We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View”
Review of Cabot Trail Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabot Trail Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This location is very perfect. I was doing the Cabot Trail and had to stay a night in Baddeck. I had some difficulty finding it due to my GPS. The front desk was very kind. The value of the room was okay but not the best. I paid around $150 for a room with 2 double beds. The room was very clean and so was the wash room however the room was very cold. In the morning there was the sunrise and I had a perfect view of it from my room. It was just so beautiful and the sun rose over the lake in front of my family and I. There was a good amount of outlets. Free parking but no free breakfast which you can find in hotels for $150/night. They have an outdoor heated pool but I never got the chance to visit. Their restaurant was also right by the lake with a nice view, didn't go though. Friendly staff as well. Overall would recommend a stay here, 3.5/5.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
49
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent a day in Baddeck to recover after a 2 week camping trip in the Atlantic provinces. We picked this motel mainly because it was located right along the THC and seemed fairly clean from the reviews.

In this regard, we were not disappointed. We were given a room with a nice view of the lake (as requested) and everything was very clean and well taken care of. During the day it is quite comfortable to just have the windows and the screen door to the porch open, but the semi traffic noise from the THC is a bit much for sleeping so we closed them at night. The window AC unit was extremely loud when turned on, but luckily it was quite cool so we just ran the fan at night. The staff was friendly and helpful. We both had a great night's sleep and were ready for the long haul home to Montreal next the day.

Would definitely stay here again if passing through the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayShimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We greatly our stay at this decently priced motel. Motels and Inns in the area can be quite pricy especially if you are planning on staying for multiple nights. This motel was extremely clean, rooms were a good size, and had a great view with a deck with comfy deck chairs to sit out and read and enjoy the view. The bathroom was exceptionally clean although a little dated(don't expect a spa) They had even opened our screen door prior to us arriving so that the room could be aired out. They have a very clean and good sized pool, and it wasn't overloaded with people which made for a nice swim with steps down into the shallow end for those that need the help. They offer coin operated laundry services in a small cabin which we didn't need, but I'm sure is nice for those travelling from further away. They have a nice restaurant with lovely staff. We ate two meals there, supper and breakfast. They had a decent sized menu, and good quality food. We found the breakfast a little pricy, however we do understand they are a seasonal place and need to inflate a little bit. (We did discover the Tim Hortons which was less than a 2 min drive up the road) Staff on all levels were extremely friendly and provided great customer service (including 10% off passes to the Graham Bell Museum) Overall great stay, nice genuine staff, family run, great place for the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaJeanHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This place was beautiful. Great view from all rooms over looking the water. Room was large and clean. No fridge but had ice machine. They have a restaurant on site, didn't eat there but was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, FL
Level Contributor
173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Baddeck is a centrally located place to stay while touring Cape Breton. The Cabot Trail Motel is located very near the entrance to the Cabot Trail. Across the street is a gorgeous view of the water. The moon reflected in the water at night. Getting a room with a view is best, but parking will be a little tight in that area. The room was very clean but did not have a microwave or refrigerator. There was a laundry room on site, but they were out of detergent when I was there, so I had to go get some in town. The hotel had a restaurant that served breakfast and dinner, but the restaurant is a little expensive. There are several restaurants nearby, but all of them are a little pricy. The staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view for $10 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Located just off the highway on the edge of town with a great view of the lake, the Cabot Trail motel makes a great spot to rest after a day of driving. I pre-booked in March and was sad that I was not initially given a veranda room in the front. The proprietress did switch some things around to accommodate me (and my dog, which was why it was difficult to get me a premium room). The first room had a problem with the toilet and I was promptly moved to another room which also had a great view. I really appreciate her efforts. The room was spotless. The beds were a bit hard and there was some odd furniture (an old fashioned fold down sofa bed). The broken toilet room was a bit nicer but both were fine. She told me the specials for dinner and I was very glad I took her advice. The food was excellent. Steamed mussels, traditional fish cakes with baked beans, ginger cake with rum sauce - very dish was extremely well prepared. That meal was a high light of my whole trip.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a veranda ask for one at booking to avoid any disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
230 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Booked ahead of our arrival with the owner and she totally looked after us.
This location was perfect for the touring of the Cabot Trail and coming back a second night.
The restaurant closes at 20:00 so don't miss it if you come in late.
There is delivery by a local pizza place which is awesome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WingRider2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baddeck
1.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
46.5 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.7 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Water's Edge Inn
Water's Edge Inn
#8 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Trail Motel

Property: Cabot Trail Motel
Address: 8450 Trans Canada Hwy 105, Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Baddeck
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baddeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabot Trail Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under NEW Ownership in 2013 we are settled on the shore of the Bras d'Or Lake, this family run Motel sits on top of a beautiful hill overlooking the lake. We have a private beach and docking facility, and a heated in-ground pool. Our Cabot Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner, with most seats providing amazing views of the lake. We are 5 minutes drive from the Village of Baddeck, and the Alexander Graham Bell Museum. A wonderful stop for two nights when traveling around the world famous Cabot Trail. We are a small, comfortable, CLEAN, family motel that specialize in making our guests feel at home. We are " A refreshing stop along the way..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cabot Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Trail Hotel Baddeck
Cabot Trail Motel Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing