We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayside Cottages
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very clean cottage and spacious. Our cottage was #1 and had a view of the harbour from our livingroom. The harbour is just across the highway. Rocky Harbour is very small and all of the other cottages/hotels are very close together. We walked to Jackies restaurant from our cottage, a couple of minutes walk. Earls restaurant was at the end of the street but still very close. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    30
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Cottage ( 1 bedroom ) was very clean with all amenities one would need in a housekeeping unit. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Could see Gros Morne from the back of our unit. Only complaint was that the price was steep $139 - similar accomodations in a different town were less than $120.Location is close to all retail outlets and one could easily walk to any of them.
Units were stepped back from each other so had a sense of privacy on the deck when bbqing. Not all cottages had that orientation. Do not remember the number of the unit.
Plenty of light in all rooms, quiet surroundings. Bathroom was huge with plenty of towels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

we just spent two nights at this cottage and enjoyed our stay. We would have liked to have more private location, the cottage was very clean but lacked a few items such as travel size shampoo and body wash. The kitchen had minimum supplies and could have used a few more glasses, forks, cooking utensils, and towels etc. Thought it was a little expensive. Great fish shop at the end of main street. Had a great meal of cod and scallops at Jackies. Would stay somewhere else next time,

Room Tip: no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lellsworthsept, Manager at Bayside Cottages, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
management bayside cottages/motel, responded to this review
thank you for your review
we are located in the beautiful gros morne national park over looking the ocean
our primary concern is to provide good clean quality accommodations, when people come here they always comment on the beautiful accommodations and location we have, our units is fully
equip however, if you need extra towels kitchen accessories etc we will gladly supply,
we have new double and queen beds at the time of booking size needed should be specified.
thanks again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

In reserving this room, we were looking for a place to stay in the area of the park on our way back down the peninsula from L'Anse aux Meadows. We were also looking to offset the rather steep price of the place we stayed in Norris Point on the way up, as well as the equally stiff price of the place we stayed while in LaM. Bayside Cottages fit the bill.

We had a two bedroom cottage with a large living/dining room area. The sofa made a bed, as well. The bedding was not the best (we prefer cotton), but seemed clean. The bathroom was a little small and the commode flow a little slow, but overall the space worked out well for us. It was certainly clean. We arrived to find the windows open to let a lovely breeze blow through from the bay.

"Bayside" is a slight stretch. The property is on a hillside that does overlook the bay, but is across the street from the actual "bayside".

There are several groceries and places that offer breakfast pastries within five minutes of the property, as well as several full service restaurants in Rocky Harbour.

In our search, we found that most accommodations in the area of Gros Morne were quite expensive, and most did not offer breakfast. This place offered good value for the area.

I believe the cottages are all duplexes. We did note after we retired that there were children running (or so we thought) on the floor of the adjacent cottage and it was very loud (not sure why). It might be better to request a cottage that is not otherwise occupied unless you are a sound sleeper....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcconnellboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of their cottages, and despite ample room in the property, one thing that was too small was the bed. It was not really adequate for two people to sleep in, and was not terribly comfortable either, so as a place to stay in, I cannot rate it highly due to that. The cleanliness level was very good, and the full kitchen was great to be able to cook your own meals instead of worrying about the early closing restaurants, but if I were to do it again I would choose a different place. The value for price was just not quite there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Bayside cottages provided an excellent location and good value for our visit to Gros Morne. The cottages were roomy and spotless. All needed amenities were available. Staff were friendly, helpful and avaiable for any concerns. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were staying 3 nights in one of the cabins. These cottages have modern accommodation concept - basically they know what travellers need most during their tour and provide it. When the owner told me there was a kitchen over the phone of booking, I didn't pay much attention. When we got there, we found it was a full size one bedroom apartment! Living room with a sofa bed, kitchen with all types of cookware. Room temperature is adjustable. Typically I fear cold. But I was satisfied at this time. Quality of bedding, furniture are on the average level. But I don't complain as the price charged. The apt is very clean. One of the benefit is there is a fish market on the east end of road. There is very inexpensive live seafood. We enjoyed a lot in cooking fresh seafood in the room. Another tip is the Java Jack's restaurant is amazing with combination of food and arts.

Personally, I prefer cabin better since it is detached so very quiet.

The only problem we encountered is internet signal was not very strong. Hopefully it has been fixed since then.

Room Tip: We were staying 3 nights in one of the cabins. These cottages has modern accommodation concept - bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
12.2 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.2 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
23.6 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Cottages

Property: Bayside Cottages
Address: Lloyd's Lane, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We operate cottages & motel units in the Gros Morne National Park. All units fully equipped with bath/shower, cable TV, wireless internet, balcony with bbq. We are located in the heart of the park with a view of Gros Morne Mountain and a beautiful sunset overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayside Cottages Hotel Rocky Harbour
Bayside Cottages Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing