We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in the Trinity Area.”
Review of The Rolling Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinity
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rolling Hills
Ranked #6 of 11 Trinity B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We keep going back to The Rolling Hills B&B every year because the Becketts make us feel at home,the Breakfast is delicious & we always enjoy meeting the other guests.We also enjoyed meeting Carol this year as well.We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for The Rolling Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you're looking for down home Newfoundland hospitality, Ed and Margaret are the people who can supply it. The house was full of conversation and life from breakfast right through the evening. The house is in Dunfield, just a stones throw from Trinity. We enjoyed the theatre in Trinity and the Skerwink trail up the road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramatic_learning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our stay at Rolling Hills B&B was something we'll never forget ... the Becketts truly made us feel at home. Dan even got to go cod jigging with Ed ... shared a few drinks afterwards. Marg served a delicious breakfast and treated us to a song while playing one of her ugly sticks. This house has lots of charm and personality ... just like its owners! Would return in a heartbeat!!!
Betty & Dan from Bridgewater, Nova Scotia

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BettyM1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Staying at Rolling Hills B & B in Dunfield (Trinity area) was great. With Margaret on the 'morning' shift with nice breakfasts, and Ed on the 'late' shift swapping stories and making everyone feel at home, it was a nice stay. Very close to Trinity and also the Skerwink trail, it was very well placed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was a lovely clean house in a village a few minutes from Trinity, Newfoundland. The rooms are smallish, but immaculate, with lovely furnishings and quilts. The owner, Ed, was warm and welcoming and the home cooked breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerri3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

When I arrived at the wonderful Rolling Hills B & B, there was a note from Ed telling guests to call him if they had reserved or wanted a room. The door was unlocked, so I walked right in, called Ed, and he told me to take any room in the place, as I was the only guest that night! The room was small (like the bathroom) but sunny, but the bed was very comfortable. I met Margaret the next morning, who served a delicious breakfast of coffee, fresh fruits, toast, and whatever else I wanted. Newfoundlanders like Ed and Margaret are the friendliest people on earth. I could only spend four out of my five nights in the Trinity area here, but I felt much more at home here than I did in the fancy, expensive place nearby. Comfy common room with TV, books, and magazines, and internet available, too. Would definitely recommend and go back. Trinity itself is about a ten-minute drive away. When you're out in Dunfield, make sure to visit Fort Poitny for a spectacular view of Trinity itself from this very historic site.

Room Tip: The rooms looking out the front are sunnier.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieNyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Rolling Hills B&B, which is in the community of Dunfield, not far from Trinity. All the reviews are correct - the rooms are comfy, quiet, breakfasts are delicious and filling with lots of choices. Keep in mind that the house is about 130 years old - don't expect big rooms and bathrooms - what you do get is quiet, comfort and friendliness. We didn't see much of Margaret, but Ed checked in each night and regaled us with stories of the area. His home-made wine is quite delicious! We toured the area (Bonavista and Ellison to see the puffins) and even made the drive to the Dunfield light house - spectacular scenery. Didn't have time to look through the remains of the fort that is on that point of land. Ed seems to know everyone in the area and is high;ly regarded. This is a wonderful B&B - we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannonvillegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#9 of 22 in St. John's
308 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
65.3 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
Eriksen Premises
Eriksen Premises
#7 of 11 in Trinity
99 reviews
65.4 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
41 reviews
65.2 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#5 of 11 in Trinity
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rolling Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rolling Hills

Address: Dunfield, Trinity, Newfoundland and Labrador A9N 3Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trinity
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Trinity
Price Range: £45 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Rolling Hills Trinity, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing