We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and well taken care of throughout. Vera And Dave are very friendly people. The rooms, common areas and patio are all quite nice. Breakfast was the best we had on our trip to Western Newfoundland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_In_Comfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Our hosts (Vera and Dave) were incredibly friendly and gave great recommendations for what to see and do in the area. The breakfasts were fantastic and the room was very nice. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Dave and Vera were wonderful hosts. So friendly and they went out of their way to recommend a restaurant and made reservations for an evening of music which we really enjoyed. Lovely home and interesting property with Dave's stonework. Very comfortable and clean. Beautiful breakfast with lots of conversation relating to life in NFLD and interesting information on the area. We would highly recommend staying at the Anchor Down. Irene and Dave Trask, Dartmouth NS.

Room Tip: All bedrooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elmsdale
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Dave and Vera are the most wonderful people. They made us feel welcome the minute we walked through the door. The room was spotless and very comfortable. There are know words to describe the delicious breakfast we had. We stayed for four days and could of stayed longer.Thank you for your hospitality and making us feel like home. We had an awesome trip and we will be back. Ronalda and Percy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronalda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Dave and Vera made us feel at home from the minute we walked in the door. The room was spotless and comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style and delicious. They had lots of tips about what to do and see and where to eat. Thank you for your hospitality and for making our trip to Newfoundland one we will always remember.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very nice B&B, wonderful hosts. Clean, comfortable, good food, very obliging. Sent us off to a evening of fabulous music. Set up is great for travellers. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay there especially if they are going to be taking advantage of the Gros Mourne experience.

Room Tip: You know what you want so go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Anchor Down is indeed a good place to drop anchor for a while. As we bid the cheerful and obliging hosts adieu they were closing for the season so you will now have to wait until May 2014. A little out of the mainstream of Rocky Harbour but still well placed to access all of the important parts of Gros Morne and surrounds. All ground floor accommodations make for easy access and our room was clean, comfortable and simply decorated with a reasonable size bathroom and reliable plumbing. Being a newer building we were spared the creaks and groans that customarily accompany the quaint but old saltbox B&Bs elsewhere in the province. There is a large and relaxing communal living room but no in-room TVs. The trump card here is breakfast: served in one sitting in the spacious dining room @ 8:00AM, each new day yields a new masterpiece and just when you think it can’t get any better it does. The place was still busy even as the season was tapering off – and we now know why.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
100 reviews
23.8 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
4.6 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Address: 84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom 4 star Bed & Breakfast with all en suites, we are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park, close to all amenities and park attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing