We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
52
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvolunteer staffother guestscommon areas areone nighthome away from homeminute driveliving rooma wonderful staybonavista peninsulastay there againmarthatrailtrinitynewfoundlandwhalescanadaquiz
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Nice hostel. very clean. only one bathroom on each floor though. But it seamed to be enough. The kitchen is very well furnished and very clean. Light breakfast offered each day: bread and jams. The Skerwink trail is a 2 min drive down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank French-girl-in-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your review! We're happy you had a nice time and would love to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Gavin and Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

My friend and I are older travellers and we enjoyed this hostel because of the friendly staff, the cleanliness, the location (very close to the Skerwink Trail), and, of course, the price. The hostel is fairly close to Trinity which is a stunningly beautiful and aimed at tourists-- shops, theatre, pubs.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks so much for your kind words we hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Gavin and Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

My husband & I stayed here for two nights. We were able to set up our tent on the hill behind the hostel, which was a great option for us - we had a private sleeping place with a beautiful view but still had access to the hostel's facilities. (Hooray for showers!) The place is very pleasant and clean and I enjoyed the chance to chat with other travelers over a breakfast of coffee and fresh bread with jam. The location is great - walking distance to the Skerwink Trail (well worth seeing) and there's a handy gas station/grocery store nearby. Gavin is a great host & very knowledgeable about the area. When my husband wanted another chance to eat mooseburgers before we left, Gavin knew exactly where to send us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your fantastic review! We love the view from the camping area, it is now September and the blueberries on the hill are out so you can have a snack on your way up! Happy you got a moose burger! Always worth a try.

Warm regards,

Gavin and Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly loved our stay at the Skerwink Hostel. What a lovely little spot. It is basic, incredibly clean and one of the most welcoming places I have ever stayed. It is so close to the Skerwink trail that we were able to check out the trail several times. They have dorm rooms and private rooms. I would definitely recommend this stop for all ages. There is so much to see and do in the area. Make sure you stay for a few days!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ManagementRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for your kind words! The trail is great in either direction, different weather and different times of day. Happy you had the chance to experience it as much a possible. Lots to see and do in the area which is best not rushed.

Warm regards,

Gavin and Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We had a great stay at the Skerwink Hostel!! Martha and Gavin are excellent hosts, they created a warm and welcome environment. The hostel is very clean and well kept. Breakfast is delicious. The location can't be beat, you are literally steps away from the amazing Skerwink Trail.

Thank you Martha and Gavin!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkerwinkHostel, Manager at HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you Daniel for your great review! It was a pleasure having you here and we would love to welcome you again in the future!

Warm regards,

Gavin and Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews