We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spendid isolation, beautiful views, fabulous home”
House with huge wraparound deck, easily accessible from the open concept floorplan.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House with huge wraparound deck, easily accessible from the open concept floorplan.
Northeast side of the .house Reflections of sunset on the front of the house,
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
House with huge wraparound deck, easily accessible from the open concept floorplan.
Northeast side of the .house
Reflections of sunset on the front of the house,
Our light is always on...
View of Northeast face from  the Harbour.
Perched on its cliff, at the top of the 'Nuddick', showing the rugged coastline.
Bell dormer of the Retreat area in the Commander;s Suite (MBR).
Front d.eck overlooking the Harbour and a peek of the town,
Rebel flag ofNewk of the town.
The lighthouse at Fort Point, as viewed at sunrise from ouur deck.
Moon rising, as seen from the deck, overlooking the Harbour.
Front entrance way.
Gourmet kitchen
...overlooking the dining area...
Open concept kitchen and dining area with views all around!
Moon rise over Skerwink!
More views!
Dining area opens onto  the two-sided fireplace in the two-storey 'Inglenook' (great room)
Two Storey high fireplace in the 'Inglenook'.
Library with books, games, and DVD's for the use of our guests.
Main floor bathroom with oversized separate shower.
...and a two person soaker tub.
and stackable washer/dryer for the use of our guests.
The stairwell.
U[stairs Bathroom
MBR: The Commander's Suite.
Queen bed.
...with lots of windows and dressers for each person
Queen bed in the :Seaside Suite' with views of sea and town from the bed.
The Nautical Suite: views of the town for one; views of the lighthouse for the other!
Our light os always on...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Trinity, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary M
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spendid isolation, beautiful views, fabulous home”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had the privilege of staying at Commander's Keep for two weeks the end of May, beginning of June 2016, and cannot say enough positive things about this beautiful home. Carefully constructed in the saltbox style by local carpenters, the home is beautifully done inside and out with attention to detail. The kitchen is fully stocked so that even a gourmet cook will find anything he/she needs to cook. The view is spectacular, looking out into Trinity Harbor, to the lighthouse across the way. We were treated to views of icebergs, whales, a seal, many different birds, and enjoyed a fire every evening in this beautifully-appointed house. Also had the opportunity to read about the history of the area, and watch many old movies from the well-stocked DVD collection. Looking forward to going back in the summer or fall to catch the beauty of flowers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thank you for your enthusiastic review! You have really summed up our feelings about this magical area and all it has to offer!! You are quite right... each month of the spring, summer, and autumn seasons has something a little different, but always special and unique,to offer. The Home is always the same: cocooned privacy, with all the comforts one could wish for... Always waiting to welcome you when you return after a day of adventure!
We are delighted to hear of your intention to return for another visit... You are WELCOME any time!!
~ Catherine & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lov2trav2...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous home, spectacular location, panoramic Trinity Bay ocean/town views.”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2014

Commander's Keep exceeded expectations. The house has a beautiful natural wood interior with stylish charm and décor. A large walk out deck fronts to the ocean, with unobstructed views of the harbour, town, and lighthouse. The well appointed kitchen is welcoming, and there is a large dining table in front of wall to wall windows overlooking the ocean. A 2-way fireplace graces the dining area, and a cozy sitting area on the other side that we enjoyed for relaxing conversations, books, music, and TV if so inclined. The cozy beds made for sound sleeping after lots of sea air while whale watching, and some hiking on the trails in town and surrounding area. We certainly enjoyed coming ''home'' to this lovely house at the end of every day. Highly recommend it for a 5 star stay in the pretty historic town of Trinity Bay, Newfoundland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our little town, and especially that you were so comfortable and appreciated your private "home" at the end of your busy day of activities that are offered in the area!!!
Come back any time... You are most welcome!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectactular view.
Liked least: No complaints at all about the house.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
We are so very happy to hear of the great pleasure you all had in staying at our vacation home! Even after all these years, we feel the same way as you did, being in this place for your first time... hopefully it won't be your last! You are welcome to return any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The incredible views from every window in the house
Liked least: There isn't a single thing that any one of us didn't like about this beautiful place.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Hearing appreciation like yours of our vacation home makes it all worthwhile!
We love sharing this magical place with our guests! We would welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stutsman
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“David and Catherine's home is a dream come true”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing view of an iceberg right off the deck! The decor in the home is stunning, warm, friendly and top of the line! The Siamsa Singers so enjoyed making music in your home. Our fiddles and voices reverberated off the solid wood interior. Your home is infused with a love of the sea and a love for your fellow man. Can't wait to come back and rent the place all to myself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the decor, the high end kitchen
Liked least: Not one negative comment comes to mind
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
The pleasure was all ours!! We felt privileged to have the opportunity of hearing your beautiful choir sing again, having thoroughly enjoyed your first performance at St Paul's Anglican Church in Trinity!!
For us and all our friends who joined us post-performance, it was, indeed, "a night to remember"!! MANY THANKS to ALL of YOU!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Geoff & Renee,
We are delighted that you found our Home to be so appealing! We love your photos, too! We would welcome you back anytime.
~Catherine & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaggieTro...
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could not have been more perfect!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband & I wanted privacy, a view & comfort. It was all included with the extras. We enjoy grocery shopping within the local community & doing our own cooking. The kitchen had plenty of high quality pans, & equipment to make it fun. And nice big coffee & tea mugs! Every window had a lovely view.
The view from the deck was outstanding. We are birders so there was always something to see on the water or flying nearby. The lighthouse directly across the bay finished the picture perfectly. It was difficult to motivate ourselves to get out & explore the local area as we planned, too many delights just sitting on the deck listening to the waves or walking down the long driveway & strolling through the beautiful little village of Trinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique location- high quality of the furnishings
Liked least: Fireplace glass doors need some cleaning to better enjoy the fire.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
So very happy to hear you enjoyed both our vacation home and the community and area to the fullest! Come back any time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing