We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIBLE PLACE TO STAY” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Landing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE PLACE TO STAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is a bear bones hotel everything for owner nothing for customer. Towels like tissue paper, rubber stoppers for drains, sketchy price information and the list goes on.

Restaurant only open for breakfast, lounge practically non-existent, wireless never worked, no view in an area that has multiple view but they charge a lot of money for a not so nice room. Stay at the Ocean View Hotel in town, view over the harbor, nice restaurant and friendly people. Save your money and stay away from Fisherman's Landing

Room Tip: Go to Ocean View Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank millyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishermansLandingInn, Owner at Fisherman's Landing Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for your review and we apologize for your displeasure. As owners of Fisherman's Landing Inn we appreciate all responses whether positive or negative.
In response to your review, first let me explain that our dining room is only open for breakfast for this season, due to staff shortages and we sincerely regret this inconvenience.
Our lounge has always been advertised as a coffee shop/bar and our friendly staff will always provide service when requested.
We have received 3 1/2 stars from Canada Select and our rooms are up to standard. Our room rates are competitive and the quoted price is listed on the registration card that the guest signs upon check in. When a guest checks in and is not happy with the accommodations a full refund is given and the guest is free to leave. However, any problems should be expressed at check in and not at check out in the morning.
We have never had problems with our linens, as we only order high quality and always dicard any worn linens.
While we have been experiencing some difficulty with our wireless internet from time to time, we are doing everything possible, working with technicians, to resolve this issue.
As with all locations, not all properties can be located on the water. However, we do have a quite area with views of mountains and a short walking trail on the back of the property next to a stream. We are also only a short distance from the main area in town.
We strive ourselves on friendly, helpful staff and high quality accommodations. We apologize if this is not what you had received and we hope that you had enjoyed the rest of your visit on this spectacular Island.
Sincerely,
Walter Nicolle
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
33
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Just completed a conference here last week. The rooms are clean and modern. The food was fantastic. Hiking trails are close. Lots of scenery within only minutes drive. The staff were amazing! Roxane and everyone else went well beyond what you would normally expect. What a great bunch of people! I had 37 colleagues in this hotel. There has not been as much as one complaint about anything! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jsobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Newfoundland and labrador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

My family and I recently stayed at the Fisherman's Landing Inn while participating in a hockey tournament in Rocky Harbor. The service at the front desk was above and beyond - we checked in late, just as the local Greco Pizza delivery was closing. The front desk agent took care of our order, called us promptly as our meal arrived - very convenient. The beds in the hotel were extremely comfortable, the room was very clean and well-maintained. The service at breakfast was very fast and the food was delicious - the homemade blueberry and partridge berry jam was a fabulous touch.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Rocky Harbor area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

VERY DISPLEASED WITH HOW WE WERE TREATED BY THE OWNER/MANAGER....Our Minor Hockey organization (Pee Wee 11-12 year olds) were invited to Rocky Harbour for a Tournament, we were quoted 79.99 per night, when we arrived the price was changed to 89.99 per night, we questioned this matter, but we were told that we were quoted the wrong price and there was nothing we could do, when we booked the rooms originally, we had asked if all our rooms could be together, we were told no problem, until we got there and two of our rooms were on the other wing........told again there was nothing they could do...... the next day at check out, when we were getting ready to pay, we were told that we were being charged an extra 20.00 per room, being a total of 10 rooms for damages to their hallway, we had asked to be shown the damages, a black mark, which could have resulted from luggage, maid cart, hockey bags etc, he told us that our children did this, but didn't have proof , so he had to charge all of us 20.00 ea, a crack in his wall resulting from a bowed pc of 2x4, he claimed that our children caused this........ absolutely ridiculous........ we were told by the owner/manager, he'd rather Minor Hockey not even use his facilty,..... in which we ate super at, after our first game and also ate breakfast the morning of our incident, the hospitality we received from this man was a disgrace..........The owner/manager told us too bad,"I already have your credit card numbers" , and he continued by saying " I own this [--] place and I can do what I want ...... as paying customers, where are our Rights.........How many other customers does he pull this stunt on........ STAY ELSEWHERE......

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
8 Thank cn_rowsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishermansLandingInn, Owner at Fisherman's Landing Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
While I apologize and am very sorry for your displeasure, please let me explain the circumstances surrounding your unfortunate incident. The price quoted to you at the time of booking was indeed $89.00 as this is our specal sports team rate. At the time of your stay here at Fisherman's Landing Inn we were also hosting other hockey teams who paid the same sports rate as was quoted to them.... Regarding being kept together in one area, while we do our best to keep all groups together sometimes it is not possible due to the fact that we have 3 separate wings which hold different room types. This could explain why 2 of your rooms were on a separate wing.... We also pride ourselves in providing great customer service as well as great accommodations which is why upkeep & maintenance is also a top priority. There were no damages to the walls prior to your groups arrival as we inspect our facility on a regular basis... The children were asked on more than one occasion by the front desk clerk to stop playing hockey in the halls. As our sports policy states (which was given at check in) there is to be absolutely no loitering in the hallways & that adults are responsible for any & all costs incurred during their stay & any damages to hotel property.... We encourage sports teams to book at our facility and promote special rates & meal prices. We are a year round business catering to the needs of our guests & appreciate any & all business from our customers. We also appreciate all feedback and take every comment into consideration. Again, I apologize for your dipleasure and appreciate your right as a customer to voice your opinion. I would also like to note that we have hosted many sports groups over the years and hope to continue to do so as we value & appreciate their continued support & business.
Sincerely,
Walter Nicolle
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rocky Harbour hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

This is a fairly new property and is very neat. It is the standard small town one story motel where you park right behind your room. Conveniently the rooms have a door to the parking lot and another to an interior hallway. There is no landscaping whatsoever but this is not necessary in this location in my opinion. While an older hotel in town faces the harbour, Fishermans Landing is actually on a side street about a block from the main highway. However it only takes about 2 minutes to drive to the harbourfront to view outstanding sunsets. Unlike its competitor this motel is air conditioned which is helpful in case of warm summer nights. While the evening was pleasant temperature-wise, the late afternoon was rather warm so we were happy with this choice. Another welcome feature was the small laundry room and the fact that guests only have to pay for soap powder...no charge for the washer and dryer! Breakfast in the morning was slow even though the dining room was not at all busy. If you are in a hurry like we were, it would be best to come up with another idea. Unfortunately Rocky Harbour is too small for a Tim Hortons. We absolutely recommend Fishermans Landing Inn.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverStar092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

Booked the Fisherman's Landing Inn based on a recommendation in the AAA Tourbook.
Based on the name, I thought the property would be near, if not on, the ocean. It is actually about one km away on one of the two roads entering Rocky Harbour.
Property has a restaurant, fitness room and gift shop. Rooms have a hair dryer, ironing board, iron, clock radio, 20" TV and free wi-fi. Room was clean and everything worked. Check-in was friendly. Housekeeping was good.
Motel construction and interior furnishings reminded me of Motel 6. Nothing fancy.
No complaints but the rate was $130 which I thought a bit high for the area and the property.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

We stayed for 3 nights as we visited Gros Morne. Room was comfortable and the bathroom clean. Although we were 3 people staying in the room, every day we had to ask for extra towels - can't people count? Restaurant element to be avoided. Limited menu and grumpy staff. Breakfast OK and reasonably priced. The motel is a little way off the main strip of Rocky Harbour and be prepared to use your car to get around.

Recommend for a one night quick stop over but look elsewhere for warmth and enthusiasm.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SlackbladderUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
12.7 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
23.5 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
4.6 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Landing Inn

Property: Fisherman's Landing Inn
Address: 21-29 West Link Road | P.O. Box 124, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K-4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman's Landing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene, retreat-like setting nestled in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Relax in our outdoor hot tub or sit & listen to the trickle of the stream as you basque in the glow of our outdoor fire, where wildlife sightings are common. Excellent location for a conference or special event with a friendly, effecient team ready to cater to your every request. Within walking distance of all restaurants and gift shops on the waterfront & a short drive to Western Brook Pond Boat Tour. Ideal for snowmobiling and sporting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fisherman's Landing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishermans Landing Hotel
Fisherman's Landing Inn Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing