We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay, average, but good for where you are!”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Anse au Clair
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One night stay, average, but good for where you are!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here one night while traveling around Labrador...certainly a strange choice for a vacation destination, to say the least! There is basically nothing in that area, so this hotel stands out! I believe that there is some pride of ownership, but the bar is not set very high. The common areas could use an update, the room was clean but also outdated, and the hallways in need of cleaning or updating. I suspect that, as the only game in town, the place gets well worn. Staff was nice, when available, restaurant (also the only game in town, outside of a Robin's coffee shop across the street) closed way too early therefore not very accommodating to later arrivals? After traveling across northern Labrador, south lo L'Anse Au Claire, we realized that we couldn't expect the normal standard in a hotel that we would expect. Labrador is not a normal destination!

Room Tip: Don't go to Labrador but if you must, than this is a place you can put your head down on a decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    37
    29
    14
    4
See reviews for
24
42
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Labrador City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel once before and it was fine but 2 nights ago I had to stay in the cabins. Let's just say I will never stay there again. The place was not very clean, it smelled musky, it was outdated and the tv was a 19 inch from the early 80's that had a terrible picture to the point I just turned it off and it was on top of the fridge! I would have turned around and walked out but it was dark and heavy rain. The next morning I went to make a complaint while checking out. I told the lady about the conditions and they should be ashamed for charging well over 100 dollars for the room. Her response to me was " I don't make the prices". In a ignorant tone. So no I would never recommend this place and if you ever get stuck and have to stay in the cabins, for god sakes don't complain, apparently the customers views are not important.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these L'Anse au Clair hotels

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

So this hotel is clean and the staff seems friendly. However it is extremely dated and in need if some new bedding , I'm pretty sure this bedding dates back to the 90s. It says it has wireless internet but we were never able to log on while in our room on the second floor. Since the town has no internet this makes it hard to stay in contact. The room is $100 and tax and is not worth that price. It's a motel style place and should reflect those prices . Or update the place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill
Level Contributor
320 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived on a rainy weekday afternoon. The room was on the second floor, but how could the corridors be so noisy all day and night? Room walls might be thin too as I did hear showers and conversations (and lots more).

The room has ZERO wifi signal, although it was advertised as "free wifi". When we went to the restaurant, we finally picked up some weak signal from the lobby (it had its own ID). The dining room was not too crowded but only 2 servers were at work. Many tables were not cleared, but I know that the servers were already working as hard as they could - must be understaffed.

We ordered chicken and fries, as well as a pizza. They tasted pretty good, but they were SLOW; it was almost 45 minutes to an hour before we got our food, and we did notice that the kitchen was very inefficient.

After that we went to the front desk and checked on the wifi situation, and we were told that the router had been reset once that day but that might not have cured the issue. Needless to say, we had no wifi for the entire night (unless I sat AT the reception).

OK motel, but if you travel further then there might be better choices.

Wifi rating: 0/5 - never worked in the room, ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Not a pleasant place to stay but no other choice in Labrador on the way to Red Bay. Only good point is the hotel is very close to the ferry. Hotel rooms and restaurant are in need of major upgrade. Staff on the front desk not very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Went on a Newfoundland and Labrador 12 day tour with McCarthy's Party (highly recommended), and stayed just one night in Labrador at the Northern Light Inn. Basic accomodations, but clean. Staff were friendly, and gave our group a couple of nice touches - a Mug Up when we first arrived, and a refreshing punch when we checked in. Not a lot to do, but we had fantastic views of icebergs in the bay. If travelling solo, it really is the only option for overnight accomodation on the Labrador side of the ferry to Blanc Sablon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankerboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here in order to visit Red Bay Basque Whaling Station. Very hospitable staff, very clean place and dinner and breakfast were delicious. We were with a tour and our Tour Manager, Michael promised us great food. Thanks for a great visit. We had a bit of a Canada Day party there and it was cool to be in Labrador for July 1st. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBherewecome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse au Clair
17.5 mi away
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
#1 of 2 in Blanc-Sablon
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Property: Northern Light Inn
Address: 58 Main St, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > L'Anse au Clair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Anse au Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn is the largest hotel in southern Labrador with 70 rooms, 5 housekeeping units, and an RV site to cater to the traveling public. The hotel also houses a family-style restaurant, lounge, gift shop, and conference facilities. With quality service as the utmost priority, the Northern Light Inn is proud to offer clean, comfortable accommodations, along with delicious meals and friendly service. The Northern Light Inn is where Labrador begins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel l`Anse Au Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing