We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cedar House always excellent, food, service surpasses expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar House Bakery and Restaurant

Cedar House Bakery and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cedar House always excellent, food, service surpasses expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

An excellent, affordable meal with menu choices for the whole family. Baked goods are delicious, the seafood chowder best I've ever had (sorry Mom) and the friendly smiles and great humour always adds to the experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    29
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed Regular Customer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have been going to the Cedar House for many years, specifically since I have been diagnosed with Celiac Disease. The owner has CD as well and has been in to my support group to chat about the restaurant. It is my absolute favorite especially the pizza. Was there in May and prices had gone up quite a bit but my food was wonderful as usual so I accepted that. Was there yesterday, for my birthday mind you, and my pizza had shrunk to about a quarter of its size. I could have cried when she presented me with this. I was told it shrunk 1" but there is no way. This was the same upped price ($20) and it was gross and minsicule. I thought the owner would empathize with this population and never do this to loyal customers. This loyal customer is so disappointed and had my birthday ruined because of this. I am looking to contact the owner ASAP please.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Capergirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We came for dinner and had pizzas. They were all very tasty (even the one without the cheese). Although at first we thought we ordered too much, nothing was left on the plates.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OrnaLavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the Islands Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Cedar House opened in 1984, and has been a favorite of mine ever since....the staff are wonderful, the food is awesome, servings are large, piping hot, and just the way you want them....my all time favorite is the Hot turkey sandwich....but everything else I've tried has been great as well.....two thumbs up for this place

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doucey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Food was excellent and portions were a good size. Having the bakery products on site made my mother very happy as we shopped for a few of her favorite things.
the staff were friendly and courteous always checking in and not rushing you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMM957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cedar House Bakery and Restaurant also viewed

Boularderie, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Cedar House Bakery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing