We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value stopover”
Review of Kelly's View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelly's View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Boularderie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value stopover”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Small room but very clean and well-maintained. We arrived late and left early but it was great value for a stopover hotel and only 15 min or so from the North Sydney ferry dock. Right on the highway up on a hilll overlooking an inlet as far as I could tell, so the view would be nice but unfortunately it was foggy when we arrived and left!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Great spot to stay as we traveled around the Cabot Trail. Room was very clean and newly renovated. Wonderful view of the mountain. Prices very reasonable and owner Audrey was helpful and friendly. Restaurant next door has good food. Would recommend our friends from Waterloo to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgrjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Positives: Clean room, comfortable beds, satellite TV, friendly staff.
Negatives: Musty smell, no hand towels, no place handy to food, drinks, or restaurants. Need room darkening curtains for when the sun comes up at 5 a.m. & to block green glow from rope lighting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BigTimeLeafsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night recently whilst travelling in Cape Breton. The owners were lovely - very helpful & friendly. The room was spotless. All the facilities that you need & very comfortable. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is a nice clean motel. It has a nice view of the mountain across from it.
Just don't trust your GPS to get you there (ours sent us on a detour at night). We had a hard time finding the sign in the dark too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WANTTOGETAWAY65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Very nice helpful friendly place, but the traffic noise will drive you crazy if that bothers you, we had expected something better to be honest and had planned to have our own breakfasts for our group of 12, but that cannot work here. No common room for meets etc, and we had to use the restaurant next door for breakfast which was a pain to be honest. We had real issues with jamming locks and the tv system is so complicated we did not use. I just got the impression there was more walks from here but you have this very busy road to deal with. Views of the lake and the mountain but this Motel is on the wrong side of the road to enjoy it all.My first time taking groups to Canada so lots to learn, With having to get breakfasts elsewhere this worked out dearer for us. if you want a quick clean bed for the night and early morning get away this is probably for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticConnexionsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here a couple of days to explore the local area before heading around the cabit trail. Staff here were very friendly, it's a good clean hotel fo a few days in cape Breton. About half an hour to Cabot trail and an hour to louiseburg. Restaurant next door had good fish cakes!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austcouple8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boularderie
2.5 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
8.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kow's Inn
Kow's Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Bras d'Or
18 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chamber's Guest House Bed and Breakfast
15.0 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's View Motel

Property: Kelly's View Motel
Address: 783, Route 105 TransCanada Hwy, Boularderie, Nova Scotia B1X 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Boularderie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Boularderie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly's View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kelly's View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing