We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A charming spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a great room with ensuite and the breakfasts were excellent - with homemade jams and plenty of choice. There is a lovely deck available to guests to enjoy the view and tea/coffee/water are available any time. Wanda and Clyde were very accommodating and helpful and the access to a laptop with internet was a godsend for us! This is a great spot and we're so glad we stayed with this lovely couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 613Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a good sized room with twin beds and ensuite bath. Breakfast was very good with as much food as you could wish. Common room with computer for use by guests. There was a "boil water" advisory in effect when we were there. This is apparently not uncommon in parts of Newfoundland, as this was the second such advisory we encountered in less than 2 weeks of travel. Unlike the other occasion, when the proprietor provided bottled water for use in our room, Cedar House only offered a jug of water in the kitchen from which we could fill a glass.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torontoseniors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Pleasant, accommodating hosts provide an "at home" atmosphere. Good breakfast with a local flair, lovely room with en suite bath. Good central location for activities in Gros Morne NP. Lots of good hints for activities in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg Beach, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was the first stay of our Newfoundlamd experience. We received a very warm welcome and immediately felt at home. We loved Wanda's partridge berry muffins and enjoyed the delicious homemade jams and jellies. The breakfasts were delicious. We had great views of Rocky Harbor from our rooms which were very comfortable and immaculate. We would definitely recommend Cedar House B & B to anyone travelling in that area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunna4668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was not my first choice to stay at as I had booked at another B & B. but when that B & B suddenly closed, I had to think fast. Ultimately I was able to get accomodations here, and I'm glad I did. This B & B is small, yet perfect for couples or solo travellers like me. My room was right on the main floor and very comfortable. There's a laptop in the living room available for guests, a great selection of books, CD's of Newfoundland music and DVD's about Gros Morne and Newfoundland in general. My hostess Wanda was the defintion of Newfoundland hospitaltiy. She had delicious homemade jams (my favorite was the rose hips jam) and scrumptious patridgeberry muffins as part of the breakfast selections. (She gave me one to take with me on the road, and it was divine!) On top of that, she even got me Noxzema for a sunburn when I got one on my boat tour of Western Brook Pond.

I highly recommend this place when heading to Gros Morne!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerfromtheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
23.4 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 42 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing