We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woody Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland
Ranked #2 of 5 Woody Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in the renovated wharfside suite and we loved it. It's spotless, has a huge comfy bed, a tub you can sink into and loads of space. Even more importantly, Ken and Darlene are impeccable hosts who went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful stay. They were very helpful, prepared whatever meals we were after from breakfast to packed sandwiches for our hikes and a lobster dinner. Woody Point is a lovely part of the world. Tip: the Old Loft does delicious cod meals. We very happily recommend people stay at the suites. We will be returning and we'll be suggesting family makes a trip out as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
101
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Breathtaking suites nestled on the ocean make the perfect getaway for a relaxing and romantic vacation. Beautifully and tastefully decorated! A home away from home! We didn't want to leave! There are nice restaurants in walking distance or you can order dinner and have it served directly to your room by the owners! This past week they were serving fresh steamed lobster! We will be back again for sure! We highly recommend Seaside Suites to anyone travelling to Gros Morne!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLTravellingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What a perfect start to our Newfoundland trip! The suite we stayed in (Tablelands) was gorgeous. Darlene and Ken have clearly payed attention to the minor details that can really make all the difference. It was incredibly relaxing to sit on the deck over the water and watch the seagulls and boats go by. The town itself is beautiful, and Seaside Suites is located in a quiet area, perfect for relaxing! The Suites are within easy walking distance of the shops and little restaurants in town. Darlene and Ken were very helpful, and able to answer any questions that we had. I hope we will return one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

What a splendid way to begin our vacation. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite, which is located on the water. Very large well maintained room which exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor sitting areas, from which we had a great view of Bonne Bay and Gros Morne. The owners, Ken and Darlene, were very welcoming and have done a great job in creating this truly relaxing accomodation. Woody Point is definitely a quiet seaside village where one can definitely unwind quickly. Gros Morne overall exceeded our expectations, and definitely requires more than 2-3 days to really explore. I wish we could have stayed a few more days, but we definitely are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: You can get a rooms on both sides of the town road, if you prefer to be on the water-side you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideSuites, Owner at Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We sure hope to see you again :) After a spring visit, maybe we will see you again in the fall!!? It is beautiful this time of year (today is Oct 16th) Fall colors are at their grandest right now. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubley, NS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of Ken and Dar and their lovely Seaside Suites. Our first trip to Newfoundland was even better than we expected. The Seaside Suites is located in a picturesque town. Our suite looked out onto the Bay and had gorgeous views. It was an extremely spacious suite and was very well appointed. All the suites were occupied for much of our stay, but you would never have known. We never heard a sound.
For a very reasonable price, we had homemade breakfast brought to our suite each morning. What a luxurious experience! The restaurant was great. We ate 3 out of our 4 dinners there and were extremely pleased with the selection. The chowder and fish & chips are a must. The gift shop next door has an excellent variety of Newfoundland gifts at great prices. We had such a wonderful time here that we plan to return as soon as we can. Ken and Dar provide 5 star hospitality. I've travelled extensively, and I've never experienced the tranquility and hospitality that I encountered at Seaside Suites. Thank you for an unforgettable vacation! Seaside Suites is a real gem in Canada's must-see destination of Gros Morne National Park.
We chose Seaside Suites because of the excellent reviews here on TripAdvisor. We are so glad we did! I strongly advise others considering Seaside Suites to ignore the negative reviews, as they all come from the same source. It's unfortunate that one individual experienced a mix-up. To be continuing to post bad reviews over a year later is in very poor taste. I can tell you that Ken and Dar went above and beyond to ensure that we had everything we needed/wanted to make our stay in Gros Morne the best it could be. It was. And, we will be back.

Room Tip: The Gros Morne Suite is divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We've been flying by the seat of our pants on this trip, with mixed but mostly great results when we try to make last-minute bookings. In this case, we wound up at Woody Point late in the day, when the restaurant was quite busy and Ken had his hands full with customers there as his wife, Darlene, who runs the hotel side of things, was away. To our great joy, they had one room (suite, really) for the night for a great price (off-season now). It was heavenly to find such a comfy nook after our more spartan accommodation in Rocky Harbour the night before. Like other wonderful places we'd stayed (see my review of Fishers' Loft Inn), the thoughtful touches were many (telescope, robes, DVD library, kitchenette, preloaded iPod, touch-dimmer bedside lamps). We were in the Lighthouse Suite, which is built for accessibility. Although this wasn't a concern for us, it's good to know the option exists in a small town. You can order room-service breakfast for a song. Husband had an excellent breakfast sandwich and I had home-made beans and toast, which came with peanut butter and jam (homemade bread too, I should add). We had a good light supper in their resto across the street -- excellent chowder, turkey soup and Caesar salad, and divine chocolate cake that tastes just like my best friend's secret recipe. Wish we had longer to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sah1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Seaside Suites is a wonderful place to unwind and to enjoy the sights and sounds of Bonne Bay and Gros Morne. The suite was extremely comfortable and is highly recommended as a base to explore this wonderful area. Darlene is a friendly and charming hostess whose relaxed character makes you fell very welcome from the the first moment. Ken who is more associated with the restaurant (see seperate review) forms the second part of a very, very nice couple. Thanks to you both for a great time in late June and helping to make a 70th birthday memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woody Point
5.7 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
99 reviews
2.8 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
227 reviews
9.8 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland

Property: Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland
Address: 39 Water Street, Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Woody Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woody Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Suites is a four-star waterfront accommodation in the quaint, historic seaside village of Woody Point. We are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park with views of the Tableland Mountains, Gros Morne Mountain and the ocean waters of Bonne Bay. There is nothing more soothing and scenic as the views and sounds of the ocean. We have two properties across the street from each other, over the water and across the street from the water; the Over the Water Building (which IS over the water) is home to the Gros Morne, Tablelands and Lighthouse Suites. The Wharfside Building is newly opened and has the Sandollar and Starfish Suites as well as Seaside Souvenirs and our Seaside Deli & Dairy Bar, located directly across from the town wharf, where you can try fishing, take in the scenic views with your morning coffee, or catch the water taxi to Norris Point for an outing. We have five well appointed suites. The waterfront of Woody Point has recently been designated a Heritage District for its historic significance on the West Coast of Newfoundland and also for its' restoration of the many historic buildings along the water. When you settle in at Seaside Suites, you can stroll and enjoy our quaint, scenic village. Be sure to choose Seaside Suites for your Gros Morne adventure. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing