We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wishing there were 6 stars!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woody Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland
Ranked #2 of 5 Woody Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Yes, Darlene and Ken have thought of everything--really. We stayed in the Tablelands Suite in one of the 'over the water' suites. From the claw-toothed tub (perfect after hiking 10 km on rocky paths) to the comfortable bed & pillows to the well-appointed servery to the deck with Adirondack-like comfortable chairs--the suites are worth every penny you pay for them. Although we made our own breakfasts, they do have a breakfast room service available; they also pack lunches for hikes. Darlene knows the 'attractions' people so if you need to change anything (Western Brook Pond, Anchors Aweigh etc.) she is more than willing to call on your behalf. There is a view of Gros Morne Mtn from virtually every suite and one is constantly being entertained by arriving walk-on ferries, a catamaran tour boat or, best of all, Minke whales and the occasional Humpback whale (from the deck!). Gros Morne's Discovery Centre is less than 2 km from the suites (ask for where the path is) and a good place to start all of the Park's explorations. The Tablelands walk happens at 10am every day during the summer and is a short 5km drive away. Thank you again Darlene and Ken for settling in Woody Point and for contributing to making the Park a wonderful, restful and interesting experience.

Room Tip: Only two of the five suites actually are ON the water, the others have views and are close to the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Centre_of_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Seaside Suites for five days in June, attending a wedding in Woody Point. From the moment we opened the door to our suite, we were simply amazed at the room. Full kitchen, washer and dryer, huge washroom, every convenience possible. Thoughtful additions to the room, i.e. binoculars, umbrellas, IPod, tea and coffee, which we were very grateful for. Darlene and Ken offer breakfast brought to your room, which we took advantage of every morning. We sat and watched the ocean as we enjoyed our breakfast each morning. Saw Minkie whales just outside our room!! Highly recommend this beautiful place. Darlene and Ken were extremely accommodating every day we were there!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What a lovely place to stay while exploring the west side of Gros Morne! The 'over the water' room was spacious and inviting. Ken and Darlene have put many welcoming touches into the room and the experience. There was lovely music playing in the room, a note to welcome us and another to check on us the night 'Arthur' blew in. We ordered breakfast delivered to the room and had a lunch packed for us to take hiking. The view from the deck is pretty special - we frequently saw a whale in the bay while sitting on the deck. The 'entertainment' district of Woody Point is a short walk away and provided great meals, coffee, ice cream and galleries. Easy drives to Trout River or the hikes at the Tablelands and Green Gardens.
Stay here! You won't regret it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in the Gros Morne room at Seaside Suites and could not have been happier. The room and deck extend out over the wet where we watched whales jumping out of the water as we sat sipping beer and soaking up the sun. Ken and Darlene are fabulous hosts and provided exemplary service. While visiting there was a threat of a serious hurricane or tropical storm and they left a personal note letting us know how to contact them in the event of any problems during the nighttime storm. In the end, there was no problem. The room was neat, clean and spacious and came with a fantastic shower. It was private and afforded us tremendous opportunity to kick back and relax with the water lapping at our personal dock. If ever we returned to the area we would definitely book the same room!

Room Tip: The Gros Morne is their best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

"Relax... Just another day in paradise" as the sign read in our lighthouse suite. We only spent one night, but expect many returns. The location is breath taking and Darlene and Ken are extremely kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A nice area to explore, the Inn/ suites are nice being on the water but not a lot to do in woody point.This was the most expensive night of our trip but the room was good size.We hiked the tablelands area I would have gave higher marks but the price point was high in comparrison to the other places we stayed at. Owners are nice and helpfull

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank compguy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideSuites, Owner at Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to offer a review. We appreciate your feedback and so glad you thought we treated you well and were helpful. We want all of our guests to leave with a good experience and hope our guests will ask us for anything they need or want during their stay. I would agree with your comments on the area. This is a wonderful area to explore! The Tablelands hike, which you did, is very scenic. And the Park Interpretation Centre that is located very close to the hike and the town site of Woody Point offers great displays and interpretation on the significance of the Tablelands formation, which is the reason Gros Morne is recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. And there are so many other good walks and hikes within the town site up to 15 minutes drive of the Suites, along with craft shops, our beautiful Lighthouse and view from there. There are a cluster of restaurants, pubs, coffee shops, a local performance theatre that often has music or shows through the season, as well as the Merchant Warehouse and the Galliott Studios that often have some kind of entertainment as well. Sorry you felt there was not much to do here. We think Woody Point is quaint, quiet, historic,but with a lot of diversity for the 275 person population :) It really comes to life during our busy tourism season. And to respond to the cost of your suite, you chose one of our premier suites vs our less expensive Wharfside Suites or Lighthouse Suite for your one night stay, where your entire suite and deck is out over the water. We are the only accommodation with suites over water in the province, so it's a unique experience for sure. We try to encourage our guests to stay at least two+ nights if they can, to truly enjoy the suite and the town site and the Park.We try to think of all the little things when it comes to the suite...ambient lighting, fireplace, 46" smart tv with dvd and movies, bose sound system with programmed ipod, fishing rods to have some fun out on your deck, candles, robes, claw foot tub with bubble bath, fully stocked kitchenette. So we are sorry to hear you didn't feel you received value for your nights stay. We hope to see you again and hope that maybe you can stay a little longer to explore, relax and refresh. And catch a fish!!
Thanks again for offering your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

stayed in June and they arrived at midnight that met us to let us in and told us about the town. She left the lights on so the room was very cozy and nice when we arrived. Even let us sleep in because we checked in so late.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideSuites, Owner at Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for your kind review. One convenience we can offer is that we live right beside both of our Suites properties. So, we often ask our guests when they are booking, when they expect to arrive. It's not because we are nosy, it's because we care :) And want to offer guidance on your travel to get to us, and in this case, caution you to take your time and watch for Moose at that time of night. And when you are in a suite that cozy, and you have had a long day, we have to let you enjoy a good nights sleep :) Take care and hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woody Point
6.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
219 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
116 reviews
5.9 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
101 reviews
9.8 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
9 reviews
1.8 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Suites Gros Morne Newfoundland

Address: 39 Water Street, Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Woody Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woody Point
Price Range: £113 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Suites is a four-star waterfront accommodation in the quaint, historic seaside village of Woody Point. We are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park with views of the Tableland Mountains, Gros Morne Mountain and the ocean waters of Bonne Bay. There is nothing more soothing and scenic as the views and sounds of the ocean. We have two properties across the street from each other, over the water and across the street from the water; the Over the Water Building (which IS over the water) is home to the Gros Morne, Tablelands and Lighthouse Suites. The Wharfside Building is newly opened and has the Sandollar and Starfish Suites as well as Seaside Souvenirs and our Seaside Deli & Dairy Bar, located directly across from the town wharf, where you can try fishing, take in the scenic views with your morning coffee, or catch the water taxi to Norris Point for an outing. We have five well appointed suites. The waterfront of Woody Point has recently been designated a Heritage District for its historic significance on the West Coast of Newfoundland and also for its' restoration of the many historic buildings along the water. When you settle in at Seaside Suites, you can stroll and enjoy our quaint, scenic village. Be sure to choose Seaside Suites for your Gros Morne adventure. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing