We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of C & G Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
C & G Cabins
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Cabins are clean and adequate, Gail is very friendly and helpful. Because she wasn't too busy, she even upgraded us to a 2 bedroom cabin, which we appreciated so much. We loved the kitchenette, in Rocky Harbour there is a fabulous fish market, we bought fresh cod and mussels, which were better than we ate anywhere on the island. There is both tv and Internet. You have a view of the mountain, but not he harbour, and you will probably find it easiest to drive down to the harbour. I would recommend these cabins.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaimac, Owner at C & G Cabins, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and it was a pleasure meeting you both and I hope if your back this way again you come and visit me.

Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is very spacious and fully equipped accommodation for those needing two separate bedrooms and cooking facilities. Clean, comfortable, and a good value. Located about 500 meters from the shore line, so it's very quiet, but you probably will drive to center of town. Rocky Harbor is the best location to visit Gros Morne park, and well worth 2-3 days in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaimac, Owner at C & G Cabins, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review we appreciate it very much.
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our stay at C & G was perfect! Cabins were very clean and the service was simply amazing!!!
Every item advertised was available.
Rocky Harbour is a beautiful area to vacation in and C & G accommodations are simply Fantastic!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therapy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaimac, Owner at C & G Cabins, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your review it is greatly appreciated. We work hard at keep our establishment up to the standards that our guests are looking for. We want you to feel right at home and we look forward to your next visit.
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in cabin #5 and was pleased with the stay. Very clean and comfortable. Two bedrooms and a futon in the living room. The wireless connection worked great with four devices running at times. This is a great alternative to a motel. We picked up lobster at the fish market and had a lobster dinner outside at the picnic table. On the way home two days later we wondered why we didn't think to get mussels too. The best part for my daughter was watching the guy in front of us getting lobster for his customers at the restaurant. I bet he got $25-$30 for each, we bought six for $36 and used Gails propane cooker. You get a 50¢ bag of salt at the fish market and boil them for 18 minutes. If we make it back to Rocky Harbour we will be staying there again.

This is the letter I sent to Gail after our return home from vacation.

Gail:
I wanted to thank you again for setting us up two extra nights in your cabin on such short notice. The cabin was so much better than any inn. We are all home now and getting ready to start work again. Yesterday it was 97 F. (36 C.) with blowing wind in Orangeville. We had lawns to mow and gardens to weed, we both missed Newfoundland’s cool weather. Last night at Walmart, Peggy and I saw lean ground beef for $4.58 a pound. We both commented on how affordable and fun our lobster dinner was at your place. It was so fast and easy to prepare using the big cooker in your shed. You should use this as another reason for us “westerners” to stay at C & G cabins and skip the motel scene. Thanks again and God Bless you both,
W. Kay Clark Orangeville, Utah.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaimac, Owner at C & G Cabins, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you William and family for staying with us and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Glad that you enjoyed your lobsters and we could accommodate you with a outdoor burner there is no better way than cooking lobsters outside.

Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for two nights in Cabin #4 in July. Cabin #4 had two bedrooms and was very spacious, well-maintained and clean. The hairdryer did not work while we were there but that was not a big deal. The manager was attentive so the hairdryer is probably fixed by now. The price was very reasonable. The location is not near the water but it is an easy short drive to the water and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toots812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Having travelled through much of Europe and North America for both business and pleasure, I have to admit my exprience with C & G was certainly an odd one, by no means reflective of Newfoundland hospitality. After spending 10 days in the province, we were notified that due to ferry delays our vacation would be extended by two days. Attempting to make the most of the extended time we diverted to Gros Morne, hoping to take in some of the scenery. Last minute reservations were made through friends. The challenge that we ran into pertained to cancellation policies. The ferry schedule changed again prior to our arrival. At check-in we notified the manager that unfortunately we could only stay for one night. We were reminded of the 48 hour cancellation policy and told that if we weren't willing to pay for two nights, we could find another location to stay. No discussion, no compromise simply put those are our terms and if you don't like it leave. Had this been my first impression of Newfoundland I have to admit it would not have been a positive one. Luckily, we've had wonderful stays in towns big and small who appreciated and welcomed tourists with open arms. I'm glad to see others have had positive experiences with this particular location. For us, the service and entire experience we'd like to forget however as passionate travels we feel the need to pass along our story in the hope it can help others. The moral of the story, as a traveller make sure you discuss and understand cancellation poilicies to a tee. Travelling to Newfoundland via boat and air can be unpredictable, attempt to book accomodations with some flexibility. I can understand why policies are in-place, especially during peak season in rural communities but the approach of this particular operator caught us by surprise.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffG1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaimac, Owner at C & G Cabins, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Sorry for the misunderstanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I did all the booking via e-mail without any problems and luckily I made reservations earlier in the year because the property had no vacancies while we were there. It's located between most everything you would like to see and do in Gros Morne National Park and close enough to the main drag of Rocky Harbor to walk to the restaurants and shops. We stayed in #3 and I was very happy to see real wine glasses (a good bottle of wine and chocolate after along day of hiking is a good thing) and even a tea kettle. For us tea drinkers having to make tea out of a coffee maker is not a good thing. A very clean room, friendly staff, and nice shower. It's not a fancy place on the outside but it's a very good place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
23.5 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
4.6 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C & G Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C & G Cabins

Property: C & G Cabins
Address: 35 Westlink Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have one and two bedroom fully equipped cabins/ and units with everything that you need to feel right at home. We offer free WI-fi and BBQ's and outdoor burner for you to enjoy while staying with us. For the children we have a play area and also fire pit. We are pet friendly but dogs can't stay in cabins/units alone and are not allowed to be on furniture and it is your responsibility to clean up after them. We have many repeat customers who have been returning to us year after year so why not come and stay with us and find out for yourself. We are not water front but only a short drive to ocean and town and beautiful sunsets. We are the first exit going north into Rocky Harbour off of Route 430 which is West Link Road turn left and proceed 1/2km and we are on the left hand side. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
c And g Cabins
c & g Cabins Hotel Rocky Harbour
C & G Cabins Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing