We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Whales Coffee Shop

Two Whales Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Port Rexton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Two Whales is a small, family run, independent coffee shop and restaurant overlooking Robin Hood Bay in the small township of Port Rexton on the Bonavista Peninsula. This is our 8th season in business and our reputation grows every year. According to many of our customers we serve the best espresso coffees on the island - we feel it is a combination of great beans (from Jumping Bean in St John's), our espresso machine, skill, our well water and a bit of Two Whales magic! We serve a range of premium teas and soft drinks including our special homemade organic lemonade. Part of our philosophy is that we do not serve anything that we will not eat or drink ourselves. We serve delicious, healthy vegetarian food and yummy cakes which you can find out about in our menu. Over the years many customers have asked us whether they can have one of our soup or cake recipes so we are publishing a recipe of the month. We use as much organic and/or locally sourced ingredients as we can, make and bake just about everything ourselves in our own kitchen and take great care in what we do. We are now closed for the season - reopening early May 2017.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Perfect place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived at this sweet café in a little wooden house with rain and wind outside. We found a bright and vibrant room, full of people enjoying excellent vegetarian meals, delicious coffee (takeout, too) and yummy baked goods.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    56
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious food and stunning view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

It seems there is a beautiful vista around every turn in this area of Newfoundland, but the one outside the windows of the Two Whales is particularly gorgeous. Inside, the restaurant is simple and beautiful with local artwork on the walls and ample seating.

The food was delicious, and very accommodating for people with food intolerances or allergies - lots of gluten free options here. We had soup with paninis (the blue cheese and pear relish is really yummy) and then couldn't resist a partridgeberry brownie afterwards, which was the real star. We also had french press coffee and a cappuccino, both of which were excellent. After a busy day of tourist activities, the Two Whales really hit the spot, we were both big fans!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really Good Food. Delightful small coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Though this is a small place the home made food was excellent. We had a late lunch of Panini sandwiches First Class. The owners are charming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Incredibly good food. The salad plate was fantastic. The black eyed pea soup was superb. I ate lunch and dinner and had take away dessert (orange cake yum!) and oat and seed bars for the trip home. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best soup and sandwich you will ever eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Sue and Dave run this quaint coffee shop/cafe. They are two of the friendliest people you will ever meet, and the food Sue produces is absolutely delicious. The view from the Two Whales looks out into Robin Hood Bay and there are handy binoculars on the windowsills for whale watching. Local art is displayed on the walls, and is available to buy. Mel, an Australian who works at the Two Whales, is as friendly as they come and makes one of the best lattes this side of Melbourne!
Well worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee8416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Whales Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Trinity, Newfoundland
 

Been to Two Whales Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing