We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located with a great view”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in a 2nd floor ocean view room. The balcony had 3 chairs and a little table. Since this was one of the warmest summers jn NL, the A/C was really appreciated.as well,as the black out curtains. The trade off for those beautiful,sunsets is the sun shining in the windows and warming the room for an hr or 2. All staff encountered were pleasant. They had live music every afternoon and evening. There are a lot of tour groups that frequent this hotel. It was not really a problem except for the pressure on the dining areas, so plan accordingly. Hotel is a bit pricey and does not include breakfast. We really appreciated the quietness of the a/c unit. The hotel Is convenient for walking to resturants and some shops. The hotel is well located for visiting some of the gorgeous spots in Grose Morne park, cow head, broom point, lobster cove, west brook pond, Bonne bay and the Arches and of course many of the hiking trails. A fridge is available for a fee. if you are looking for an outback experience this would not be your choice. But if you want clean accommodations, comfortable beds, tv, a/c, a bit of night life, spectacular views and convenience , this hotel would fit the bill.

Room Tip: Second floor ocean view rooms offer sunset viewing. There is a little gazebo,with a viewing station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tcracker1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi there and thanks for this incredible review. The information you shared regarding the hotel, staff, amenities and views will be very helpful to other trip planners. One of the best reviews I have read for helping other visitors make the most of their visit to Gros Morne...thanks again!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is located right by the ocean but not on the beach. We had an ocean view room but we were very disappointed with the view from our room on the ground floor. The parking lot is right in front of the window blocking whatever scenic view beyond. In addition, there is no privacy if the blinds are drawn open. There are not many hotels around so it explains its popularity. The dinning room however offers very good food. Located on the second floor, the ocean sunset view is indeed beautiful. Anchors Aweigh, a local singing show, was playing at the hotel while we were there,

Room Tip: If you choose an ocean view room, choose the second floor. Otherwise save $20 and get a garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ching L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi folks...thanks for the awesome review! We are just beginning some enhancements for 2015 which will include clearing the parking that obstructs the ground floor room views. Glad you enjoyed the food and the sunset views!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This motel was one of the many beautiful hotels and motels in Newfoundland that we stayed in. The rooms were very clean and there were two restaurants in the motel. All of the employees were so friendly and helpful with information of the things to see and do and always ready to answer any questions we asked. One of the great things we enjoyed at the Motel was the Anchors Away Band music and Skit night we attended. We really love the Newfoundland music, and would like to visit this province again.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a view of the ocean and A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for the great review. We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with other guests. Thanks for the tips on the room selection and great comments on our staff and the Anchors Aweigh Band.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here twice due to its proximity to Gros Morne. You still have to travel a ways to get to a lot of the Park but it is a very large park Staff are friendly and rooms are fairly spacious, nice, and clean. Its a basic room to sleep in. The hotel is also the location of Anchors Aweigh show (in the bar) and ticket office for show tickets and Boat tours such as Western Brook Pond. Views of the harbor, especially at sunset are picturesque.

Room Tip: If you have luggage get a first floor room (they do have a small elevator) and if you get a harbor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi there and thanks for your time in making a review of the property. Good tips and information for other travelers. Hope to see you again.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great place for the rate and location. Right where you want to be when visiting the area. Hotel and the rooms where clean and well maintained. Dining and bar facilities where nice also Beautiful setting for a late night and early morning walk.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lorrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed the setting, the sunsets and the harbour front walkway...it's a special place for sure. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

On the plus side, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff members were friendly and the restaurant very good for both breakfast and dinner. However, we had a first floor garden view room and the guests above us were heavy walkers. It was impossible to sleep until they went to bed around midnight. The rooms were not sound proof at all! Our friends had ocean view rooms on the main floor and their views were cars in the parking lot. The cars blocked any views of the ocean and curtains had to be closed at all times as the cars were only a few feet from the windows. It's definitely not worth the extra cost. I would not stay at this hotel unless the room was on the second floor.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi folks and thanks for the review. Sorry you had a bit of noise from the second floor. We have been increasing the soundproofing through the building on each upgrade and plan to have another buffer between the 1st and 2nd levels for 2015. You will be happy to see we are also going to green up the front facing area and remove the parking that obstructs the views right now. You'll have to come back to see us again in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while on tour. Great place. Clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great food and service at the restaurant and bar. Anchors Aweigh is a fun and entertaining group if you get a chance to see them. Also get a room on the 2nd floor facing the ocean if you can.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Greg-Roz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OVM2730, General Manager at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi folks and thanks for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and thanks for the tip for visitors regarding the 2nd level ocean view rooms...they are the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.5 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
117 reviews
23.2 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
23 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
5.2 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
22 reviews
12.7 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 38 - 42 Main Street | PO Box 129, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range: £101 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean View Hotel's 52 newly upgraded rooms are located centrally in Gros Morne National Park, on the Rocky Harbour waterfront. We are the region's flagship property, offering excellent chef prepared dining, breathtaking sunset views, and live entertainment 5 nights per week. We're at the centre of all events and amenities. We are also the ticket office for Bontours/Western Brook excursions. Book early and don't forget your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean View
Ocean View Hotel Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing