We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the call of duty”
Review of Gros Morne Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gros Morne Suites
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beyond the call of duty”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had an upper suite in one cottage and a lower suite in the one next door. The lower suite was more spacious and became our command center. We walked to the top of the hill before we unpacked. Beautiful. There is a seafood store just up the way where we bought tons of fresh fish and seafood to cook in our kitchen. We were very grateful for, and made full use of the laundry facilities. While hiking a difficult trail in the park, one member of our party had a medical emergency. Phone service is iffy but the owners of the cottages came to tell us the news and to help. I was cooking dinner when the news came and was worried about starting a fire. They sent us off to deal with the problem and while we were gone everything was put in the fridge. So kind!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The folks who run Gros Morne suites and hostel have now picked up the former Cozy Corner cottages and changed the name to Gros Morne cottages. Confusing, as there are also Gros Morne Cabins down the road. We stayed here 4 nights and it was a perfect location for us. It is right "downtown" and across the street from the waterfront. Our spacious one bedroom had a separate bedroom, well equipped kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, a sofa, and dining area. A little porch out front had a BBQ and two chairs, from which we could watch the world go by. We enjoyed Rocky Harbour, the friendly people, its proximity to all the activities in Gros Morne National Park. Very quiet except for the last night, when folks next door were engaged in loud outdoor conversation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olympia_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed in a wonderful 2 bedroom cottage right by the water. The place is clean and new and close to everything in Rocky Harbour. There was a great welcome/info binder with information of restaurants they recommend around town, things to do and see and where to get what. There are parking spots in front of each cottage and a BBQ and picnic bench if you want to use it. It is a very cozy and well prepped place. It has a kitchen so we bought seafood one day and cooked it so we didn’t have to go out so that’s great too. I highly recommend it and would stay there again if I were to go back to Rocky Harbour. The price is great compared to some of the hotels I stayed at in Gander & St. Johns.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluerose979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in October for 4 nights. We were in suite 6 which directly faces the ocean on the upper level. It was a 2 bedroom place. There were no other visitors while we were there as it was pretty much out of season. The place was perfectly set up. It was also great to have laundry facilities available. I don't know about the noise factor with no one there however if someone below may hear from up above because its hardwood floors. We were very pleased with our stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AneleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent 5 nights at Gros Morne Suites. We were three adults in one of the two bedroom suites. Although we didn't directly face the ocean, we could still see it very well. The Suites weren't as close to the ocean as I thought the pictures showed, but never the less, the location was fine. The apartment is very modern and very clean. The balcony is somewhat small and with the barbecue, really is only suitable for two people to sit out there at any one time. Also, we felt that more comfortable seating could be added to the apartment - there was really only one couch plus 5 kitchen type chairs for seating. The kitchen was minimally stocked with utensils, pots, and dishes (there weren't four full sets of dishes or glasses) but had we asked, I am sure the owners would have provided more - we just didn't bother to check.

Room Tip: I think rooms 5 and 6 directly face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLA867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILTON
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent three nights at Gros Morne Suites. Our "apartment" was facing the ocean and was absolutely great! They sent us plenty of information when we booked our reservation and we really based our time around those things. Had a great visit to Grose Morne National Park. Our two bedroom unit seemed to have a well equipped kitchen although we only used it for coffee and preparing snacks. It is very close to Earle's which is a good place to eat. We had an upstairs unit but tried to be quiet based on previous reviews.

Room Tip: Get a front room with a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evie3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Gros Morne Suites for three nights at the end of a trip to Newfoundland. We had mainly stayed at B&B's, and loved the experience, but wanted a place where we can cook our own meals and kick back. The two-bedroom unit where we stayed was well-equipped, modern, clean and comfortable. Gros Morne Suites is located in a quiet area, away from the commercial part of Rocky Harbour. There is a laundry on site. Overall, the place met our needs perfectly. Any negatives? Well, as noted by others, sound travels between units. Also the "ocean view" was a bit of a disappointment, as there was a cemetery and some dockyard buildings in the foreground.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P5367klm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.9 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
97 reviews
23.8 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
5.4 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
225 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gros Morne Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gros Morne Suites

Property: Gros Morne Suites
Address: Payne's Path, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Rocky Harbour
Hotel Class:4 star — Gros Morne Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gros Morne Suites! These brand new, stylish accommodations are located in Rocky Harbour – the heart of Gros Morne National Park – and are designed to suit both short-term and long-term stays. Gros Morne Suites are located near the ocean, and have views of Gros Morne Mountain, Lobster Cove Head Lighthouse, the Long Range Mountains, and the spellbinding sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gros Morne Suites Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing