We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quirpon Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quirpon Lighthouse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

If you are willing to hike for 2 hours (6km hike) along rocky, muddy and difficult trails, this is the one for you. The weather was particularly gloomy and the water rough, so we were not able to dock closer to the inn. We were told that the staff would meet us at the dock to help with our belongings, but didn't get help until we were well over halfway to the inn. The signs to the inn were few and far in between, and especially difficult to find on a gloomy day. So, we were in the middle of nowhere for awhile there after docking. There was nobody around to guide us. We didn't have any signal on our cellphone. The couple who came with us, barely had cellphone signal either. We were lucky to contact the inn to get better directions. We had to call a number of times to get directions. They were nonchalant about the whole thing. When we finally reached there, the inn was welcoming - it was nice and warm compared to the ordeal we had to go through. The staff was nice. We saw whales the following day, but only upon being informed by the staff/owner that they were indeed whales. You could only see very little of the whales - just a very little part of the back of the whales, not even a tail or the fin, or the head. If you didn't know any better, you would have thought it was just a dolphin or possibly porpoises. For the price they charge, the disappointing view of the whales, and the inconvenience we had to go through, it wasn't worth it. You can see whales elsewhere in Newfoundland. Oh, and by the way, you will be charged for the room whether or not you decide to stay. We contemplated on cancelling our reservation that day due to rainy weather, but had to go anyway, because of their no cancellation policy. So, if you are willing to take the risk and prepared to hike 6km on difficult trail, then this is for you. Otherwise, think twice. I don't know if you can cancel your reservation a few days prior to arrival. If yes, then best to check the weather forecast first and the tide prior to arrival.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbc1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quirpon, Owner at Quirpon Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Unfortunately, these guests arrived in a severe fall storm and had to come into our remote landing and both our ATVs were down. After hearing their report I took the following steps to ensure this bad experience is never repeated: 1. The following day we tripled the number of trail markers and signs. 2. Last summer we were already in the process of building a boardwalk/trail the length of the island for walking and ATV shuttles, in case others have to make this walk in stormy fall weather. Over the winter the remaining lumber to complete the boardwalk sections was brought out to the island to complete it this summer. 3. I have hired a new person solely responsible for guest experiences to help visitors enjoy their trip to the island as thoroughly as we always hoped they would.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    7
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

stayed at the Quirpon lighthouse inn for 2 nights. you really need to stay 2 nights as the boat picks you up at 4pm and drops you off at 10am. it was an amazing experience that we won't soon forget. we had to hike about 4 miles to get there so make sure you travel light as that can be an unpleasant hike otherwise. the inn itself was the perfect retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of NY and recharge the batteries. the meals were outstanding and the hospitality unsurpassed. the hosts truly made us feel welcome and at home here. i wished i had booked another night here as we saw humpback whales from the sitting room window and had some great hikes. we had to walk 2km to get the boat out, so make sure you bring proper raingear to keep out possible harsh Newfoundland weather. this remote inn on 'the isle of deamons'- there are books written about it, was one of the highlights of our trip. fyi- the inn offers wines and cold beer for $25 and $4 so keep that in mind when packing as i brought a bottle of wine that i didnt have to bring. this place is very relaxing and the other people that stayed here were alot of fun so we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinholds, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Imagine: The boat picks up 8 passengers at the dock in town; we were mostly all chatting and friendly. The half hour trip to the island shows us sea birds and a brief spotting of a Minke whale but the seas are a bit rough so we learn that we cannot dock at the little harbor on the island but must go around to another cove. We have a 40 minute walk over the bog to get to the lighthouse (bags are transported for us) and the views are gorgeous plus we play peek-a-boo with a Harbor seal. The staff welcome us with open arms and friendly smiles and cups of tea and a snack. We are shown to our rooms. I traveled with my 24 yo daughter and we had a large comfortable room with a queen bed and a fouton and a perfect bathroom.
All of the meals are served in the dining room where we all sit at a long table. The food was plentiful and tasty and the conversation and stories flowed naturally. The kitchen is open for tea as desired.
We hiked around the close areas the first night and positioned ourselves to watch the beautiful painted sky awe us with a Newfoundland sunset as only the far north can show. Labrador and a lone iceberg were visible in the distance. The sunset was followed by the moon rising but first we went inside to talk and read and just glow in the being together in this incredible place.
The next day and night we were encased in fog. The lighthouse light was visible and the foghorn sounded throughout but we got used to both. We still hiked the island seeing many birds and wildflowers and hearing whales but not able to see them. That night we again sat in the common area and listened to our hosts and other guests tell their stories. No kayaking for us but a full, heartfelt day and a good sleep that night, foghorn, light and all.
We left the third day on a small boat and were barely able to leave from the little harbor as the sea was again getting rough. The staff sent us off with hugs and new friends walked us to the cove and again sent us off with hugs and smiles. Spray reminded us how cold the water was. We travelled with at least 8 Minke whales and took plenty of time to watch them breech and feed with their baleen skimming. There were only 4 of us on the return and we couldn't stop grinning and exclaiming "look!" and "oh!" We had a truly fabulous Newfoundland experience in all its rugged beauty, weather, storytelling hospitality and I can't wait to bring my husband back.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midweifathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newfoundland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2009

This has to be the most beautiful place in North America. We live in Newfoundland & did not know what we were missing. Friends have been about 10 years trying to get us to go to this island. I am so sorry we did not go sooner. The 7 KM walk across the island was beautiful and then we were greated by Doris & MaDonna, who had lunch prepared for us upon our arrival. The view of the ocean, whales & plant life is beyond belief. We will be returning in 2010 and would like to say a very special thank you to Jerry, Hubert, Doris & MaDonna for making our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tx
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Our 2 night stay at Quirpon was the highlight of a wonderful trip to Newfoundland. The trip to the island itself is almost worth it. We saw dolphins and whales along the way. The island was beautiful and the hiking was marvelous too. And then there was the marvelous staff (Jerry, Madonna, Doris, Hubert, & many more) who went out of their way to make this an exception stay. The Jiggs Dinner was one I'll remember for a long, long time. The time spent talking with other travelers around the table also made for a memorable experience. It might seem expensive when you're booking, but it is worth every single penny.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2009

What an awsome Island,We visited the 4th of July on our Honeymoon in 2007. I did not tell my husband about this Island untill we were on the small boat. When we began toward the Island and he started seeing Ice burgs I could tell he was over whelmed. We will be leaving tomorrow for our 3rd trip in a row the Island feels like a part of us. The staff have made us feel like part of them and we never wanted for any thing. Take plenty of film we have watched hundreads of hrs. of footage since our first trip and call the Island "Our Island" . You will feel an escape like no other when you visit and a longing to return again when you leave I would stay at least 3 night's.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationnut47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Without a doubt newfoundlands best kept secret.
I loved everything about this place, the wee boat that takes you over to the island, the short walk uphill surrounded by fog and if its been raining MUD!!.
Its all part of the experience, after all you are at the north of newfoundland.
Unfortunately we didnt see any whales but we werent disappointed we knew they were out there as the owner of the island had kayaked over to see us( It only took him an hour and a half in the worst fog! ) and spotted some in the distance (how?!)
But we did see an iceberg! in the middle of June!
As far as remote island experiences go this one must be one of the best. The people, the location, the lighthouse appeal and the chance to see some amazing wildlife make this place what it is. A must do in Newfoundland.
It worth the drive from Deer lake and while youre up there you might as well visit the L'anse aux meadows viking settlement

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — long drive to deer lake!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highflyer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quirpon Island
0.1 mi away
Dreamcatcher Lodge
Dreamcatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Stephenville
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Stephenville
Days Inn Stephenville
#1 of 2 in Stephenville
175 reviews
251.9 mi away
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Quirpon Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Pirate's Haven ATV Friendly RV Park, Chalets & Adventures
Show Prices

Been to Quirpon Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirpon Lighthouse Inn

Property: Quirpon Lighthouse Inn
Address: 1 Main St, Quirpon Island, Newfoundland and Labrador A2N 6G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Quirpon Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Quirpon Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quirpon Lighthouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Quirpon Lighthouse Hotel Quirpon Island
Quirpon Lighthouse Inn Quirpon Island, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing