We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Advocate Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reid's Century Farm Tourist Home
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were here for only one night, but would come back again. Donna (the owner) was so nice and made sure we were comfortable. She was awesome!!

The location was great too. And, the food at the local gas station/convenience store was good. We ate breakfast there before our kayak tour.

Thanks Donna!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kduncan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed in the Homestead cottage for 3 nights mid-August as we explored Cape Chignecto Provincial Park and visited with friends in the area. Bonus was the complete rest and restoration we experienced by allowing ourselves time to enjoy the view from the porch and the peacefulness of the area. Sunsets over the harbour are hard to match. Great hospitality from the Reid's. Exceptionally clean. Full kitchen a nice change from hotelling our way from Ontario but did enjoy a lovely meal at the Wild Caraway Restaurant. Separate rooms for our teenagers a much appreciated amenity. Will hopefully return again soon!

Room Tip: If looking for onsite laundry, chose the Bay Vista cottage but laudry services available at the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the blue cottage which has a lovely deck overlooking the harbour. It was a spotless, well appointed, beautiful, two bedroom cottage with a great full kitchen, even a dishwasher. There is a large bathroom with a washer and dryer. Wonderful value for the money and a perfect hideaway to relax. We had not seen a review, just got lucky!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet_W204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We chose this place based on reviews and its proximity to the NovaShores kayaking in Advocate Harbour. The Reid's are fabulous people. Very kind and welcoming. We stayed in room #4 From July 11-13. Very clean. Had everything we needed. Great views. Couldn't have asked for anything better. We had breakfast at the local gas station (very nice people there as well) - it was priced right, fast and courteous service. We had dinner in Parrsboro (a bit of a drive, and while the dinner was great, the town itself was odd - not like the brochure we saw at all). We will be sure to return to Reid's, will definitely do the kayak tour again, and dine at the Wild Carraway - it came highly recommended from both travellers and locals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddyhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I am thrilled that the Reid's Century Farm is up on Trip Advisor. We have been staying here almost annually since 1988, and this year we visited twice, in May, and now in November. In recent years we have rented one of the two small cottages they have available (they also have three guest rooms in a building adjacent their farmhouse). Both cottages are clean, quiet, and modestly (but thoroughly) appointed. There are full kitchens in the two buildings, as well as propane BBQ. A perfect base to explore this wonderful area, one of the prettiest in Nova Scotia.

The Reid family are friendly and professional, and we have never experienced any difficulties during any of our numerous stays.

You can self-cater (there is a well-stocked small grocery in the nearby village of Advocate Harbour), or eat at the finest restaurant in Nova Scotia, the Wild Caraway, just five minutes away in Advocate Harbour.

And nearby attractions are too numerous to mention, but I'll try: Cape Chignecto Wilderness Park, Cape d'Or (with its lighthouse), the extraordinary tidal fluctuations in Advocate Harbour, the "Driftwood Beach" that shelters Advocate Harbour, Apple River, Joggins Fossil Cliffs (less than an hour away), Wards Brook Falls Trail (30 minutes away), Parrsboro Geological Museum (45 minutes away), Spencer's Island.

We plan to return again, and again, . . .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Accentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is a bit like staying at a motel on a farm. No breakfast included, but the gas station/convenience store up the road does breakfast for a very reasonable price. And, we found after staying in several B&B’s on our maritime adventure, that not having to sit and talk was a bit of a relief. Nothing fancy here, but clean and comfortable.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is a lovely place to stay. The owners are warm, welcoming, flexible and just totally delightful.

We were staying in the area for a kayaking adventure and this was the perfect place to relax and recharge. Our kayaking trip was cancelled due to poor weather conditions and we were completely happy to spend two extra days at Reid's.

The rooms were comfortable, extremely clean and charming. If you are in the area and looking for a comfy bed, friendly people, and lovely view...book here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Reid's Century Farm Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reid's Century Farm Tourist Home

Address: 1391 West Advocate Road, Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Advocate Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Advocate Harbour
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Reid's Century Farm Tourist Home Nova Scotia/Advocate Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing