We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive to Port Rexton!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Rexton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Rexton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the drive to Port Rexton!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Take your binoculars...actually scratch that as they have thought of everything and they are found provided in your room. You will need them to watch the whales if you are visiting in July when the caplin run. We had a magical hike on the Skerwink Trail, started out in the fog and could hear the exhale of the whales blowholes through the mist...it lifted, the sun came out and we sat on the cliff watching them for hours. The next turn on the hike served us up an iceberg and we couldn't have asked for anything more! The next day we took in the small town of Trinity, one of the most historical towns in Nfld. so a must walkabout, the grave stones in the cemetary date back to 1700's.
Also the short drive up to Bonavista is a must where the cape showcases the provinces oldest lighthouse and there are lots of whales playing up there too. Stop on the way to watch puffins. Make your way down to Amherst Cove the Bonvista Social Club and have lunch or dinner by the sea with a great view and the best rubarb lemonade and moose burgers around. Fun Fact-The fellow who started this restaurant made all the furniture that is in the rooms at the Fishers Loft.
Back to the Fishers Loft- quaint, cozy, clean, comfortable, fantastic food, friendly staff, great scenery and just a real authenitc taste of what Newfoundland has to offer.

Room Tip: take hiking shoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    44
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
192
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland,
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the Fishers Loft early July. We have stayed there before and the service is still worth the money. The rooms are very clean and the views are wonderful. They have binoculars and hiking sticks in the room for patrons use.
We hiked the Skerwink Trail and had a picnic overlooking a harbour with whales playing just in front of us. The caplin were rolling on the beach and there was an iceberg just behind us. It was truly awesome.
We had breakfast at the Fishers Loft the next morning and the partridge berry waffle's were so good.

Room Tip: Request Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbottlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Fishers' Loft at the beginning of July, 2014
This was our second visit.

The Inn is unique and offers a warmth and charm that is simply the best in the area if not the province. We stayed in the red building higher on the hill. Great colours, locally made wooden furniture, duvets, binoculars and umbrellas.

I would strongly recommend a hike on the Skerwink trail, rank as one of the top hikes in North America. We saw numerous whales and icebergs at this time of year.

They have recently opened a new conference centre at the very top of the hill that was perfect the meeting I attended.

The restaurant on site is very good but expensive. I would recommend a drive to the Bonavista Social Club which is a fantastic new restaurant about 25 minutes away. You will need reservations!

Room Tip: Red house on hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WTW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

There were a number of older homes restored. The one we stayed in had the reception area on the main level with two rooms above. The one with the dining room also had rooms above. There were at least two others with rooms only. They are a distance apart with walking paths.
They were casual and immaculate. We could see the ocean from our bedroom window and the breezes blew through the windows. In the distance, the fog horn was blowing as it was a foggy evening. What a truly Newfoundland experience.
We dined in the dining room and the food was delicious -we never get cod like this in Saskatchewan..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for one night at the Fisher's Loft (it's in Port Rexton but only a 5-10 min drive away from Trinity which is a historical town and has a theater night).

The rooms were fabulous and the service was great. They also provide binoculars so go out on the cliff and look for whales - we were there when the caplin were rolling in, and we saw A TON of them just off the coast.

You're also right next to the Skerwink trail which is a MUST DO.

The only disappointment was that we did the set dinner (appetizer/main/dessert) for $56 per person+ tax and we were expecting some great fresh local seafood. Unfortunately, we got farmed salmon (which we can easily get back home in Ontario).

There IS a moratorium on salmon fishing, so it's virtually impossible to get any wild salmon, but the chef could have done SO MANY other things! Cod, squid, scallops, crab, lobster, mackrel. Anything!

Farmed fish was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindsTzrak1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is very professionally run with pursuit of perfection obviously the goal. The various buildings are situated on a hill overlooking Port Ruxton and Trinity Bay and we felt that the village itself is more authentic than Trinity and the location is truly beautiful. The house we were in is at the highest level; our rooms (2 couples) very comfortable with wonderful beds. The food, though a bit pricey, is delicious, of the highest quality, both dinner and breakfast. The service was excellent and everyone seemed so happy to make us welcome. We stayed 2 nights and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Fishers’ Loft in the Conference House on a very recent visit. Although the location was beautiful and the facility was well kept, it did lack a sense of something special. The rooms were comfortable but without the welcoming feel we often have experienced in Newfoundland. In fact the room seemed almost monastic in its starkness. Although this is a matter of taste there are three factual problems with the facility. First there is no elevator in the Conference House and the rooms are on the second floor which can be a problem. Second, this was the only hotel/inn in which we stayed that did not have room darkening shades; sunrise is very early. Third, there is no AC and despite a fan, the room was less than comfortable.

Room Tip: Be aware of lack of elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJayinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Rexton
1.8 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
1.7 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#5 of 11 in Trinity
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
103 reviews
11.6 mi away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
17 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#9 of 11 in Trinity
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove

Property: Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove
Address: Mill Road, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador AOC 2HO, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Rexton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Rexton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fishers' Loft Inn by Ship Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Fishers` Loft Inn By Ship Cove Hotel Port Rexton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing