We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing coffee house!”

Two Whales Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Port Rexton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are now closed for the season - reopening May 2018. Two Whales is a small, family run, independent coffee shop and restaurant overlooking Robin Hood Bay in the small township of Port Rexton on the Bonavista Peninsula. This is our 9th season in business and our reputation grows every year. According to many of our customers we serve the best espresso coffees on the island - we feel it is a combination of great beans (from Jumping Bean in St John's), our espresso machine, skill, our well water and a bit of Two Whales magic! We serve a range of premium teas and soft drinks including our special homemade organic lemonade. Part of our philosophy is that we do not serve anything that we will not eat or drink ourselves. We serve delicious, healthy vegetarian food and yummy cakes which you can find out about in our menu. We use as much organic and/or locally sourced ingredients as we can, make and bake just about everything ourselves in our own kitchen and take great care in what we do.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were SO lucky to have found this amazing coffee house. We visited the coffee show 3 times over our 6 day stay and enjoy the food, coffee and amazing surroundings. Thank you for all of your great hospitality - make sure you try the homemade soup and amazing brownies!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TeganMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mediumwolf, Owner at Two Whales Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a great find, absolutly delicious food, in a really charming and friendly venue. We had the soup salad and pannini. This is a place not to be missed if you are in the area.
It's only open until 4pm and closed Tuesday and Wednesday so make sure you arrive on the right day.
Prices are VERY reasonable and the food absolutly wonderful.
Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wildesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mediumwolf, Owner at Two Whales Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, much appreciated. Note that from 22nd June we will be into our summer opening times.... 10am-6pm, 7 days a week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a wonderful change from chain restaurants and fast food. A spectacular location and view coupled with home cooking and you have a winning combination. The service is excellent and the ambience is rustic which provides for a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Topsailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mediumwolf, Owner at Two Whales Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The food is delicious, made with fresh, healthy ingredients. Coffee is excellent and great desserts. The ambience and view are second to none and you have the opportunity to enjoy art on display from local artists.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Who'd a thunk it, best espresso I've had on the island and vegan desserts for the vegan boy.

Well worth a visit. Nice shop, nice people and amazing coffee around the corner from where I'm staying. The happiest coincidence possible.

Thank Veganguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Whales Coffee Shop also viewed

Trinity, Newfoundland
Trinity, Newfoundland
 

Been to Two Whales Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing