We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Time to Climb the Mountain”

Gros Morne National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$606.46*
and up
Historic Boat Tour on Bonne Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Take Time to Climb the Mountain”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We chose Norris Point as our base for exploring the park on our four-day visit. We toured Western Brook Pond, hiked the Tablelands, visited the Lobster Cove lighthouse, and climbed Gross Morne Mountain. On mountain day, we were at the trail head by 8am. We (me, my spouse, and our 10 year old daughter) had a leisurely hike 4km to the decision point. Then we climbed 4km through the scree field to the top of the mountain. We made it to the top by about 1pm. We had a quick lunch (that we brought with us -- no amenities at the summit, not even a garbage can, everything you take up you take back down) and then descended 4km back to the decision point via the back of the mountain. We then retraced our steps 4km back to the trail head. We got back to the car about 7pm. It was a full day but the experience, and the views, were worth it. The climb was restricted to well-blazed mountain trails. It was long and exhausting but not technically challenging at all. We wore light hiking shoes (Merrells) rather than running shoes but no special hiking equipment (we did bring safety items such as a compass, first aid kit, etc.) We also carried 2 litres of water each and it was just enough.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank TorontoJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    56
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gros Morne National Park.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

World class hiking, scenery, mountains and sea shore. Geological wonders at Tablelands, hiking Gros Morne mounting offers amazing views

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stoneystone68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gros Morne .. a trip worth 4 to 8 days!!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This National Park is worth a visit all on its own .. if you can, make this a destination that you do not have to leave just too see the rest of the the provence.! Choose a spot to stay that you can day trip from and then just enjoy !! We choose Ocean Atlantic Cottages in Norris Point for the full 9 nights . These cottages were not only new (fantastic !!) , with Debbie and her wonderful staff ,they also had a spectacular view of Bonne Bay and the Tablelands. They were a great place to begin each day trip .. to Cows Head, Western Brook Pond, the Tablelands, Trout River Pond Green Gardens , Overlook Falls , Rocky Harbour etc. . By not even thinking about doing the rest of the province (we had done most of it in 2 previous trips) we were able to fully enjoy the treks , the cruises, the people found in this region of Newfound Land.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in Cow head and woody point and which was perfect to explore this park, western brook pond was beautiful, lots to do,we viewed moose up close right in the town of Cow Head took in professional live theatre hiked the beach cant wait to return in the future

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank compguy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
946 reviews
477 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibits”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Was very impressed with all the excellent exhibits here. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. History, art, local crafts -- did enjoy all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gros Morne National Park also viewed

Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
 

Been to Gros Morne National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing