We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, great cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
View of Cottage from Salmon Point Trail
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Cottage from Salmon Point Trail
Bayview Heights Cottage View from the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
View of Cottage from Salmon Point Trail
Bayview Heights Cottage
View from the living room
View from the front of the cottage
Bedroom 2 (double bed)
Main Bedroom (queen)
Living Rom (with pull out bed)
Dining room/ Living room open concept
Kitchen
Caribou are plentiful in the park
Arches Provincial Park
Arches P.P
Berry Pond Trail
Sunset at the Cottage
Lobster Cove Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Britannia...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great cottage”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Rocky Harbour is a picturesque community in the heart of the incomparable Gros Morne Park. And this particular cottage is situated in an excellent location, with views of the sunset, Lobster Cove Head Lighthouse, and peaceful Rocky Harbour. The little community has everything you could need--groceries, gas station, hardware store, etc.-- and the fresh fish market is walking distance from the cottage! This year the lobster season fell in mid-June, but we were able to get the last of the live lobster in early July.
The cottage has everything you'll need: clean, comfortable beds; high quality kitchen amenities; washer and dryer; ocean side deck and chairs; barbecue; fire pit.... Our stay was picture perfect.
This cottage is in an excellent location to explore Gros Morne. We ventured to L'Anse aux Meadows from Rocky Harbour, which is a long drive and requires an overnight stay on the northern peninsula. And if you are taking the ferry from Port aux Basques, it is best to stay there overnight before venturing to Rocky Harbour. Plan ahead, take your time, and this trip will not disappoint. We definitely want to return to this lovely property in this peaceful, beautiful part of Newfoundland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views.
Liked least: There was a hiccup with the town water supply, but the owner handled it with aplomb. The neighbours offered to help, but it was not needed in the end.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Hello Sandra,
Thank you for your kind words about the cottage and about Rocky Harbour. I agree with you, this little community is a gem, situated perfectly to be able to enjoy Gros Morne National Park, a wonder in itself, and the outlaying areas. Time is something that is needed when visiting this place to get the most out of it, for sure.
If you ever come back to Rocky Harbour we would love to have you stay with us again!
Have a wonderful summer (what is remaining of it)!

Tinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uniondale
Stratford, Canada
1 review
“Gros Morne Base Camp”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a great place to use as a base camp for exploring Gros Morne National Park. View from huge deck was incredible, ocean on one side and Gros Morne mountain on the other. View from inside the cottage was also nice. Bedrooms and bathrooms were very spacious and clean. Bedrooms and bathroom are on the same level which is great for the mobility impaired. Locating and accessing the vacation rental was very easy. You can see the local fresh fish market from the deck of this vacation rental. Nothing bad to say about this place, very private and I would highly recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of deck and view from deck.
Liked least: Nothing bad to say
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Hello joe,
Thank you for the very kind words! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you come and stay with us again!
Thank you for choosing Bayview Heights!
Tinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna t
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“too short!”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

great cottage ! great location!the view was incredible -the cottage was everything as advertised-just wish we would have spent more time here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you Donna! We enjoyed having you stay with us. Love to have come again!
All the best!
Tinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmacmilla...
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful home with all the amenities. It is just up the road from the fish plant where you can get fresh fish when it is in season. The cottage has lots of privacy with a killer view of the harbour. You can count of beautiful sunsets that people come to view from all over the world. The cottage is always warm, despite the drastic changes that can occur in Newfoundland temperatures. We plan on going back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Having to contact owner to get more supplies (i.e. toilet paper, soap)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind words Peter. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay! We will love to have you back anytime!

Tunde
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
1 review
“great view of the ocean sunsets and whales”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great spot. Bit difficult to find. Well stocked with most things except toilet paper. Would have brought our own but had been assured there be enough for the six of us but not even close. More was provided once we contacted the housekeeper. Great spot, Great deck. great fire pit. Rocky Harbour is a great spot.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: views and the deck
Liked least: difficulty with getting in touch with the manager
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Hello Peter,
I am happy you enjoyed your stay at the cottage!
I have taken note about the toilet paper and will ensure future guests will have enough!
Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated!
Tinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feenix3
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage - Impossible to Deal with Owner”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed with a friend this September for 8 nights. The cottage was nice but deficient. There was supposed to be someone we could phone if there were problems, but she only answered the phone once, to replace a light bulb the following day. We had other questions, and she eventually got back to us, perhaps after 5 days. The BBQ gas ran out of gas after 2 uses. The toilet seat came loose when we first sat on in (but we got charged $50, even though it had been broken by previous occupants). We emailed the owner regarding a promised DVD player and were answered 2 days before we left. Some long-previous renters had lost keys, left a faded note taped to the fridge apologizing and leaving a tip, but we were asked on the day of departure where the tip was that *we* had promised. In all, a terrible experience, not because of the cottage but because of the people who claim to manage it properly. Go at your own risk, and be prepared to lose your security deposit unless you check everything when you get there and successfully manage to inform anyone of a problem.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
I am sorry you had a bad stay with us. We try to make each guests stay a great experience.
We failed that with you and I am very sorry for that.

I understand that our housekeeper contacted you within the day every time you called with a concern, if that is not the case please let me know.
As for the broken toilet seat, I regret having to charge you $50 out of the $200 deposit but throughout your 8 day stay you never indicated the issues to us or the housekeeper,even after having had several touch points with her.

For the instructions for the TV/DVD I apologize for not responding in a more timely manner, and will continue to ensure there are multiple written instructions on how to work the VCR within the cottage, as not to inconvenience other guests.

I trust that our housekeeper helped on getting you alternate accommodations after your stay with us (unfortunately we could not provide you the extra day as per your request, as we had other guess already booked for that time) helped make your stay with us more enjoyable.

I would like the opportunity to speak to you about your experience. Feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.

The Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gasgenie
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage with an unbeatable view”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

5 of us stayed in this delightful cottage. It was clean and welcoming on our arrival (thanks to Mona, the housekeeper!) There is a pullout sofabed in the living room that can accommodate the 5th or 6th person. it was very comfortable and homely, and even on rainy days it was a pleasure to laze around indoors. It has a well-equipped kitchen, and a great BBQ on the deck for use. The fish store is a short stroll away as are tidepools, and a cliff-top lookout. Would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing