to the traveling public. The hotel also houses a family-style restaurant, lounge, gift shop, and conference facilities. With quality service as the utmost priority, the Northern Light Inn is proud to offer clean, comfortable accommodations, along with delicious meals and friendly service. The Northern Light Inn is where Labrador begins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel l`Anse Au Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing