We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Rocky Harbour”
Review of Gros Morne Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gros Morne Suites
Thornhill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Rocky Harbour”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I rarely write reviews, but were so impressed by the folks at Gros Morne Suites that we feel compelled to add our two cents. We traveled to Gros Morne for our 11th anniversary and booked late. As such, we were only able to get the suite we wanted for two of our four nights. Although not her fault at all, Jen was very apologetic. As well, we were treated to a wonderful bottle of local Sleeveen blueberry amarone (which was delicious) to enjoy on our anniversary. Aside from the amazing service, the suite was very clean, well appointed and had a great view of Bonne Bay and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. As well, you are a two minute walk from the seafood store at the docks, where you can buy fresh fish and seafood to BBQ on your own balcony. You are also just around the corner from Earle's, which is the best place to dine out in Rocky Harbour. We will definitely stay here next time when we bring our children. Thanks to Jen and her staff for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosMorneSuites, Owner at Gros Morne Suites, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We hope your trip home was a good one. It was a real pleasure meeting you, and we look forward to your return visit with your children!
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Gros Morne Suites.
Arrival was met by the two young owners in their shop and Museum. Amazingly cheerful and helpful. "Forgot my sneakers". No worries, try a pair of mine. Wow!
Suite was basic but fine for a night in the mountains of Newfoundland. WiFi, however, was iffy and little amenities (facial tissues) were short. Adding a few dishes, microwave and toaster to the suite would be an inexpensive and easy "upgrade" that might make the room a little more upscale. Second night we stayed in their two BR apartment. Clean, cozy, comfortable. Harbor view. Dishes and amenities were adequate and beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Expect good, clean non-luxury accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosMorneSuites, Owner at Gros Morne Suites, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thanks a lot for reviewing our two properties (Gros Morne Accommodations & Hostel for the first part of your review, and Gros Morne Suites for the second part). It was a pleasure meeting you and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. The wireless issues were at the Accommodations and Hostel, and the router is being replaced thanks to your feedback. Increasing the amenities at Gros Morne Accommodations and Hostel is definitely something we will consider, and in the meantime, guests of that property have access to the full kitchen in the hostel. Gros Morne Suites will continue to be fully equipped apartment style accommodations - perfect for both short term and long term stays. We hope to see you again soon! P.S. You can have our sneakers anytime :o)

Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

What a fantastic experience...it's like being at home and depending on where you live---it might be better! Everything was brand new, beautiful floors and so many little touches that made our stay more comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped (plus BBQ!) ---the bathroom was immaculate (with a bent shower rod for extra space!) and the beds were super comfy! A TV in each room (not that you should be watching TV when you're so close to the amazing beauty of the Gros Morne park trails)...I could go on. Book this place. You won't be sorry. At $337 total for two nights (2 bedroom apartment) ---we felt we got our money's worth and more. Thank-you to the owners for such a hassle-free stay! (We stayed in #3- which had gorgeous views of the water and sunrise over the mountain--- but I think the apartments on the other side of the building might have had better views)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MaltaMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosMorneSuites, Owner at Gros Morne Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
It's wonderful to hear that you had a great experience at our new suites! Thank you very much for going through the effort of submitting a review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We just completed a 3 night stay at Gros Morne suites. It is not a bed and breakfast it is much better. The place is brand new. There are 4 self contained appartments with the wonderful views of the ocean and a great place to watch the sunset.
We stayed in the 2 bed room suite which gives you exactly that, two separate bedrooms each with a double bed and flat screen tv. The beds included duvets and were very comfortable. There is a living room with a couch and tv. The best part is a full kitchen, fridge , stove, oven , microwave, coffemaker plus dishes and utensils. Each suite has a balcony with a view of the ocean and a new gas BBQ. There is laundry on site as well.
You are within walking distance of a small grocery store a couple of resturants and a seafood store at the docks where you can pick up fresh seafood to prepare in your kitchen or bbq. As a family of 3 it was nice to go back to a place where we could spread out after a long day of exploring the park. It also had free wireless
While in rocky harbour we ate at Earle's which is traditional newfie food (as well as "regular food") where everything does not have to be deep fries. The pan fried cod was excellent. We also ate at Java Jacks which is a 5 star resturant and well worth it

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank upnorth777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrosMorneSuites, Owner at Gros Morne Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you very much for taking time to review our property. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay and that we were able to positively contribute to your Gros Morne experience. We hope you get back to this great corner of the world again soon!

Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
1.2 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
100 reviews
23.8 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
11.9 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
228 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gros Morne Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gros Morne Suites

Property: Gros Morne Suites
Address: Payne's Path, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Rocky Harbour
Hotel Class:4 star — Gros Morne Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gros Morne Suites! These brand new, stylish accommodations are located in Rocky Harbour – the heart of Gros Morne National Park – and are designed to suit both short-term and long-term stays. Gros Morne Suites are located near the ocean, and have views of Gros Morne Mountain, Lobster Cove Head Lighthouse, the Long Range Mountains, and the spellbinding sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gros Morne Suites Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing