We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed here for five nights and I was NOT ready to leave! Libby and Dave are the fantastic hosts of this adorable and welcoming house that feels just like a home. The hostel is spotless, the beds are comfortable, the included breakfast (with fresh bread made that morning by Libby and Dave) is absolutely delicious. There is also a packed lunch available. More than one night involved a communal dinner with other guests, some locals, and Libby and Dave, followed by a bonfire. One night we even had lobster caught locally a few hours prior. My friend and I had a car, however Libby and Dave were more than happy to drive other guests to the sights that weren't accessible by walking. The Skerwink Trail is practically at the hostels front door, and is completely breathtaking! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee8416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We're so glad you had a great time. Fingers crossed for good kayaking conditions for your next visit in August!
Libby and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

I had such a wonderful stay at the hostel! Everyone was so warm and friendly. The hostel is very clean and the decor is really funky and inviting. It is in a beautiful location. There is a great hiking trail less then a minute walk away. The bread for breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone who is considering it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for the review and we're so happy you had such a good time here! Best of luck with your Toronto adventures! We actually included you guys in our blog post: http://skerwinkhostel.com/2013/06/25/kayaking-out-in-the-bay-and-going-for-a-dip/
Libby and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I recently traveled in Newfoundland from St. John's to Gros Morne and back again through several of the Central and Eastern Loops. Most nights we booked B & B's but found them to be very expensive. We were going to Trinity area to see a Rising Tide play and needed a place to stay. We have never stayed in a hostel before and I was a bit apprehensive about our decision to book a room at the Skerwink Hostel. Our decision to stay with Libby and Dave boosted our Newfoundland trip from "good" to "amazing". Shortly after we booked our room, Dave called our cell back to see if we wanted him to pick up a couple of lobsters for us when he and another guest were at the market so we could have a real lobster dinner. Upon our arrival we were treated as friends rather than guests and were immediately comfortable in their informal but well maintained home. We had a private room and shared a bath room. Both were clean and everything worked as it should. The Skerwink hiking trail is very close by and is certainly one of the best in Newfoundland and they are a less than 10 minute drive to Trinity if you want to see one of the Rising Tide productions. We were welcome to use all of their kitchen facilities and they even helped us cook our lobster dinner. The evenings were spent sitting around the kitchen table talking or playing games in the living room, just like our own home! One of their neighbours, Justin, entertained us with his traditional accordion tunes and told us stories of Newfoundland. He and his stories are one of the highlights of our trip. A place well worth visiting!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the double bed that had a single bunk on top. It was quite comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you! We were delighted to read your review, and Justin was especially happy. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I spent 10 days in Skerwink Hostel and enjoyed every minute of it. Comfortable. clean and creatively decorated common areas, using of washing machine free of charge; breakfast, tea, coffee included. As I didn't have a car, Libby and Dave, the hosts, gave me lifts to walking trails, took me sightseeing and to restaurants and generally treated my like a friend or family member. I found it hard to say good bye!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank ilsara55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thanks! We loved having you here, and we're so glad you enjoyed yourself! Wishing you happy and safe travels, Libby & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I decided to drive back to Port Rexton where a new HI was put up. It was called the Skerwink Hostel. The couple Libby and David bought this a few years ago and decided to put up a hostel. The location was so cute as it felt like you're part of the community, and just right down the hill with a beautiful view out the lounge window or the kitchen door.

I found the whole interior to be cool funky rustic, with lots of personality. The hanging sign in the lounge was something they just found in the woods. Definitely meant for their interior :). The corridors were designed with hanging sketches of newfoundland. The hallway was kept clean and the rooms were all properly prepared.

There's a homey feel but most especially I think it's because of the hosts :) very warm and friendly and would sit and share stories with you. :)

definitely highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jowawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Jowe,
Thank you for the great review! We wish you the best in your travels across Canada-- hope that guitar is full of names of places of gigs. Thank you for your music! Dave and Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at Skerwink Hostel. It is actually our first time to stay in a hostel and our experience was just great. It is in a good location, near the Skerwink trail. Our room was really clean and comfy. The staff are really nice and friendly. Would recommend the place to anyone on a budget but would like a cool place to stay. Would definitely come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi guys,
Thank you very much for your review! We're so happy you had a good time staying with us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Happy summer in Toronto! Dave and Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I had only intended to visit for 2 nights but due to circumstances and the lovely hospitality I could not resist staying for the whole week. It was comfortable and clean, with wonderful views looking out to the water. The homemade bread and jams for breakfast added that touch of small town charm. I was able to borrow their bike and ride around the area. They had a vast array of information on offer at the hostel. The staff are great at helping organise tours in the area. It might look like a sleepy town but there is so much to do here and this hostel makes for a great, affordable and fun base.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhoadse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Rexton
105.0 mi away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
19 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Seaport Inn
Seaport Inn
#2 of 2 in Port Union
23 reviews
20.9 mi away
HI Bonavista Hostel
HI Bonavista Hostel
#6 of 6 in Bonavista
12 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eriksen Premises
Eriksen Premises
#7 of 11 in Trinity
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel

Address: Rocky Hill Road | Trinity East, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Port Rexton
Price Range: £46 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a cozy family hostel within close walking distance to beautiful award winning coastal trails. Your hosts are Martha and Gavin, a young couple who have built a home in rural Newfoundland. We know that feeling of being in a hostel for two minutes and already feeling as though you'd been there your entire life. The Skerwink Hostel is a chill, familiar, and friendly place with lots of hang out areas and communal spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing