We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but musty.”
Review of Kelly's View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly's View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Boularderie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Positives: Clean room, comfortable beds, satellite TV, friendly staff.
Negatives: Musty smell, no hand towels, no place handy to food, drinks, or restaurants. Need room darkening curtains for when the sun comes up at 5 a.m. & to block green glow from rope lighting.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank BigTimeLeafsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night recently whilst travelling in Cape Breton. The owners were lovely - very helpful & friendly. The room was spotless. All the facilities that you need & very comfortable. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is a nice clean motel. It has a nice view of the mountain across from it.
Just don't trust your GPS to get you there (ours sent us on a detour at night). We had a hard time finding the sign in the dark too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WANTTOGETAWAY65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Very nice helpful friendly place, but the traffic noise will drive you crazy if that bothers you, we had expected something better to be honest and had planned to have our own breakfasts for our group of 12, but that cannot work here. No common room for meets etc, and we had to use the restaurant next door for breakfast which was a pain to be honest. We had real issues with jamming locks and the tv system is so complicated we did not use. I just got the impression there was more walks from here but you have this very busy road to deal with. Views of the lake and the mountain but this Motel is on the wrong side of the road to enjoy it all.My first time taking groups to Canada so lots to learn, With having to get breakfasts elsewhere this worked out dearer for us. if you want a quick clean bed for the night and early morning get away this is probably for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelticConnexionsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here a couple of days to explore the local area before heading around the cabit trail. Staff here were very friendly, it's a good clean hotel fo a few days in cape Breton. About half an hour to Cabot trail and an hour to louiseburg. Restaurant next door had good fish cakes!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austcouple8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I were traveling to Newfoundland to take our son to college, and were looking for a place to stay for a night on the return trip. I read all the positive reviews of Kelly's View here on Trip Advisor so we stopped in after considering some alternatives, including some much pricier accommodations in the Baddeck area. I was thrilled that this little family-owned motel offered a comfortable, extremely clean place to spend the night. The room even had an adjustable, wall mounted flat screen 32" TV. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and we had a good night's rest. There was plenty of hot water for morning showers, and a wonderful view out the front window. This motel was an excellent value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkhhMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Everything was much better than I expected - cleanliness, well maintained, more modern than expected - free wifi, really good restaurant next door. You need to remember where you are - you're in Cape Breton - not Manhattan, you have to manage your own expectations - all mine were exceeded, and especially at the price! Very friendly staff, more than accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee_C_B_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boularderie
33.4 mi away
The Normaway Inn & Cabins
The Normaway Inn & Cabins
#1 of 4 in Margaree Valley
264 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Zzzz Moose Camping Cabins
The Zzzz Moose Camping Cabins
#2 of 7 in Englishtown
26 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clansman Motel
The Clansman Motel
#4 of 4 in North Sydney
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn Of Victoria County
Inn Of Victoria County
#1 of 1 in Boularderie
21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's View Motel

Address: 783, Route 105 TransCanada Hwy, Boularderie, Nova Scotia B1X 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Boularderie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boularderie
Price Range: £59 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly's View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kelly's View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing