We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be there again”
Review of Artisan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artisan Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be there again”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend went to Trinity for a 2-nights short trip on 8th of October.

That was a great trip started from the check-in time at Artisan Inn. Once we arrived there, a lady guided us to the studio we booked, then showed us what attractions we still can go and enjoy at this season.

We had been to lots of places in Newfoundland such as Gander, Twillingate, Ferryland, Corner Brook, Marystown...... We always need to ask someone in the place we stay "Where we can go?" At Artisan Inn, that was the first time that we were given the information about the place we trip to.

We stayed at the studio which next to Twine Loft. We really enjoy having supper at there. The food was perfect, the chef even helped me to change the menu since she does not want me to have the same food for different night. Really appreciate it. We sit at the deck outside the restaurant watching the sunset before supper. That was a beautiful memory.

If our parents can come to visit us next year from China, we will bring them there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    38
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
190
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay here and it was all better than we had hoped. The cottage combined the authentic fishing home with modern luxury. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and of high standard charmingly served.
We had great help in organizing our sightseeing outings every day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were totally impressed with everything about the Artisan Inn. Marieka and Judy were so enthusiastic in helping us make the most of our time in Trinity and well beyond, including going on line for info and contacting other destinations for us. The accommodation provided all we could ask for in comfort, atmosphere and all the details that make a stay special; the meals at the Loft were excellent and the ambiance so warm and welcoming; and Tineke and the rest of the staff were lovely. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lighthouse view house and found it lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Tineke and her team are nothing short of amazing . They all go above and beyond to ensure your experience is far beyond what you thought . Attention to detail is unreal - the only place to stay in the Trinity area !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Ledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the Artisan Inn a few weeks ago and everything was great about it except for the noise. We stayed in the bottom of the Barbour House, and could hear everything our upstairs neighbours were doing till about midnight both nights - and they weren't partying or doing anything especially noisy, they were just walking around, talking etc. In addition, every time they ran the water there would be a loud bang after in our wall. As we were starting early each morning this made for 2 nights of poor sleep. When I booked I asked if this was a quiet room, and was advised "Well no one else has booked upstairs yet". It would have been decent if they had explained what that meant - as in "if someone DOES book upstairs it will be extremely noisy". When they asked me how the room was when I was leaving and I mentioned the noise, the owner was well aware of it, so aware in fact that they are apparently ripping out the ceiling and replacing it. It seems particularly sly to me that they allowed me (and others) to book the room knowing that this was a problem and not at least warning us.
I was not offered any compensation or even an apology for 2 lousy nights of sleep. NOT impressed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Much of Newfoundland’s appeal to tourists is its nineteenth-century charm. Unfortunately many of its tourist facilities take that a little too literally and are still stuck in the distant past. Not so the Artisan Inn and its dining offshoot, the Twine Loft restaurant. Well located, tastefully renovated period accommodations with all mod cons are both quaint and comfortable with twenty-first century plumbing as a bonus. Breakfast is of the abbreviated continental variety which can be supplemented by a selection of hot choices at extra cost. The staff are friendly and will go out of their way to ensure that you make the most of your stay in Trinity. The small Twine Loft restaurant offers a nightly prix fixe rotating menu that ensures you will be neither disappointed nor hungry. In truth, any other choices in town are a poor second. Well worth the high accolades tendered by other Tripadvisor contributors.

Room Tip: Booking needed at restaurant for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we stayed in the Barbour House which is situated just behind the main house. Our room fronted onto the small street not the water but it didn't really matter as the windows were old, small and didn't open. The room however was lovely and the atmosphere was perfect for the area. We loved the great deck where we sat with blankets against the cool wind, to have our presupper drinks. The meal was delicious and the breakfast the next morning had blueberry scones and partridge berry jam....yumm!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
1.3 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
0.1 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop White Manor
Bishop White Manor
#8 of 11 in Trinity
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The View Golf Resort
The View Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeton
17 reviews
23.9 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
23.4 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Inn

Property: Artisan Inn
Address: 57 High Street, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the city to a quiet and historic coastal village. Artisan Inn is situated by the ocean shore. With breathtaking views of the sea all around, this peaceful setting provides a tranquil contrast to everyday routine. Relax, breathe the fresh air, stroll the hills and meadows or explore the town. Located in Trinity on the Bonavista Peninsula, it is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and is one of the best-kept secrets in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Artisan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artisan Hotel Trinity
Artisan Inn Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing