We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views and Great R&R”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Advocate Harbour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Driftwood Park Retreat
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views and Great R&R”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent two days at the Driftwood Park Retreat in late July 2014 as we were attending a wedding in the area. Su was at the desk when we arrived and was most welcoming. The cottages are very well maintained and were well stocked with everything we needed for our vacation (even a patio set and bbq on the deck). The cottage was clean and the beds were comfy, too. We would definitely stay here again and wish we had more time to kick back and relax while we were in the area. The cottage overlooks the magnificent Bay of Fundy and it was so wonderful to sit back and listen to the ocean waves. Good value for the price

Room Tip: All the cottages overlook the Bay of Fundy so you can't make a wrong choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimeratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The perfect spot for the last four days of our trip. We spent 4 days on the Cabot and Ceiladh trails before arriving at our final destination for our 10 day anniversary vacation. Su and John were wonderful hosts and their special touches made our stay their very memorable. Couldn't ask for more! Don't miss Novashores and Cape Chignecto Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoQuail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent 2 days at the Driftwood with our grandson. It is right on the beach and you can get a great sense of the Bay of Fundy tide changes just by walking out your front door. It is also a short drive to the Cape Chigneto provincial park for great hiking. The cottage itself was very comfortable and had a complete kitchen, which we used to cook steak on the grill one night. Su' and John could not be more accommodating hosts. They were helpful in every way, including coming around in the evening with homemade chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stittsville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just arrived back from Driftwood Park, and can't say how much we loved this place! We are definitely going to be returning! Su and John are very welcoming and friendly and are extremely helpful with making reservations, recommendations, etc. They're absolutely wonderful hosts. The cottage itself was exactly like the video description on their website - 2 comfortable bedrooms and a bathroom on the main floor, and a living room, kitchen and balcony upstairs. The balcony was one of our favourite spots - we brought 2 dogs with us, and they and us loved to sit on the balcony, listening to the Bay of Fundy waves and watching the ocean. We were literally steps to the beach, and I enjoyed many long walks there. Hardly saw a soul, it was so peaceful and relaxing. Su and John had recommended the Wild Carraway for a meal out, and it was one of the best meals I had ever had - so much so, that we made sure we went back again before we left. We also did an Advocate Harbour Boat tour to Cape Split, and thoroughly loved it. We would highly recommend Driftwood Park for couples, families or friends - it was a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After three days of rain in Halifax the sky brightened the closer we got to Advocate Harbour. We stopped to settled our boat trip for the next day and quickly found the Chalets. The hosts were out but the sign on the door sent us where we needed to go.
We were thrilled with our bedrooms on the main floor and tossed our things in our rooms before heading upstairs. There was our little kitchen, living area, balcony, kitchen and BBQ. Yeah!
We sat in the sun, soaked in our hot tub, walked the beach, got bit by flies ( the only sad part), bbq meat we picked up at a farm on the way here, arranged to stay and extra day and cancelled our next stop.
There is internet in our unit, but the ipad does not like it, but a 30 second walk away and we could pick up the internet to make sure all our plans were falling into place.
Thanks to our great hosts, of whom we only met Su, we want to come back. If you need them you only need to call them and they are steps away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was a homey, cozy and incredibly quiet place to stay in Nova Scotia. The only sound was the occasional fog horn!

When we arrived, we entered the little house and the design was unique as well as impressive. The two small bedrooms and bathroom are on the ground floor, and the kitchen, dining area and living room (complete with a gas fireplace) were on the second floor. It was incredibly well-equipped, and the small balcony overlooking the dramatic driftwood and bay was fantastic as well. Su' and John were friendly, helpful and accommodating (I borrowed a muffin tin to make muffins). I would love to return when it is a bit sunnier!

Walking on the beach- the red rocks are further than you think, so be aware. There are so many interesting geological facets of this place, and plenty of beautiful rocks too. I think the majority of our souvenirs involve lovely rocks collected from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The chalets at Driftwood are a few steps from the beach at Advocate Harbour. The beach is great for long walks, enjoying the tides, and sunsets. Driftwood Park Retreat was the perfect home base for nearby kayaking, boating, and hiking. John and Su were wonderful hosts. The chalet was clean and trouble free. The bed was comfy! This area of Nova Scotia is quiet, rural, and full of natural beauty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayaky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Advocate Harbour
23.8 mi away
The Maple Inn
The Maple Inn
#2 of 7 in Parrsboro
145 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
#1 of 7 in Parrsboro
129 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Sunshine Inn
The Sunshine Inn
#1 of 1 in Parrsboro
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Gillespie House Inn
Gillespie House Inn
#3 of 7 in Parrsboro
90 reviews
22.9 mi away
Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
24.1 mi away
Evangeline's Tower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Park Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Park Retreat

Property: Driftwood Park Retreat
Address: 47 Driftwood Lane, Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia B0M 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Advocate Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Advocate Harbour
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 fully equipped waterfront chalets. Two bedrooms one equipped with queen size bed the other two twin beds. Tranquil, relaxing setting walking distance to Cape Chignecto Hiking trails, short drive to beautiful Cape Dor. Close to very nice local restaurants. Zodiac and Kayak Adventure tours also in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Park Retreat Nova Scotia/Advocate Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing