We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as Usual”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rexton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Rexton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the Fishers Loft early July. We have stayed there before and the service is still worth the money. The rooms are very clean and the views are wonderful. They have binoculars and hiking sticks in the room for patrons use.
We hiked the Skerwink Trail and had a picnic overlooking a harbour with whales playing just in front of us. The caplin were rolling on the beach and there was an iceberg just behind us. It was truly awesome.
We had breakfast at the Fishers Loft the next morning and the partridge berry waffle's were so good.

Room Tip: Request Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank abbottlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Fishers' Loft at the beginning of July, 2014
This was our second visit.

The Inn is unique and offers a warmth and charm that is simply the best in the area if not the province. We stayed in the red building higher on the hill. Great colours, locally made wooden furniture, duvets, binoculars and umbrellas.

I would strongly recommend a hike on the Skerwink trail, rank as one of the top hikes in North America. We saw numerous whales and icebergs at this time of year.

They have recently opened a new conference centre at the very top of the hill that was perfect the meeting I attended.

The restaurant on site is very good but expensive. I would recommend a drive to the Bonavista Social Club which is a fantastic new restaurant about 25 minutes away. You will need reservations!

Room Tip: Red house on hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WTW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

There were a number of older homes restored. The one we stayed in had the reception area on the main level with two rooms above. The one with the dining room also had rooms above. There were at least two others with rooms only. They are a distance apart with walking paths.
They were casual and immaculate. We could see the ocean from our bedroom window and the breezes blew through the windows. In the distance, the fog horn was blowing as it was a foggy evening. What a truly Newfoundland experience.
We dined in the dining room and the food was delicious -we never get cod like this in Saskatchewan..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Teri567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for one night at the Fisher's Loft (it's in Port Rexton but only a 5-10 min drive away from Trinity which is a historical town and has a theater night).

The rooms were fabulous and the service was great. They also provide binoculars so go out on the cliff and look for whales - we were there when the caplin were rolling in, and we saw A TON of them just off the coast.

You're also right next to the Skerwink trail which is a MUST DO.

The only disappointment was that we did the set dinner (appetizer/main/dessert) for $56 per person+ tax and we were expecting some great fresh local seafood. Unfortunately, we got farmed salmon (which we can easily get back home in Ontario).

There IS a moratorium on salmon fishing, so it's virtually impossible to get any wild salmon, but the chef could have done SO MANY other things! Cod, squid, scallops, crab, lobster, mackrel. Anything!

Farmed fish was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LindsTzrak1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is very professionally run with pursuit of perfection obviously the goal. The various buildings are situated on a hill overlooking Port Ruxton and Trinity Bay and we felt that the village itself is more authentic than Trinity and the location is truly beautiful. The house we were in is at the highest level; our rooms (2 couples) very comfortable with wonderful beds. The food, though a bit pricey, is delicious, of the highest quality, both dinner and breakfast. The service was excellent and everyone seemed so happy to make us welcome. We stayed 2 nights and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happytrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Fishers’ Loft in the Conference House on a very recent visit. Although the location was beautiful and the facility was well kept, it did lack a sense of something special. The rooms were comfortable but without the welcoming feel we often have experienced in Newfoundland. In fact the room seemed almost monastic in its starkness. Although this is a matter of taste there are three factual problems with the facility. First there is no elevator in the Conference House and the rooms are on the second floor which can be a problem. Second, this was the only hotel/inn in which we stayed that did not have room darkening shades; sunrise is very early. Third, there is no AC and despite a fan, the room was less than comfortable.

Room Tip: Be aware of lack of elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SJayinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The beauty of this place is overwhelming from the moment you turn off the road. The reception area is in it's own building on a gravel road as you enter. We were warmly greeted and introduced to the property and our room.

After a very short drive on another gravel cart path we came to one of several houses that would be where we found our room. The older home, beautifully restored, was surrounded by lush gardens forever views.

The room was nicely furnished with sea views on two sides. The bath was large and clean.

The only thing keeping Fisher's Loft from a five star review is the thin walls. The guest upstairs was having an afternoon nap while I was reading in the room below. I could hear him snoring! I wouldn't complain about snoring but that is an indication of just how little sound it takes to be heard in another room. Arriving guests talking to each other in the hall sounded as if they were in the room with us. The Inn's website asks guests to be considerate of others and keep the noise down, credit to them for that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Rexton
1.7 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eriksen Premises
Eriksen Premises
#7 of 11 in Trinity
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
42 reviews
21.2 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
127 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove

Address: Mill Road, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador AOC 2HO, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Rexton
Price Range: £66 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fishers` Loft Inn By Ship Cove Hotel Port Rexton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing