We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of B&B”
Review of Sylvia's B&B

Sylvia's B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sylvia's B&B
Ranked #5 of 10 Rocky Harbour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“My kind of B&B”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Beautiful, spacious, clean room with large bathroom. Looks and is brand-new. Sylvia is a gracious hostess, offers a delicious breakfast with homemade bread and jam, yogurt, coffee, juice and breakfast casserole. We had a good laugh - Sylvia has an excellent sense of humour. We only spent a night there, but some of her guests who stayed for a few nights did nothing but rave about their stay at Sylvia's B&B. The B&B area is separate from the hostess's living space and I found this very much to my liking, as I didn't feel like I was imposing on her personal space. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

we thought sylvia was a great hostess and her b and b a new, super-clean and very comfortable place! she works very hard to keep this place clean, as a matter of fact i think this was one of the cleanest places i have ever stayed in. yes there are rules but nothing too out of the ordinary for a b and b. the place is new, very well built and kept, the beds are supercomfortable! i would add a luggage table/stand in the rooms. i would definitely stay here again and would look forward to seeing sylvia and bruce!

Room Tip: ask for main level room if you have a problem with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adda191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Sylvia is in the wrong business. Her first line of business is getting your money. She is the only B&B we stayed at that collected our money 5 minutes after we got through the door. No personality and very cold. She is allergic to lobster, so make sure you have none with you, or haven't been near any, ie at a restuarant, etc. We had some vacuum-packed precooked and shelled lobster with us, and after collecting the money, Sylvia left and we didn't see her until the next morning. The doors on the bedroom are very heavy steel doors that slam shut, and cannot be left unlocked. I got locked out. For breakfast, my husband asked if he could have a piece of toast with his coffee as Sylvia was making breakfast. At first she said no, then said he could make himself some toast. When it came time to serve breakfast to everyone, my husband was the only one who got no toast on his plate. I guess he already got his quota. Most of the rooms are up a full flight of stairs and so is the sitting area. I would not recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Try AnchorDown B&B up the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our first experience staying at a B&B and I have to admit that Sylvia has surpassed all our expectations. We got her name on a referral from another local B&B and since she is new you might not find a lot online yet. You can find her website www.grosmorne.ca/sylviasbandb.

The accommodations are all new and specifically laid out for the comfort and convenience of her guests. There are 4 rooms on the upper level and a 5th room on ground level for those that require ease of access. Large living room area dedicated to guests with large widescreen TV, DVDs and plenty of maps and guides to Gros Mornes area. The kitchen area is convenient and spacious and also dedicated for all guests and there is even a brand new washer & dryer for those that need to do a load of laundry if they wish.

Sylvia is an excellent host and a wealth of information about the local area. One of the first questions she asks of incoming guests is whether they have any allergies so she can tailor the breakfast menu. Although her website only mentions continental breakfast, Sylvia prepares a delicious, hot breakfast every morning. The first morning we had pancakes and sausage and for our second morning we had eggs and bacon. Lots of fresh coffee, juice, toast homemade jams; definitely try the partridge berry.

Sylvia's is perfect for anybody visiting the Gros Morne Park. It's a great relaxing home base for anybody visiting the majestic sights of the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garycormier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Centrally located in Rocky Harbor. B & B opened in August 2012, brand new section just for BB.
Sylvia is very nice and goes out of her way to make you feel at home, breakfast was very good with homemade bread and jams, try the partridge berry jam..... I strongly recommend if your planning hikes in Gros Morne or a boat tour on the Western Brook pond, Rocky Harbor is in Gros Morne and is a very nice village. Went to Earl's for dinner the pan fried cod was amazing, very good home cooked meals! There are several restaurants to chose from in Rocky Harbor but I would say this is the best quality for your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda_B150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
93 reviews
23.6 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
231 reviews
4.9 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
219 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia's B&B

Property: Sylvia's B&B
Address: 1 Juniper Lane, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4NO, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and spacious brand new 5-bedroom bed and breakfast located in the heart of scenic Gros Morne National Park. Queen beds with ensuite baths, full breakfast, wireless internet, sitting room with wide screen TV, front deck, free parking, walking distance to the beach, crafts stores, coffee shops and restaurants. Close vicinity to hiking, boat tours, kayaking and canoeing. Full breakfast, all private baths and queen beds, no pets, no smoking, tea and coffee, microwave, wireless internet, laptop available to guest, lounge area (sitting room), and parking 5 Rooms with private bath ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvia's B&B Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing