We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply, the best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply, the best!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Our hostess Vera made our stay very memorable. Not hard to see why they are rated so highly. Fantastic breakfasts! Our hosts were very gracious, buying the salads and lobsters for a traditional "boil up" - a highlight of our time in Newfoundland. Highly recommended place to stay. An excellent B and B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTravelPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Only one night at Anchor Down but we were sorry it wasn't longer. It was excellent. Great location, lovely place. spotless too. Dave and Vera are extremely warm and welcoming - would recommend them them highly and to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMNJ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A wonderful B&B. Very lovely home, with a super large kitchen. Dave and Vera put on a 5star breakfast. All guests can fit at the two lovely large tables, which allowed us to chat and exchange stories. A very nice area outside with lots of comfy chairs to enjoy a drink with other guests in the evening. Our room was very nice, comfy bed and very clean. Vera is a sweetheart, and so helpful. I would highly recommend this B&B. However, don't go to Sylvia's B&B down the road. It was the worse experience I have ever had, Sylvia's in the wrong business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This B and B met all our expectations: spacious room, ensuite bathroom, great home-cooked breakfasts, lovely living room where we could meet other guests, and friendly hosts, Dave and Vera. The location was perfect for exploring Gros Morne National Park and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Although Vera and Dave were out when we arrived, we had immediate access to our room, and later enjoyed a nice long chat. Very friendly. Room was large and comfortable, with very good bed. Breakfast in the cosy kitchen with all the visitors, all cheerful and chatty. Walking distance (15 minutes) from the Main Street where we enjoyed dinner at the Ocean View Hotel (whose rooms were much more expensive!)

Room Tip: We had Room C by the entrance door, lots of room. Rooms are A,N,C,H,O,R!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Vera and Dave's Anchor Down B&B was beyond our expectations of what a bed and breakfast is. Hearty breakfasts in a lovely kitchen and Dave's coffee is barista quality! Great to wake up to and it is available at 0700 hrs. They are very helpful with all tourist type needs, reservations etc. The bed is very comfortable, nice linens and bathroom is roomy. The house is lovely and location is close to the harbour. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Knitted slippers in a basket by the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 823EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Book early and arrange your Newfoundland holiday around your stay at Anchor Down. Vera and Dave made us feel right at home. The rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts were wonderful, and Vera happily accommodated my special dietary needs. They gave us information about restaurants, walks, nearby attractions, and lovely little coastline places to explore. We stayed at several different B&B's while touring Newfoundland, but Anchor Down was, hands down, the best. We were lucky to have had our longest stay here!

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
12.3 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
4.6 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
23.8 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Address: 84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom 4 star Bed & Breakfast with all en suites, we are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park, close to all amenities and park attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing