We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect spot for luxury R&R”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Goose Cove Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Goose Cove Retreat from the railway access road.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
View of Goose Cove Retreat from the railway access road.
Inspired by a ship deck, Goose Cove Retreat has upper and lower decks, and a bonfire pit.
At night.
With beautiful panoramic views of Trinity Bay, Goose Cove Retreat still remains secluded.
The Retreat's hot tub operates year-round.
The kitchen, living and dining areas are open concept. Perfect for family gatherings and foodies!
The main living room houses a custom-built Rumford fireplace, and deep couches for reading.
View of the dining area.
Main bedroom, overlooking the oceanfront.
Three bathrooms are fitted with showers, towels, and toiletries.
For work and play: the lower level boardroom table also converts to a pool table.
View of Trinity proper from the water.
Kayaking and water sports operators work in Trinity during summer months.
Trinity is located on Iceberg Alley, where ‘bergs float from the arctic, down the island’s coast.
Whale watching is abundant in Trinity in particular. These social creatures often show off!
Goose Cove is minutes from a vast network of hiking trails. This is the view from Skerwink trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Trinity, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gina P
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot for luxury R&R”
Reviewed 14 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Goose Cove is a first class retreat. I recently stayed with a group of friends and colleagues and we felt completely at home, except unlike my real home, this one was filled with touches of luxury throughout. The gourmet kitchen, along with the crackling fire and big comfy couches, were my faves but I suspect the hot tub and terraces could easily take first place on another visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy4417
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing Executive Level Property”
Reviewed 14 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Last week we spent and amazing few days at Goose Cove Retreat for executive meetings. From the moment you walk in you feel the warmth of a home away from home....only much nicer :) The kitchen flow is designed to make meal prep a social event. The owner has thought of every detail from quality linens to robes to wood in ready to light in the fireplace. The setting was the perfect backdrop for some of the most productive meetings our group has ever had. I left the retreat relaxed and revitalized. I will return for both business and pleasure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R
Kearney, Nebraska
1 review
“One of a kind.”
Reviewed 29 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

When we arrived at the retreat house we immediately felt at home. We were vacationing with another couple and found the living space to be an amazing place for entertaining. Spacious rooms and even more impressive amenities made our time special and luxurious. The modern styling of architecture and quality was a perfect balance of executive class resort amongst historical Newfoundland.

Nestled in the heart of Goose Cove we enjoyed a truly private space while never more than 5 minutes from the historic Trinity, Newfoundland. We didn't have to go far to see whales, bald eagles or scenic views... and making friends with some locals meant enjoying ocean adventure we'll never forget.

Mornings were spent on the large decks enjoying the sun and coffee, while afternoons and evenings were filled with adventure and decadence. We were surprised at the 5 star dining within walking distance of world renown hiking trails. The quaint village of Trinity felt like stepping back in time without having to sacrifice the little things in life we have come to appreciate (entertainment, good friends, and food). The retreat had every convince we needed to enjoy ourselves - The wine cooler and exceptional sound system with satellite radio did not go astray.

It was a pleasure to vacation across the cove from the town of Trinity without feeling crowded by other travelers. This is definitely an experience I would recommend.

We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
“One of a Kind”
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We had only reserved four nights at Goose Cove but I wish we could of stayed longer.The house design is contemporary but in a rustic setting. The house is also very clean, well appointed, comfortable and private.The beds, robes and slippers were delightful.Trinity is close at hand and has lots to see and do at a relaxed pace.Fine dinning can be found at the Twine Loft and at the Fishers Loft Inn.The best bit is coming back to the retreat and enjoying the fire either inside or out-weather permiting.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboysmo...
theboysmom77
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getway!”
Reviewed 23 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

An absolutely beautiful home away from home! Very well maintained and clean. We visited with family, four adults and three children. We visited the nearby scenic communties and relaxed in the hot tub and quiet living room at the end of the day. The beds were second to none...very fresh smelling and comfy! We enjoyed time around the fire pit and soaking in the hot tub. There is a sauna available but was out of order during our stay. I would definitely recommend this hideaway to anyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CbsRieley
CBS
1 review
“Magnificent Retreat!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had a three day visit with our immediate family so there were several different ages and personalities, but the house was so well laid out that we all had our own privacy when we wanted it. Goose Cove Retreat is within Trinity yet in a private beautiful setting on the water. We were overwhelmed by everything - beautiful, large, clean house; comfortable beds; full executive kitchen; relaxing, private setting; great patios and hot tub. Nearby Trinity has plenty to offer day or night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJFX_mgmt
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely property in an enchanting setting”
Reviewed 31 August 2011 for a stay in October 2010

We visited this spot on a weekend getaway with friends. Goose Cove Retreat has all the trappings of a modern and well-appointed property, but is nestled in a wooded setting near a charming community. We were impressed by everything - remarkable house; comfortable beds; full executive kitchen; relaxing, private setting; serene yet modern in one unique property. Nearby Trinity is a delightful tourist hub with plenty to see and do.

Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing