We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quirpon Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quirpon Lighthouse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We went for a single night as a family, two adults, two 16-y boys. The atmosphere was magic, with the island's ruggedness and isolation. We had time to hike for 90 minutes upon arrival and glad we did because the early check-out at 10am combined with the breakfast starting at 8am didn't left much time the following morning. According to us, specially considering the high cost, the check-out is way too early and should be at 11am (or even at 1pm to allow to get the lunch); with a check-in at 5pm it seems to us as enough time to do the rooms... It looks however that early arrival or late departure can be arranged; wish we had known that...

The diner was really excellent (Jigg's dinner and strawberry cake); the breadfast was good but not outstanding (the bread and jams were great however).

It rained late evening (very windy) and a little in the morning ... as we had hoped (adds to the atmosphere!). The staff is very kind as mentionned by others.

The boys were offered by Ed to kayak back to mainland if weather (wind) was ok, and it was; they really enjoyed that 75 min (6 miles?) part of the trip.

We all loved our too short journey on the Island

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoplavie450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    8
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This property is rated 4 star. In my opinion 2.5 would be more accurate. There is no debating that the location and scenery could get the rating however the accomodations fall short. The house we were in had absolutely no ventelation. Storm windows are on and the only vents are a 9" x 1.5" opening at the bottom of each window. There was not a mini fridge or cooler in the house we were in, only water to drink. Since you are on an island and only allowed to bring a limited amount a supply of cold drinks would have been appreciated. The bed was average but all other 4 star accomodations we stayed at had very comfortable beds and linens. We paid $375.00 for a stay from 4:00 pm until 10:00 am, got dinner which was an average cod dinner and scrambled egg breakfast. Ride over was in as old fishing boat not the zodiac and the sauna which is advertised never got built. Definately over priced and over rated for the lack of ammenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The setting is beautiful and the hospitality warm. We enjoyed the company of numerous whales and dolphins on our initial zodiac ride to the island and we watched them from the cliffs of the island until the sun set that evening.

The island is larger than I expected, with several trails across the tundra and cliffs to explore. There are also otters and foxes living on the island. You can easily fill a couple of days here.

We stayed in a former light keeper's house that is in a separate building from the main inn. Our accommodations were charmingly simple and they were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The meals were excellent and the food plentiful (which was good because we had worked up quite an appetite)! Those who wanted 2nds (or 3rds) were invited into the kitchen to help themselves.

Tip: Pack light (or pack a separate bag for Quirpon) because the zodiac isn't all that large. However, be sure to include some warm clothes and wet weather gear even if the day is warm and sunny. The wind can be surprisingly chilly and the weather can change rapidly. However, even in the fog the island was delightful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Traveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent 2 nights at Quirpon Lighthouse Inn and it was the highlight of our two-week trip to Newfoundland.

The setting is absolutely breathtaking - after a 25 minute Zodiac ride from the mainland we landed on an island that was completely deserted, other than the guests from the inn (it is a small inn, so there were less than 20 people there).

We were welcomed with tea, coffee and homemade baked goods and made to feel right at home.The inn is rustic but completely comfortable. It is the views and people who work there that made the stay so memorable. We saw more whales than we could ever have imagined. There were many places to whale-watch: the helipad, the rocks, the kitchen (and I saw whales from the bathroom window at dawn one day). We climbed down the rocks and sat in the sun and watched them frolic for hours. It was just incredible. We also saw icebergs, although they were fairly small. The terrain of the island is also memorable; very rugged and beautiful.

The guests came from all over the world; I think because the inn is so unusual, it attracted a wide range of travelers. The meals, which are eaten at a big table with all guests present, were interesting because of the wide variety of backgrounds.

The trip was made especially memorable because of Ed, who owns the inn. He was just a fascinating host, with all kinds of information about the island and Newfoundland in general. He also had more energy than any one person should have; he seemed absolutely tireless and spent all his days taking people out on kayak rides or hikes around the island. After he had spent a morning spent ocean kayaking with some of the guests, he encouraged my daughter to try kayaking and cheerfully took her out again (and kayaking involves quite a long walk before reaching the kayaks, so this took a couple of hours of his time). She really enjoyed it, so it was much appreciated.

Ed was also very helpful when I booked the trip; I was travelling with my elderly parents and was concerned that if the weather was rough they would not be able to hike in from the alternate landing site. Ed told me that if that occurred, they would refund our deposit and find us alternate accommodation off the island, which was very generous of him. As it happened, the weather was perfect so the situation did not arise.

The other staff - Doris and Madonna - were equally welcoming, We had moose stew for lunch one day (delicious, as was the cod for dinner) and they made a grilled cheese sandwich for my daughter in case she didn't like the stew (she did, but she liked the grilled cheese as well). No danger of anyone going hungry at the inn.

When we left we felt like we were leaving friends behind. We are all still talking about our all-too-brief stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

As with most things in life, a vacation is all about managing one's expectations and Quirpon Island exceeded all of ours. If you are looking for a getaway that is off the beaten track and allows you to unwind and experience the rugged natural beauty of Newfoundland and observe its' amazing wildlife, flora and fauna, as opposed to a taking a slick, packaged tour of "The Rock" then be sure to visit Quirpon Island. But be forewarned; this is not a Westin hotel in the city and you should not expect it be. There is no room service, no luxury shops and no concierge. What there is are comfortable clean rooms, home-cooked filling meals and a wonderful opportunity to get away from it all and explore a little piece of paradise.

Having read a number of reviews of Quirpon we were well prepared for our experience and packed accordingly. It can be cold and rainy so be prepared. Warm clothes, a good pair of hiking shoes and rain jacket and pants are essentials. Also pack lightly and be prepared to do some walking. Although it was foggy, chilly and wet during our entire stay, we dressed accordingly and had a wonderful time. Indeed, being enshrouded in fog, on a unpopulated island, listening to the mournful sound of the fog horn and the ocean crashing on the rocky cliffs below was a magical and unforgettable experience!

We were fortunate to have the owner of the Inn, Ed English present during our stay. Ed is an extremely engaging, entertaining host who embodies the down home hospitality of Newfoundland. He is not only warm and witty, he also possesses a compendious knowledge of the history and lore of the area. Ed joined us for every meal and regaled us with stories and anecdotes about life in Newfoundland. We laughed and learned and thoroughly enjoyed our time together. Ed also took us sea kayaking. We were newbies at it and very nervous, but Ed patiently allayed our fears and taught us how to maneuver in the open ocean while giving a running commentary about the Humpbacks, seals and birds we encountered. A more pleasant and interesting host would be hard to find and observing whales up close and personal in a sea kayak is an experience to cherish.

Meals at the Inn are shared with the other guests and we enjoyed the fellowship of several like minded couples who had come in search of a different vacation. The staff, Madonna, Doris and Mariah, cooked and served delicious and traditional meals and were always ready with cookies, treats and heartfelt hugs. We have never felt so welcomed or at home as we did for our three day visit.

The island is a starkly beautiful getaway from modern life, with no cell service, Internet, TV or radio. The landscape is pure magic, with craggy coastline, surging seas, quiet coves and heathland that calms the soul. As one who is always connected to technology, I can honestly say, that I have never felt more relaxed and refreshed as during my visit on Quirpon Island. We spent many hours watching the Humpback and Minke whales feeding offshore as well as viewing pods of seal and dolphins swimming by. There was plenty of bird life and a family of foxes to observe as well.

We can't recommend this experience highly enough and would say this to prospective guests...a stay at Quirpon Island is a cathartic and soulful experience that is to be enjoyed as such. Check your expectations at the door and embrace this wonderful place. It is an experience that you will carry with you for years to come.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhurst, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of my Newfoundland trip. For me , it was the highlight of the trip. Its so different, so peaceful, you have to relax.

I will say that we had to land in a little cove 6 kms from the inn, due to weather and we had to walk about 1 and half kms to a little vehicle which took us the rest of the way. They are planning to lay a track to enable the vehicle to collect people from the cove.

There are no trees, no people , no shops, no tv in the room, my mobile didnt work, just the sea, and the peace, perfect.

My room was lovely, private bathroom, although it was cold when I went, it was warm and cosy.
All the food is included, there is no choice as such, but they do try to ou for you, and it was all freshly cooked. They are also licenced, with small choice of wine, beers and spirits.

I did go hoping to see whales (they have a little glassed watching area) but they were a little shy , but I walked and read, and enjoyed good conversation.

The ladies who are at the inn permanently while there are guests are wonderful, they give you a great big Newfoundland hug and its like you are part of their family for a short time.

This is not for everyone, it can be difficult walking to get to the Inn, it can be bleak and foggy, there is none of the 21st century electronics, but it is a very special place, I for one feel privileged to have shared it, and hope it doesnt change.

Room Tip: They are all nice, you can book out the whole place for family gatherings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Although we had a rough sea as we got in and I got wet and cold, the warmth of the inn and the staff made me forget about that. The smell of freshly baked applepie and a hot coffee made me feel at home! It was an amazing stay. Two incredible friendly ladies as hosts and spectaculor nature. It was relaxing! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quirpon Island
0.1 mi away
Dreamcatcher Lodge
Dreamcatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Stephenville
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Stephenville
Days Inn Stephenville
#1 of 2 in Stephenville
172 reviews
251.9 mi away
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Quirpon Island
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Pirate's Haven ATV Friendly RV Park, Chalets & Adventures
Show Prices

Been to Quirpon Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirpon Lighthouse Inn

Property: Quirpon Lighthouse Inn
Address: 1 Main St, Quirpon Island, Newfoundland and Labrador A2N 6G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Quirpon Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Quirpon Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quirpon Lighthouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Quirpon Lighthouse Hotel Quirpon Island
Quirpon Lighthouse Inn Quirpon Island, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing