We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newfoundland Hospitality at its Best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Okanagan Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Newfoundland Hospitality at its Best”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This B&B is excellent in every way. Vera is a wonderful cook and a charming individual who displays such genuine caring and kindness toward each individual guest. The B&B is very well laid out and the rooms are well equipped to accommodate one's every need and is centrally located in Rocky Harbour. The food is superb and the breakfast dining room is bright, cheery and attractively furnished. Dave and Vera are superb ambassadors for both Rocky Harbour and Gros Morne alike. This B&B is one of my very favourite B&Bs of all I have stayed in. It is NL hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernLite16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
86
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Anchor Down B&B was simply fantastic! Extremely clean, beautiful kitchen area and common area as well. Such charming and welcoming hosts (Vera and Dave) and the most delicious breakfast around (creme brulee french toast!). HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We will never forget our first stay in a B&B! Vera and Dave are so warm-hearted! You really feel at ease and at home. The first thing we noticed when we entered the building was how clean everything is: the hallway, the rooms and the large bathroom with the super white bedlinnen and towels. If you need anything, just ask and Vera and Dave will take care of it. Super breakfast, lovely served with all the guests at 8.00 h sharp. Book this B&B in the lovely small town of Rocky Harbour, centrally located for the Gros Morne N.P.
Too bad it takes such a long journey from The Netherlands to them otherwise I am sure we would have booked our second stay already!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda74L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Excellent choice for Rocky Harbour and Gros Morne. Very welcoming hosts with good suggestions for things to do in the area. We had a large room off the setting room with a comfortable queen-sized bed. Breakfast is at 8:00 for everyone, and there is always a good selection with more than ample quantities. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torontoseniors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Anchor Down was simply our home away from home!
Gracious hosts, Vera and Dave. Awesome breakfast each day. The early morning that DH hiked Gros Morn Mountain, Vera saw him all packed up to hike , stopped him and packed him pancakes and beans to eat before the hike. So nice!
Room was comfortable, large washroom ensuite . Guests have total access to living room, kitchen and dining room. These provided wonderful , comfortable areas for guests to mingle and get to know each other...in addition to the outside patio, tables and chairs. Breakfast each morning was amazing and Vera makes the BEST partridgeberry and bakeapple jams of any of the many B&B's we stayed in on our month long trip. We made nice friends while staying here. We went to the Anchors Aweigh show together as a group and had a great time. Wish we could have stayed longer. Also took the Western Pond Boat tour, which was well worth it. Bonne Bay Marine Station was worth the tour as well. Black flies and mosquitos were plentiful in Gros Morne NP, so bring repellant!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em-T-sails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Our hostess Vera made our stay very memorable. Not hard to see why they are rated so highly. Fantastic breakfasts! Our hosts were very gracious, buying the salads and lobsters for a traditional "boil up" - a highlight of our time in Newfoundland. Highly recommended place to stay. An excellent B and B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTravelPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Only one night at Anchor Down but we were sorry it wasn't longer. It was excellent. Great location, lovely place. spotless too. Dave and Vera are extremely warm and welcoming - would recommend them them highly and to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMNJ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
93 reviews
23.8 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
219 reviews
12.3 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
23.6 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Address: 84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom 4 star Bed & Breakfast with all en suites, we are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park, close to all amenities and park attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing