We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the rough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort
Swift Current
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

When I saw the pictures on trip advisor we got nervous. They seriously need to update their website as I am sure business would pick up tremendously. We had a 1 bedroom. Beds were comfortable. We had a kitchen. Even the hide a bed was comfortable. It was clean and the airco was great. Rooms were replenished with amenities daily. Not sure they were cleaned but I think it is more a light housekeeping unit. Modern t.v. BBQ on the deck every afternoon where they serve burgers. Tim Hortons and a convenience store 5 minute walk. Restaurant across the highway and also a sandwich place. We had a wedding to go to and it was great. Just think it is strange that the hotel has no front desk at all times and that you have to call and wait for someone to come out. Oh yes there is a jungle gym outdoors for $50 and ziplining for $100.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom instead of a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just about as close as you can get to a ski lift. Marble Villa is convenient, clean (if you don't look in the corners behind the doors), and comfortable. Don't expect luxury. The place is a bit dated and fairly rudimentary but if you want accommodations right at the base of a good ski hill, this will do fine.

I ran out of hot water one day.

Check in at the ski lodge. Not immediately obviously when you arrive.

Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. When I asked for a late checkout but my room had been booked by someone for that day, they provided me with a different room and allowed me to check out at two pm instead of eleven am.

The first floor room had quite a cold floor. There must be no basement.

Basic, comfortable, nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myles_in_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble Villa M, Manager at The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Myles,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the close proximity to the lifts of Atlantic Canada's only ski-in, ski-out accommodations!

We hope you'll come back soon as we continue to update and modernize our facility with major investment through to 2016.

All the best,

Cole Fawcett
Sales and Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Condos were okay. No rental cars available. Very secluded with NOTHING to do other then ski! No pool, gym, restaurant, lounge, kids area. After four EVERYTHING shuts down. Fifty dollar cab ride to go to cornerbrook to get supper! Last day it rained hill was closed and we were promised a late check out. Told us to be out by noon flight didn't leave until nine plus would not refund my ski passes do to hill closing. Very bad customer service. Once they get your money that is it. Go somewhere more exciting!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxygen888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble Villa M, Manager at The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi there Oxygen888,

We're sorry that you left the Marble Villa and Marble Mountain Resort disappointed. While cab rides are $20 (flat-rate) to and from Corner Brook, it can be expensive to get around our area without a rental vehicle. Deer Lake has a number of internationally renowned car rental companies that should be booked in advance due to limited supply.

Here at the resort we make no secrets about our packaging policies. Unfortunately there are no refunds for closures or partial closures due to inclement weather or other factors, however, we certainly take care to make sure all of our guests are issued a voucher to return at another date within the next 365 days.

Thank you for your feedback!

Cole Fawcett
Sales and Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is nice, but seems a bit dated. We checked in at the lodge no problem and then headed to the Villa. The room was nice but seemed a bit dated. The heat controls in the room didn't work very well. It was so warm in our room that we had to open the windows. Now, we weren't there to stay in our room for the whole weekend but there was no TV in the bedroom which for me, personally, was terrible because I like to watch TV while I'm in bed falling asleep. Also, the TV channel selection was quite terrible. BUT, like I said, I wasn't there for the TV. The hotel is awesome because it is right at the base of the mountain. So, if you are planning on skiing for your entire stay it is perfect. We did not have a car while we were there and could not really go anywhere to eat other than the lodge. I have to say, there food was really bad. The only thing I had there that was half decent was the breakfast. It would be nice if there were more selection in the way of restaurants surrounding the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

It is a wonderful place to stay very clean and very quiet. It's a great place to stay for a relaxing week away. Me and my Boyfriend tried the zip lining there and stayed there it was amazing. It's in a quiet area and of you go there durning the summer months it's not as loud as the winter months because thier not so busy. But if you plan on different things to try their double check to make sure the option was there. We booked zip lining and bike trails and after driving from St. john's we got there and they told us the bikes weren't ready to use. Very Disapointed about it put a damper in our time there but we traveled into conor brook to adventure in there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We arrived early for a 3 day stay and spent the first half day on the hill before checking in. Check in was easy in the lodge. Location is on the hill and you can ski or board to the door. Rooms are well appointed but may have been roughed up by earlier visitors. May need a bit of repair in the near future but easily over looked with the rest of the features. We will certainly plan on coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaranth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Excellent spot. Really clean, cheap room comes with kitchen basics eg micro wave, and really spacious. Will be staying here every time we return. Seriously though you walk thirty seconds an your at the ski lift

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lhodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steady Brook
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Corner Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glynmill Inn
Glynmill Inn
#1 of 5 in Corner Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.1 mi away
Greenwood Inn & Suites
Greenwood Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Corner Brook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
23.6 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort

Property: The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort
Address: Marble Mountain Resort | Exit 8, Trans Canada Hwy., Steady Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2N2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Steady Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Steady Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of Marble Mountain is the Marble Villa, Atlantic Canada's only on-mountain accommodations. Four room types are available ranging from hotel style accommodations to 1000 sq. foot, suite style condos, complete with a full kitchen, living area, and propane fireplace. In winter, enjoy Atlantic Canada's best skiing, snowmobiling, and snowboarding. In summer, make the Marble Villa your base from which to explore Western Newfoundland, or to attend an event at our majestic lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing